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This metric captures the notice deadline, hearing rights and appeal rights of teachers whose contracts have not been
renewed for the following school year. View the full 50-State Comparison: Teacher Employment Contract Policies here.

STATE WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION? CITATION

Alabama Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 15. June 30 in the first year of Ala. Code § 16-
each legislative quadrennium. 24C-5
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the governing board, Ala. Code § 16-
upon request. 24C-6

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with a hearing officer
selected by a panel of neutrals administered by the Executive Director of
the Alabama State Bar Association.

Alaska Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 15 for tenured teachers. On or Alaska Stat. Ann. §
before last day of school term for nontenured teachers. 14.20.140
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing by the school board, upon Alaska Stat. Ann. §
request. 14.20.175

Non-tenured teachers may request an informal hearing by the board.

Alaska Stat. Ann. §
Appeal: The teacher is entitled to appeal the hearing decision to the 14.20.180
Superior Court for judicial review of the administrative record.

Arizona Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Intention to dismiss coupled with Ariz. Rev. Stat.
performance improvement plan - No date specified. 45 day written, Ann.§ 15-538
preliminary notice must be provided to teachers if nonrenewal is based
on inadequacy of classroom performance in order to provide the teacher Ariz. Rev. Stat.
time to correct outlined inadequacies. For certificated teachers, notice Ann.§ 15-539

must be provided within 10 days of dismissal date.

Ariz. Rev. Stat.
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing by the governing board or Ann. § 15-541
hearing officer, upon request.

Ariz. Rev. Stat.
Appeal: The teacher my file an appeal within 30 days to the Superior Ann. § 15-543
Court in the county of employment.
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STATE

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of
Columbia

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 1.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing by the Board of Directors of
the school district, upon request.

Appeal: A non-probationary teacher is entitled to appeal to the circuit
court of the county in which the school district is located.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: March 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing by the Commission on
Professional Competence, upon request. For dismissals caused by a
reduction in force, a hearing may be conducted by an administrative law

judge and the school's governing body.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the Superior Court,

upon request.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 1.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing by an impartial hearing
officer or administrative law judge, upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal by the court of appeals. An
appeal to the Supreme Court may only take place at the request for a

judicial review by the Supreme Court.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: At any time for both tenured and non-

tenured teachers.

Hearing: Tenured teachers are entitled to a hearing with the board of
education, a subcommittee of the board of education, or an impartial
hearing officer, upon request. Teachers who have not attained tenure are
not entitled to a hearing if the reason for nonrenewal is elimination of a
position or loss of position to another teacher.

Appeal: Tenured teachers are entitled to an appeal with the Superior
Court. Teachers who have not attained tenure are entitled to an appeal if
the reason for nonrenewal is either moral misconduct or disability.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the terminating board
of education or a hearing officer designated by the board, upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the Superior Court for
the county of employment.

Not specified in state policy.
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CITATION

Ark.Code Ann. §
6-17-1510

Cal. Educ. Code §
44929.21

Cal. Educ. Code §
44949

Cal. Educ. Code §
44955

Cal. Educ. Code §
44932-44946

Colo. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 22-63-201

Colo. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 22-9-106

Conn. Gen. Stat.
Ann.§ 10-151

Del. Code Ann. tit.
14,8 1410

Del. Code Ann. tit.
14,8 1413

Del. Code Ann. tit.
14,8 1414



STATE

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

lllinois

Indiana

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 1 for continuing contract
teachers. Any time for annual contract teachers.

Hearing: Teachers on annual contracts are entitled to a hearing by the
local school board, upon request. Upon request, teachers on professional
service contracts are entitled to a hearing before the board of education
or an administrative law judge.

Appeal: Teachers are entitled to an appeal by judicial review with the

court of appeals.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local board of
education (or a tribunal designated by the local board), upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the state board of
education upon request.

Notice, Hearing and Appeal determined by collective bargaining

agreement.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: July 1 for teachers on a category 2 or

3 contract.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing by the Board of Trustees.
Teachers on annual contracts (categories 1-3) are entitled to an informal
review by the Board of Trustees.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the District Court, upon

request.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: At least 45 days prior to the end of

any school term.

Hearing: Teachers are entitled to a hearing with a hearing officer, upon

request.

