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LAWS ABOUT
TOBACCO, ALCOHOL, AND OTHER DRUGS

A Guidebook for California’s
Parents and Educators

Introduction

Alcohol and other drugs have gained great notoriety in the past few
years. As a nation, we are struggling to find effective ways to prevent the
use of drugs by our youth. Being informedis one of the many ways
adults can assist in this worthwhile effort.

One method of preventing drug use by youth is to enforce strict laws and
punishments. Laws About Tobacco, Alconol, and Other Drugsis a
resource for parents and educators to help them become more familiar
with California law. Knowledge of the serious consequences of drug use
will enable adults to communicate these consequences to their children
and students.

Many laws have been written concerning tobacco, alcohol,, and other
drugs in this state. In addition to these state laws, each city and county
may have their own laws which apply to drug-related violaticns. The
appropriate abbreviations for each California Code as noted throughout
this document are as follows:

Health and Safety Code
California Vehicle Code

Penal Code

Business and Professions Code
Education Code

ramily Code

United States Code

Welfare and Institutions Code

The citations for codes which have been edited appear in brackets.
Covies of these codes may be found at local city hall offices, county
libraries, county courthouses, college libraries, most attorneys' offices,
and schools of law. For ariditional information or further interpretation of
a law, contact any of these offices: city or county prosecutor, the Public
Defender's office, the State Attorney General, Legal Aid, local attorneys,
or the California State Liquor Control Board.
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TOBACCO

No school shall permit the smeking or use of tobacco, or any product
containing tobacco or nicotine products, by pupils of the school while the
pupils are on campus, or while attending school sponsored activities or
while under the supervision and control of school district employees.
E.C. 48901(a)

The governing board of any school district maintaining a high school
shall take all steps it deems practical to discourage high school students
from smoking. E.C. 48901(b)

Every person, firm or corporation which knowingly sells, gives or in any
way furnishes to another person who is under the age of 18 years any
tobacco, cigarette, or cigarette papers, or any other preparation of
tobacco, or any other instrument or paraphernalia that is designed for the
smoking or ingestion of tobacco, products prepared from tobacco, or any
controlled substance, is guilty of a misdemeanor. [P.C. 308]

For any person by any means, as part of an advertising plan or program,
to distribute free samples of smokeless tobacco products within a two
block radius of any premises or facilities whose primary purpose is
directed toward persons under the age of 18 years including, but not
limited to, schools, clubhouses, and youth centers, when those premises
" are being used for their primary purposes. B.&P.C. 17537.3(c)

ALCOHOL

Sale And Purchase

Every person who sells, furnishes, gives, or causes to be sold, furnished,
or given away, any alcoholic beverage to any person under the age of 21
years is guilty of a misdemeanor.

B.&P.C. 25658(b)

Any person under the age of 21 years who purchases any alcoholic
beverage, or any person under the age of 21 years who consumes any
alcoholic beverage in any on-sale premises, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
B.&P.C. 25658(b)
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Any on-sale licensee who knowingly permits a person under the age of
21 years to consume any alcoholic beverage in the on-sale premises,
whether or not the licensee has knowledge that the person is under the
age of 21 years, is guilty of a misdemeanor. B.&P.C. 25658(c)

Any person who violates this section shall be punished by a fine of not
less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), no part of which shall be
suspended, or the person shall be required to perform not iess than 24
hours or more than 32 hours of community service during hours when
the person is not employed and is not attending school, or a combination
of fine and community service as determined by the court.

B.&P.C. 25658(d)

Any person under the age of 21 years who attempts to purchase any
alcoholic beverage from a licensee, or the licensee's agent or employee,
is guilty of an infraction and shall be punished by a fine of not more than
one hundred dollars ($100). A second or subsequent violation of this
section shall be punished by a fine of not more than two hundred fifty
doflars ($250), or the person shall be required to perform up to 36 hours
of community service during hours when the person is not employed or is
not aitending school, or a combination of fine and community service as
the court deems just. B.&P.C. 25658.5

Every person, firm, or corporation which sells or gives or in any way
furnishes to another person, who is in fact under the age of 21 years, any
candy, cake, cookie, or chewing gum which contains alcohol in excess of
1/2 of 1 percent by weight, is guilty of a misdemeanor. P.C. 307

