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This metric captures provisions addressing the transferability of tenure status to a new school or district. In some states,

teachers serve an abbreviated probationary period at a new school or district, which is considered transferring

nonprobationary status for this metric. View the full 50-State Comparison: Teacher Employment Contract Policies here. 
 

STATE
DOES STATE POLICY ALLOW A TEACHER TO TRANSFER 
NONPROBATIONARY STATUS TO A DIFFERENT  
SCHOOL OR DISTRICT?

CITATION

Alabama No.Tenure status is not transferable from one employer to another
employer except when employers change by virtue of annexation,
school district formation, consolidation or a similar reorganization
over which the employee has no control.  

Ala. Code § 16-24C-4 

Alaska Not speci�ed in state policy.   

Arizona Yes. Continuing teachers may preserve the 3-year probationary
period if a teacher transfers from a common school district to a
high school district or vice versa--if the governing board recognizes
the years of employment and provided that the districts have
coterminous boundaries and common governing board.  

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15-
547 

Arkansas Not speci�ed in state policy.   

California Not speci�ed in state policy.   

Colorado Yes. Nonprobationary teachers may present evidence of student
academic growth in order to retain nonprobationary status.  

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
22-63-203 

Connecticut Yes. Teachers may attain tenure after 20 months and an evaluation
of effective practice in a new school district. 

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §
10-151 

Delaware Not speci�ed in state policy.   

District of
Columbia

Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Florida No. Probationary contracts are awarded regardless of previous
employment in another school district or state. 

Fla. Stat. Ann. §
1012.335 
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Georgia Yes. Teachers may regain tenure status after 1+R if employed by a
new local board of education. 

Ga. Code Ann. § 20-2-
942 

Hawaii Not speci�ed in state policy.   

Idaho Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Illinois Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Indiana Not speci�ed in state policy   

Iowa Yes. The probationary period may not exceed 2 years for teachers
who have already completed the probationary period in another
district in the state and the school board may waive the
probationary period for teachers who have completed one in
another district.  

Iowa Code Ann. §
279.19 

Kansas Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Kentucky Yes. Teachers shall retain continuing contract status. However, a
district may require a one year probationary period of service in
that district before granting that status.  

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
161.740 

Louisiana Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Maine Not speci�ed in state policy.   

Maryland Yes. Tenured teachers will earn tenure status if the initial contact is
renewed after one year. The local district can extend the
probationary period of the transferred teacher based on
performance evaluations and their demonstration of potential for
improvement. 

Md. Code Ann., Educ. §
6-201 

Massachusetts Yes. Teachers may be granted tenure status if the superintendent
acts on their behalf.  

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch.
71, § 41 

Michigan Yes. Teachers with tenure status are not subject to a two year
probationary period and the local school board can place the
teacher on a continuing contract immediately.  

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §
38.92 

Minnesota Yes. Teachers who moves to another district following their
completion of a probationary period will be placed on a one year
probationary period. 

Minn. Stat. Ann. §
122A.40 

Mississippi Yes. Teachers who move to another district after a two year
probationary period are subject to a one year probationary period. 

Miss. Code. Ann. § 37-9-
103 

Missouri Not speci�ed in state policy.   

Montana Not speci�ed in state policy.   

Nebraska Not speci�ed in state policy.   
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STATE
DOES STATE POLICY ALLOW A TEACHER TO TRANSFER 
NONPROBATIONARY STATUS TO A DIFFERENT  
SCHOOL OR DISTRICT?

CITATION

Nevada Yes. Postprobationary teachers who voluntarily leave their position
and are employed within �ve years maintain their
postprobationary status. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
391.815 

New
Hampshire

Not speci�ed in state policy.   

New Jersey Yes. Teachers who have attained tenure who are transferred with
their consent attain tenure after a two year probationary period,
unless a shortened period is determined by the board. Highly
effective teachers who elect to move a low-performing district and
teachers who transfer upon school closures can maintain their
tenure status. 

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:28-
6 
 
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:28-
5.1 
 
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:28-
6.1 

New Mexico Not speci�ed in state policy.   

New York Yes. Tenured teachers who transfer to another district are subject
to a probationary period no longer than two years. 

N.Y. Educ. Law § 2573 

North Carolina Not speci�ed in state policy.   

North Dakota Yes. Teachers may have the probationary period requirement
waived by the school board if they have two or more years of
teaching experience in the state. 

N.D. Cent. Code Ann. §
15.1-15-02 

Ohio Yes. Teachers must serve two years in the local education agency to
be eligible for continuing contract status. The local school board,
upon recommendation of the superintendent, may grant the
teacher a continuing contract prior to the completion of the two
year period.  

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §
3319.11  

Oklahoma Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Oregon Yes. Teachers may enter into agreements with local school boards
to provide a shorter probationary period before being classi�ed as
a contract teacher if the they have already completed a three-year
probationary period in another Oregon school district.  

Or. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
342.815  

Pennsylvania Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Puerto Rico Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Rhode Island Yes. Teachers under tenure who voluntarily transfer to another
school district will remain under tenure, unless they are noti�ed
prior to March 1 of the second school year following the transfer.  

16 R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. §
16-13-8  

South Carolina Yes. Teachers maintain continuing contract status unless the
teacher has been dismissed.  

S.C. Code Ann. § 59-26-
40 

South Dakota Not speci�ed in state policy.    
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Tennessee Yes. Tenured teachers must serve the regular probationary period
unless the requirement is waived or shortened by the local school
board. 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-5-
509  

Texas Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Utah Yes. School district policies determine the employment status of a
career employee if they accept employment in another school
district.  

Utah Code Ann. § 53G-
11-503 

Vermont Not speci�ed in state policy.    

Virginia Yes.Teachers who attain continuing contract status in another
district do not need to serve another probationary period in a
different district, unless it is included in the employment contract
of the teacher. The probationary period may not exceed two years.  

Va. Code Ann. § 22.1-
303  

Washington Yes. Teachers who have completed at least two years of service in
another Washington school district are not required to complete
the full three year probationary period.  

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §
28A.405.220 

West Virginia Yes.Teachers with continuing contract status in another district are
eligible for continuing contract status in a different district
following one acceptable year of service.  

W. Va. Code Ann. § 18A-
2-2  

Wisconsin Yes. Teachers who have attained permanent status in another
district must serve a two-year probationary period and be awarded
a contract for a third year in a new district before earning
permanent status. 

Wis. Stat. Ann. § 118.23  

Wyoming Yes.Teachers who have attained continuing contract status in
another district must serve a two-year probationary period and be
awarded a contract for a third year in a new district before earning
continuing contract status. 

Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 21-7-
102  
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