

State Policies on Postsecondary Tuition Setting, Capping and Freezing

Does a state law, rule or regulation require a tuition cap or freeze for two-year public institutions?

May 2020

View the full 50-State Comparison: State Policies on Postsecondary Tuition Setting, Capping and Freezing here.

STATE 📤	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
Alabama	none imposed	n/a
Alaska	none imposed	n/a
Arizona	none imposed	n/a
Arkansas	none imposed	n/a
California	fee rate specified in law	Cal. Educ. Code Ann. § 76300
Colorado	none imposed	n/a
Connecticut	none imposed	n/a
Delaware	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
District of Columbia	none imposed	n/a
Florida	none imposed	n/a
Georgia	none imposed	n/a
Hawaii	none imposed	n/a
Idaho	tuition fixed at no less than \$350, increased by no more than 10% per year to a maximum tuition of \$2,500 per year	Idaho Code § 33-2110
Illinois	none imposed	n/a
Indiana	none imposed	n/a
Iowa	none imposed	n/a
Kansas	none imposed	n/a
Kentucky	none imposed	n/a
Louisiana	shall not exceed the amount in effect on June 28, 2000, by more than two hundred fifty dollars nor by more than one hundred dollars at Louisiana Technical College	La. Stat. Ann. § 17:3351
Maine	none imposed	n/a
Maryland	none imposed	n/a
Massachusetts	none imposed	n/a
Michigan	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
Minnesota	none imposed	n/a
Mississippi	none imposed	n/a
Missouri	CPI +5% maximum increase for institutions above the state average tuition, cannot produce tuition revenue increase greater than any reduction in state operating support for institutions below the state average tuition, dollar increase in tuition cannot exceed the product of the pct chg of the CPI times average tuition, plus up to 5%, cannot produce any tuition revenue increase greater than any reduction in state support	MO. REV. STAT. § 173.1003
Montana	none imposed	n/a
Nebraska	none imposed	n/a
Nevada	none imposed	n/a
New Hampshire	none imposed	n/a
New Jersey	none imposed	n/a
New Mexico	none imposed	n/a
New York	none imposed	n/a
North Carolina	none imposed	n/a
North Dakota	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
Ohio	no more than \$5 per credit hour over the previous academic year	H.B. 166, Budget Bill of the 133rd General Asembly
Oklahoma	none imposed	n/a
Oregon	none imposed	n/a
Pennsylvania	tuition cannot account for more than 1/3 of the community college's budgeted annual operating costs	22 Pa. Code § 35.29
Rhode Island	cannot increase tuition for the year after the state's appropriation to higher education is made	16 R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 16-59-9.1
South Carolina	none imposed	n/a
South Dakota	none imposed	n/a
Tennessee	Commission must adopt a tuition and fee policy with maximum increase ranges for the institutions to abide by.	Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-7-202
Texas	none imposed	n/a
Utah	none imposed	n/a
Vermont	none imposed	n/a
Virginia	none imposed	n/a
Washington	no more than the average annual percentage growth rate in the median hourly wage for WA for the previous 14 years	Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 28B.15.067

STATE 📤	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	2 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
West Virginia	must submit increases over 10% in any one year or where the increase would be over 7% per year averaged over a rolling three year period to the state higher ed agency for approval	W. VA. CODE § 18B-10-1
Wisconsin	none imposed	n/a
Wyoming	none imposed	n/a