Possession

Any person under the age of 21 years who has any alcoholic beverage in
his possession on any street or highway or in any public place or in any
place open to the public is guilty of a misdemeanor. This section does
not apply to possession by a person under the age of 21 years makinga .
delivery of an alcoholic beverage in pursuance of the order of his parent
or in pursuance of his employment. B.&P.C. 25662(a)

Unless otherwise provided by law, where a peace officer has lawfully
entered the premises, the peace officer may seize any alcoholic bever-
age in plain view which is in the possession of, or provided to, a person
under the age of 21 years at social gatherings, when those gatherings
are open to the public, 10 or more persons under the age of 21 years are
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participating, persons under the age of 21 years are consuming alcohoiic
beverages, and there is ne supervision of the social gathering by a
parent or guardian of one cr more of the participants. Where a peace
officer has seized alcoholic beverages pursuant to this subdivision, the
officer may destroy any alcoholic beverage contained in an opened
container and in the possession of, or provided to, a person under the
age of 21 years, and, with respect to alcoholic beverages for a period not
to exceed seven working days pending a request for the release of those
beverages by a person 21 years of age or older who is the lawfut owner
or resident of the property upon which the aicoholic beverages were
seized. lf no one requests the release of the seized alcoholic beverage
within that period, those beverages may he destroyed. B &P.C. 25662(b)

Driving

{a) Notwithstanding Sections 23152 and 23153, it is unlawful for a
person under the age of 21 years who has a blood-alcohol concen-
tration of 0.01 percent or greater, as measured by a preliminary
alcohol screening test, to drive a vehicle. However, this section shall
not be a bar to prosecution under Section 23152 or 22153 or any
other provision of law.

A person shall be found to be in violation of subdivision (a) if the
person was, ai the time of driving, under the age of 21 years, and the
trier of fact finds that the person had consumed an alcoholic bever-
age and was driving a vehicle with a blood-alcohol concentration of
0.01 percent or greater, as measured by a preliminary aicohol
screening test.

(1) Any person under the age of 21 years who drives a motor
vehicle is deemed to have given his or her consent to a prelimi-
nary alcohol screening test for the purpose of determining the
presence of alcohol in the person, if lawfully detained for an
alleged violation of subdivision (a).

The testing shail be incidental to a lawful detention and adminis-
.tered at the direction of a peace officer having reasonable cause
to believe the person was driving a motor vehicle in violation of
subdivision (a)

(3) The pzrson shall be told that his or her failure to submit to, or the
failure to complete, a preliminary alcohol screening test as
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requested will result in the suspension of the person's privilege
to operate a motor vehicle for a period of one year. V.C. 23136

Any person convicted of an alcohol or illegal drug offense, committed
while the person was under the age of 21 years, but 13 years of age or
older, the court shall suspend the person's driving privilege for one year.
If the person convicted does not yet have the privilege to drive, the court
shall order the department to delay issuing the privilege to drive for one

. year subsequent to the time the person becomes legally eligible to drive.
However, if there is no further conviction for any offense specified in
subdivision (d) in a 12-month period after the conviction, the court, upon
petition of the person affected, may modify the order imposing the delay
of the privilege. For each successive offense, the court shall suspend
the person’s driving privilege for those possessing a license or delay the
eligibility for those not in possession of a license at the time of their
conviction for one additional year. As used in this section, the term
‘conviction’ includes the findings in juvenile proceedings specified in
Section 13105. [V.C. 13202.5(a)]

Whenever the courts suspend driving privileges pursuant to subdivision
(a), the court in which the conviction is rendered shali require all driver's
licenses held by the person to be surrendered to the court. The court
shall within 10 days following the conviction transmit certified abstract of
the conviction, together with any driver's licenses surrendered, to the
department. Violation of restrictions imposed pursuant to this section are
subject to Section 14603. V.C. 13202.5(b)

After a court has issued an order suspending or delaying driving privi-
leges pursuant to subdivision (a), the court, upon petition of the person
affected, may review the order and may impose restrictions on the
person's privilege to drive based upon a showing of a critical need to
drive. The restriction shall remain in effect for the balance of the period
of 'suspension or restriction in this section. The court shall notify the
department of any modification within 10 days of the order of modifica-
tion. [V.C. 13202.5(c)]

