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This factsheet describes the charges paid by undergraduate
resident students at California's public colleges. The state charges its own
residents less to attend its public colleges than it charges nonresidents,
but it does charge systemwide fees and mandatory campus-based fees. These
fees help support student services, but California has sought to avoid
charging resident students for the direct cost of instruction, which it
charges as "tuition" to nonresident students. Residency is defined by a state
statue. In 1999-2000, the University of California was charging undergraduate
California residents an average of $3,903 in mandatory fees, making the total
$1,154 less than the average fee charged by the four public universities with
which the University compares itself on faculty salaries. The California
State University was charging its students an average of $1,830 in mandatory
fees. Two graphs show how the charges for California residents have changed
over the fiscal years since 1977-1978. (SLD)
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Factsheet 00-01 January 2000

CALIFORNIA charges its own residents less to attend its public colleges and
universities than it charges nonresidents. It charges resident students systemwide fees
as well as mandatory campus-based fees. These fees help support student services like
counseling, health insurance, student union activities, student government, and
recreation -- but it has sought to avoid charging them for the direct cost of instruction,
which it charges as "tuition" to nonresident students.

Who are resident students?

California State University determines the residency of its students according to the
California statute, which defines resident students for tuition purposes as those who (1)
have resided in California for at least one year and one day prior to enrolling in a
college or university, and (2) intend to make California their home. A student may
demonstrate the intent to reside in California through a number of means, including
obtaining a California driver's license, owning or renting property in the state,
registering a vehicle in California, and paying California personal income taxes.

The University of California has adopted stricter residency requirements for its
undergraduate students. It requires that students be classified as residents of the state in
which their parents reside as long as they are classified as dependent upon their parents
according to financial aid definitions. This generally means that out-of-state
undergraduate students cannot establish residency until they are 24 years of age.

What does the University of California charge resident students?
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For 1999-2000, the University is charging undergraduate California residents an
average of $3,903 in mandatory fees, including a $3,429 systemwide fee which is 5
percent lower than the 1998-99 level. This total is $1,154 less than the average fee
charged by the four public universities with which it compares itself on faculty salaries:

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
State University of New York, Buffalo
University of Virginia
Average of the four universities

$6,673
$4,770
$4,655
$4,130

$5,057

What does the California State University charge resident students?

The California State University is charging resident students an average of $1,830 in
mandatory fees, including a $1,428 systemwide fee which is 5 percent lower than the
1998-99 level. This total is lower than all of the 15 public universities with which it
compares itself in terms of faculty salaries and $2,050 lower than the group average:

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Newark $5,833

University of Connecticut $5,404
University of Maryland, Baltimore County $5,160,
George Mason University (Virginia) $5,124
State University of New York, Albany $4,453

Illinois State University $4,285

Wayne State University $4,127

Cleveland State University $3,894
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee $3,743

Georgia State University $3,358

University of Texas, Arlington $3,336

University of Colorado, Denver $2,548

North Carolina State University $2,414

Arizona State University $2,262

University of Nevada, Reno $2,259

Average of the 15 universities $3,880

How have charges for California residents changed over the years?

The displays on the reverse side show the average annual resident undergraduate fees at
the University of California and the California State University for fiscal years 1977-78
through 1999-2000, expressed in actual and constant 1999-2000 dollars.

Total Annual Resident Undergraduate Student Fees, Expressed in Actual and
Constant 1998-99 Dollars, for Fiscal Years 1976-77 Through 1998-99
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Further information may be obtained from the Commission's Research Staff
(916) 445-7933 or via e-mail at ResearchStaff@cpec.ca.gov.
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