Appeal: Teachers are entitled to a judicial review of administrative

decision.

State law also provides an optional alternative dismissal process for

PERA evaluations.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Between May 1 and July 1 for a

reduction in force. Any time for cause.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to conferences with the superintendent
or assistant superintendent of the district as well as the governing body.

Appeal: The decision of the governing body is final.
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CITATION

Fla. Stat. Ann. §
1012.33

Fla. Stat. Ann. §
1012.335

Fla. Stat. Ann. §
1012.34

Ga. Code Ann. §
20-2-942

Ga.Code Ann. §
20-2-940

Agreement
Between HSTA
and State Board of
Education

Idaho Code Ann. §
33-513

Idaho Code Ann. §
33-514

105 [ll. Comp.
Stat. Ann. 5/24-11

105 [ll. Comp.
Stat. Ann. 5/24-12

105 1Il. Comp.
Stat. Ann. 5/24-16

105 [ll. Comp.

Stat. Ann. 5/24-
16.5

IC 20-28-7.5-2

IC 20-28-7.5-3


https://www.hsta.org/portals/0/documents/HSTA-CBA-FINAL-2021.pdf
https://www.hsta.org/portals/0/documents/HSTA-CBA-FINAL-2021.pdf
https://www.hsta.org/portals/0/documents/HSTA-CBA-FINAL-2021.pdf
https://www.hsta.org/portals/0/documents/HSTA-CBA-FINAL-2021.pdf

STATE

lowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 30.

Hearing: Teachers are entitled to a private hearing with the board, upon
request. Probationary teachers may request a private conference with

the school board.

Appeal: Teachers are entitled to an appeal with the district court of the
county in which the administrative office of the school district is located.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: On or before the 3rd Friday in May.
Hearing: Teacher is entitled to a hearing with a hearing officer.

Appeal: Teacher is entitled to an appeal with the district court.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Teachers on limited contracts, May

15. Not specified for continuing contracts.

Hearing: Teachers on continuing contracts are entitled to a hearing by a 3
member tribunal established by the Commissioner of Education, upon

request.

Appeal: Teachers on continuing contracts are entitled to an appeal with
the Circuit Court in the county in which the school district is located.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy.
Hearing: Nontenured teachers may seek a summary review in a district
court. Tenured teachers are entitled to a hearing with a hearing officer

appointed by the Superintendent, upon request.

Appeal: Tenured teachers are entitled to an appeal with a court of

competent jurisdiction, upon request.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 15. At least 90 days under
conditions of position elimination.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the school board upon

request.

Appeal: Not specified in state policy.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the county board or an
arbitrator upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the state board.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a review with the principal of
superintendent upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to file a petition for arbitration with the
commissioner of education.
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CITATION

lowa Code Ann. §
279.19

lowa Code Ann. §
279.15

lowa Code Ann. §
279.18

Kan. Stat. Ann. §
72-2251

Kan. Stat. Ann. §
72-2258

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§161.750

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§161.790

La.Stat. Ann. §
17:443

Me. Rev. Stat. tit.
20-A,§ 13201

Md. Code Ann,,
Educ. § 6-202

Mass. Gen. Laws
Ann.ch.71,842



STATE

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: The teacher must be notified within 5
days of charges being filed by the controlling board.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with an administrative law
judge employed by the Department of Education, upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to appeal the final decision to the court of
of appeals.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 1

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local board of
education or an arbitrator upon request.

Appeal: There is no formal appeal process identified in state policy, but a
judicial review can take place on the boards decision. If the the teacher
requests a hearing with an arbiter, the decision of the arbiter is final.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 15 or within 10 days of the
governors approval of the appropriation bill, whichever comes first.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the school board, upon
request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal to the chancery court. Any
party aggrieved by the action of the chancery court may appeal to the
Mississippi Supreme Court.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Probationary teachers must be
notified in writing by April 15. At the time of charges, tenured teachers
must be presented with written charges.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the school board.

Appeal: The action and decision of the school board is final.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 1

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the school board of
trustees.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal to the county superintendent
if the teacher's employment is not covered by a collective bargaining
agreement. If the employment of the teacher is covered by a collective
bargaining agreement, the teacher is entitled to appeal the decision to an
arbitrator that is agreed upon by the school board and the teacher's
representative.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 15

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local board of
education, upon request. In a Class IV or V school district, a school board
or certified employee may require that hearings be conducted by a
hearing officer.