Suspension, restriction, or delay of driving privileges pursuant to this
section shall be in addition to any penalty imposed upon conviction of
any violation specified in subdivision (d). V.C. 132025(e)

It is unlawtul for any person, while driving a vehicle with a license sus-
pended or revoked, pursuant to section 14601.2, to do any act forbidden
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by law or neglect any duty imposed by law in the driving of the vehicle,
which act or neglect proximately [caused] bodily injury to any person
other then the driver. In proving the person neglected any duty imposed
by law in the driving of the vehicle, it is not necessary to prove that any
specific section of this code was violated. [V.C. 4601.4(a)]

Any person convicted under this section shall be imprisoned in a county
jail and shall not be released upon work release, comimunity service, or
any other release program before the minimum period of imprisonment,
prescribed in section 16401.2, is served. !f a person is convicted of such
an offense and is granted prc bation, the court shall require tat the person
convicted serva at least the minimum time of imprisonment, as a term or
condition of probation. {V.C. 16401.4(b)]

It is untawful for any person, while under the influence of any alcoholic
beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of an alcoholic
beverage and any drug, to drive a vehicle and, concurrently, do any act
forbidden by law or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the
vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any
person other than the driver. V.C. 231153

It is unlawful for any person, while having 0.08 percent or more, by
weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle and, concurrently,
do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in
driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury
to any person other than the driver. V.C. 231 53(b)

No person shall drink any alcoholic beverage while driving a motor
vehicle upon any highway. V.C. 23220

Every person who possesses, while driving a motor vehicle upon a
highway, not more than one avoirdupois ounce of marijuana, other than
concentrated cannabis, as defined by section 11006.5 of the Health and
Safety Code, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine
of not more than one hundred dolars ($100). [V.C. 23222(b)]

It is unlawful for the registered cwner of any motor vehicle, or the driver if
the registered owner is not then present in the vehicle, to keep in a motor
vehicle, when the vehicle is upon any highway, any bottle, can, or other
receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage which has been opened, or
a seal broken, or the content of which have been patially removed,
unless the container is kept in the trunk of the vehicle, or kept in some
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other area of the vehicle not normally occupied by the driver or passen-
gers, if the vehicle is not equipped with a trunk. A utility compartment or
glove compartment shall be deemed to be within the area occupied by
the driver and passengers. [V.C. 23225]

No person under the age of 21 years shall knowingly drive any motor
vehicle carrying any aicoholic beverage, unless the person is accompa-
nied by a parent, responsible adult relative, any other adult designated
by the parents, or legal guardian for the purpose of transportation of an
alcoholic beverage, or is employed by a licensee under the Alcoholic
Beverage Control Act (Division 9 [commencing with Section 23000] of
the Business and Professions Code), and is driving the motor vehicle
during regular hours and in the course of the person's employment. [f
the driver was unaccompanied, he or she shall have a complete defense
if he or she was following, in a timely manner, the reasonable instructions
of his or her parent, legal guardian, responsible adult relative, or adult
designee relating to disposition of the alcoholic beverage.

No passenger in any motor vehicle who is under the age of 21 years
shall knowingly possess or have under that person’s control any aico-
holic beverage, unless the pussenger is accompanied by a parent, legal
guardian, responsible adult relative, any other adult designated by the
paren, or legal guardian for the purpose of transportation of an aicoholic
beverage, or in employed by a licensee undes the Alcoholic Beverage
Control Act (Division 9 [commencing with Section 23000] of the Business
and Professions Code), and * * * possession or control is during
regular hours and in the course of the passenger's employment. If the
-passenger was unacccmpanied, he or she shall have a complete de-
fense if he or she was following, in a timely manner, the reasonable
instructions of his or her parent, legal guardian, responsible adult relative
or adult designee relating to disposition of the alcoholic beverage.

It the vehicle used in any violation of subdivisicn (a) or (b) is registered to
an offender who is under the age of 21 years, the vehicle may be im-
pounded at the owner's expense for not less than one day nor more than
30 days for each violation. V.C. 23224(c)

Alcohol, Minors, Limousines
The driver of any limousine for hire operated by a charter-party carrier of

passengers unider a valid permit issued oursuant to Section 5384 shall
do all of the following:
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The driver shall ascertain whether any passenger is under the
age of 21 years.

