

State Policies on Postsecondary Tuition Setting, Capping and Freezing

Does a state law, rule or regulation require a tuition cap or freeze for four-year public institutions?

May 2020

View the full 50-State Comparison: State Policies on Postsecondary Tuition Setting, Capping and Freezing here.

STATE 📤	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
Alabama	none imposed	n/a
Alaska	none imposed	n/a
Arizona	none imposed	n/a
Arkansas	none imposed	n/a
California	none imposed	n/a
Colorado	none imposed	n/a
Connecticut	none imposed	n/a
Delaware	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
District of Columbia	none imposed	n/a
Florida	no more than 6 percent total increase, up to 2 percent increase each for meeting specified performance standards	Fla. Stat. Ann § 1009.24
Georgia	none imposed	n/a
Hawaii	none imposed	n/a
Idaho	none imposed	n/a
Illinois	none imposed	n/a
Indiana	none imposed	n/a
Iowa	none imposed	n/a
Kansas	none imposed	n/a
Kentucky	none imposed	n/a
Louisiana	total increase in the tuition amount applicable to resident students at an institution under its supervision and management such that the tuition amount for an academic year shall not exceed the amount in effect on June 28, 2000, by more than two hundred fifty dollars	La. Stat. Ann. § 17:3351
Maine	none imposed	n/a
Maryland	none imposed	n/a
Massachusetts	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
Michigan	not eligible for performance funding payments if tuition is increased by more than 4.4% or \$587, whichever is greater	Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 388.1865
Minnesota	none imposed	n/a
Mississippi	none imposed	n/a
Missouri	CPI +5% maximum increase for institutions above the state average tuition, cannot produce tuition revenue increase greater than any reduction in state operating support for institutions below the state average tuition, dollar increase in tutiion cannot exceed the product of the pct chg of the CPI times average tuition, plus up to 5%, cannot produce any tuition revenue increase greater than any reduction in state support	MO. REV. STAT. § 173.1003
Montana	none imposed	n/a
Nebraska	none imposed	n/a
Nevada	none imposed	n/a
New Hampshire	none imposed	n/a
New Jersey	none imposed	n/a
New Mexico	none imposed	n/a
New York	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
North Carolina	none imposed	n/a
North Dakota	none imposed	n/a
Ohio	no more than 2% over the previous academic year	H.B. 166, Budget Bill of the 133rd General Asembly
Oklahoma	separate caps for comprehensive and regional universities are described in the statute, rate must be below the average of other comparable institutions, comparable institutions defined in the statute institutions also required to offer a guaranteed tuition rate program described in statute	Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 70, § 3218.8
Oregon	may not increase more than 5% unless certain conditions met	Or. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 352.102
Pennsylvania	none imposed	n/a
Rhode Island	cannot increase tuition for the year after the state's appropriation to higher education is made	16 R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 16-59-9.1
South Carolina	none imposed	n/a
South Dakota	none imposed	n/a
Tennessee	Commission must adopt a tuition and fee policy with maximum increase ranges for the institutions to abide by.	Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-7-202
Texas	none imposed	n/a
Utah	none imposed	n/a
Vermont	none imposed	n/a

STATE 📤	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE	4 YEAR CAP OR FREEZE POLICY CITATION
Virginia	none imposed	n/a
Washington	no more than the average annual percentage growth rate in the median hourly wage for WA for the previous 14 years	Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 28B.15.067
West Virginia	must submit increases over 10% in any one year or where the increase would be over 7% per year averaged over a rolling three year period to the state higher ed agency for approval	W. VA. CODE § 18B-10-1
Wisconsin	none imposed	n/a
Wyoming	none imposed	n/a