Appeal: Not specified in state policy.
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CITATION

Mich. Comp. Laws
Ann. § 38.102

Mich. Comp. Laws
Ann. § 38.104

Mich. Comp. Laws
Ann.§24.271

Minn. Stat. Ann. §
122A.40

Miss. Code. Ann. §
37-9-59

Miss. Code. Ann. §
37-9-113

Mo. Ann. Stat. §
168.221

Mont. Code Ann. §
20-4-205

Neb. Rev. Stat.
Ann. §79-831

Neb. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 79-842



STATE WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION? CITATION

Nevada Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: At least 15 days before dismissal is Nev. Rev. Stat.
recommended to the board. Ann.§391.775

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the Hearings Division of Nev. Rev. Stat.
the Department of Administration. Ann.§391.770

Appeal: The teacher may appeal the decision to the district court. Nev. Rev. Stat.
Ann. § 391.800

New Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 15 or within 15 days of the N.H. Rev. Stat.
Hampshire adoption of district budget but no later than the Friday following 2nd Ann. § 189:14-a
Tuesday in May.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the state board of
education, upon request.

Appeal: Not specified in state policy.

New Jersey Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy. N.J. Stat. Ann. §
18A:6-10
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the commissioner. The
commissioner may refer the case to an arbiter. N.J. Stat. Ann. §
18A:6-16

Appeal: Not specified in state policy.
N.J. Stat. Ann. §
18A:6-17

N.J. Stat. Ann. §

18A:28-5
New Mexico Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: 15 working days prior to the last day N.M. Stat. Ann. §
of the school year. 22-10A-22
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board N.M. Stat. Ann. §
or governing body. 22-10A-24
Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with an arbitrator. N.M. Stat. Ann. §
22-10A-25
New York Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy. N.Y. Educ. Law §
3020
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with a hearing officer, upon
request. N.Y. Educ. Law §
3020-a
Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the state supreme court.
The employer is also entitled to an appeal with the state supreme court. N.Y. Educ. Law §
3020-b
North Carolina Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 1. N.C. Gen. Stat.

Ann.§ 115C-325.3
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the school board, upon

request. N.C. Gen. Stat.
Ann.§ 115C-
Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal to the state superior court. 325.8
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STATE

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: No earlier than March 1 and no later

than April 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a mandatory hearing with the school
board that is administered by an administrative law judge.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the district court.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 1,

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board,

upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the court of common

pleas.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy.
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board.

Appeal: The decision of the local school board is final.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: March 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board,

upon request.

Appeal: Probationary teachers are entitled to a hearing on procedural
matters with the county circuit court. Contract teachers are entitled to
an appeal with the Fair Dismissal Appeals Board. Arbitration may be used
as an alternative to a hearing with the board.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy.
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the state secretary of

education.
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CITATION

N.D. Cent. Code
Ann. § 15.1-15-05

N.D. Cent. Code
Ann. § 15.1-15-08

Ohio Rev. Code
Ann. §3319.11

Ohio Rev. Code
Ann. §3319.16

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit.
70,8 6-101.25

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit.
70,8 6-101.26

Or. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§342.835

Or. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 342.895

Or. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§342.905

Or. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§342.930

24 Pa.Stat. Ann. §
11-1127

24 Pa. Stat. Ann. §
11-1129

24 Pa.Stat. Ann. §
11-1131

24 Pa. Stat. Ann. §
11-1132



STATE

Puerto Rico

Rhode Island

South Carolina

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: Not specified in state policy.

Hearing: Not specified in state policy. However, if the secretary of
education determines a teacher may be dismissed for cause following an
investigation, they must serve a written charge to the teacher indicating
their dismissal or suspension. the written charges and determination
must include information on filing an appeal.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the Public Education

System Board of Appeals.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: March 1. Teachers dismissed due to
fiscal exigency or program reorganization must be notified by June 1.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the school board, upon

request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the department of
elementary and secondary education and further appeal to the superior

court.

A school committee may agree, in a collective bargaining agreement, to
the arbitration of disputes arising out of the dismissal of a tenured

teacher.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 1.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to an evidentiary hearing with the local

school board.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the court of common

pleas.
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CITATION

§ 274aFiling of
charges, 18
L.PRA.§274a

§274-1
Corrective
measures, 18
L.PRA.§274-1

§ 274-2 Duties of
teacher or
employees, 18
L.PRA.§274-2

§ 274e Public
Education System
Board of Appeals
Creation, 18
L.PRA.§274eet
seq.

R.I. Gen. Laws
Ann.§16-13-2

R.l. Gen. Laws
Ann. § 16-13-3

R.l. Gen. Laws
Ann. § 16-13-4

S.C.Code Ann. §
59-25-410

S.C.Code Ann. §
59-25-420

S.C.Code Ann. §
59-25-430

S.C.Code Ann. §
59-25-440

S.C.Code Ann. §
59-25-480



STATE

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notification of nonrenewal: April 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board,

upon request.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the state circuit court.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with an impartial hearing

officer.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an initial appeal with the board of
education. The teacher is also entitled to an appeal with the chancery
court in the county where the school is located.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: No later than 10 days before last day

of instruction required under contract.

Hearing: The nonprobationary teacher is entitled to a hearing with a
hearing examiner, upon request. A probationary teacher may be
dismissed at the end of the contract period at the discretion of the local
school board. The board must provide notice to the teacher and the

decision is final.

Appeal: The nonprobationary teacher is entitled to an appeal with the
commissioner of education through filing a petition for review. Either
party in the appeal may appeal the determination of the commissioner to
the district court within the school's county. The court may overturn the
decision of the commissioner only if it is determined that it was not

supported by substantial evidence.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: 30 days prior to proposed dismissal

date.

Hearing: Upon request, the teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local
school board or hearing officers selected by the school board.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the "appropriate court

of law".
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CITATION

S.D. Codified Laws
§13-43-6.1

S.D. Codified Laws
§13-43-6.2

S.D. Codified Laws
§13-43-6.3

S.D. Codified Laws
§13-43-6.7

S.D. Codified Laws
§ 13-46-1 et seq.

Tenn. Code Ann. §
49-5-401

Tenn. Code Ann. §
49-5-511

Tenn. Code Ann. §
49-5-512

Tenn. Code Ann. §
49-5-513

Tex. Educ. Code
Ann. §21.103

Tex. Educ. Code
Ann. §21.158

Tex. Educ. Code
Ann. §21.159

Tex. Educ. Code
Ann.§21.251 et
seq.

Tex. Educ. Code
Ann.§21.301et
seq.

Utah Code Ann. §
53G-11-512

Utah Code Ann. §
53G-11-513

Utah Code Ann. §
53G-11-514

Utah Code Ann. §
53G-11-515



STATE

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION?

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board,
upon request.

Appeal: Not specified in state policy.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: June 15.

Hearing: Upon request, the teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local
school board or board-appointed hearing officer.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the circuit court.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with a school board-
appointed hearing officer.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the county superior

court. Teachers also have the right to seek appellate review of the court's
decision.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 1.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board
before they confirm the termination of their continuing contract. Upon
termination, the teacher may request a level three hearing with an
administrative law judge.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal of the administrative law
judge decision with the circuit court of Kanawha County.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: May 15.
Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with the local school board.

Appeal: The decision of the school board is final.

Deadline for notice of nonrenewal: April 15.

Hearing: The teacher is entitled to a hearing with an independent hearing
officer provided through the office of administrative hearings.

Appeal: The teacher is entitled to an appeal with the district court in
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedures Act
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CITATION

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit.
16,8 1752

Va.Code Ann. §
22.1-304

Va.Code Ann. §
22.1-309

Va.Code Ann. §
22.1-311

Va.Code Ann. §
22.1-314

Wash. Rev. Code
Ann. §
28A.405.210

Wash. Rev. Code
Ann. §
28A.405.220

Wash. Rev. Code
Ann. §
28A.405.310

W. Va. Code Ann. §
18A-2-2

W.Va. Code Ann. §
18A-2-8

W. Va. Code Ann. §
6C-2-4

W.Va. Code Ann. §
6C-2-5

Wis. Stat. Ann. §
118.22

Wis. Stat. Ann. §
118.23

Wyo. Stat. Ann. §
21-7-106

Wyo. Stat. Ann. §
21-7-110



STATE WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR A NONRENEWAL DETERMINATION? CITATION
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