It any passenger is tinder the age of 21 years, the driver shall
read to the passenger a statement that the consumption of any
alcoholic beverage in the vehicle is unlawful, that no aicoholic
beverage may be transporied in the passenger compartment of
the vehicle, that ali alcoholic beverages are required to be
carried in the vehicle trunk or other locked com;xaitment, and
that, if during the course of the ride any minor is found to be, or
to have been, consuming any alcoholic beverage, the contract
will be terminated and the customer will be brought back to the
point of origin of the ride.

After reading the statement described in paragraph (2) to everv
passenger under the age of 21 years, the driver shall require
every passenger under the age of 21 years to sign the statement
and retain the signed statement until every minor passenger is

discharged, pursuant to the contract of hire for the limousine and
driver.

If any minor passenger, after signing a statement pursuant to
paragraph (3) is found to be, or to have been, consuming any
alcoholic beverage during the course of any ride subject to the
section, the driver shall immediately terminate the contract o
hire and shall return the passengers to the point of arigin of the
ride.

Any tailure of a driver to comply with subdivision (a) that results in the
conviction of the driver of a violation of Section 23225 of the Vehicle
Code, shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in Section 5384.5.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, this section does not apply to
the driver of any bus, taxicab, or van, and it does not prohibit a parent or
legal guardian from consuming alcoholic beverages in a limousine for
hire while accompanied by his or her minor children. B.&P.C. 5384.1

Liability

A cause of action may be brought by or on behalf of any person who has
suffered injury or death against any person licensed, or required to be
licensed, pursuant to Section 23300, or any person authorized by the

8
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federal government to sell alcoholic beveragén a military base or
other federal enclave, who sells, furnishes, gives or causes to be sold,

* furnished or given away any alcoholic beverage to any obviously intoxi-

cated minor where the furnistag, sale or giving of that beverage to the

minor is the proximate cause of the personal injury or death sustained by

that person. B.&P.C. 25602.1

False Identificaticn

Any person under the age of 21 years who presents or offers to any
licensee, his agent or employee, any written, printed or photostatic
evidence of age and identity which is false, fraudulent or not actually his
own for the purpose of ordering, purchasing, attempting to purchase or
otherwise procuring or attempting to procure, the serving of any alcoholic
beverage, or who has in his possession any false or fraudulent written,
printed, or photostatic evidence of age and identity, is guilty of a misde-
meanor and shall be punished by a fine of at least two hundred dollars
($200), no part of which shall be suspended. B.&P.C. 25661

Any person who sells, gives, or furnishes to any person under the age of
21 years any false or fraudulent written, printed, or photostatic evidence
of the majority and identi.y of such person or who sells, gives, or fur-
nishes to any person under the age of 21 years evidence of majority and
identification of any other person is guilty of a misdemeanor. B.&P.C.
25660.5

. Minors on Premises

Any licensee under an on-sale license issued for public premises, as
defined in Section 23039, who permits a person under the age of 21
years to enter and remain in the licensed premises without lawful busi-
ness therein is guilty of a misdemeanor. Any person under the agz of 21
years who enters and remains in the licensed public premises without
lawful business therein is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished
by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100), no part of which
shall be suspended. B.&P.C. 25665




ALCOHOL AND DRUG EDUCATION FOR OFFENDERS

Any person found to have committed a violation of Section 23140 shall
be required to participate in the aicohol education program. The court
shall require the minor to participate in an alcohol education program or a
community service program which provides an alcohol education compo-
nent unless the court finds that the minor, or the minor’s parent or
parents, is unable to pay required fees for the program, there is no
appropriate program located in the county, or other specific circum-
stances justify failure to impose this requirement. V.C. 23141

If the court finds it just and reasonable, the court may order the parent or
parents of a minor who is ordered to participate in an alcohoi education
program or a community service program which provides an alcohol
education component pursuant to this article, to pay the required fees for
the program. V.C. 23143

Whenever, in any county specified in subdivision (b), a judge of a juve-
nile court, a juvenile traffic hearing officer, or referee of a juvenile court
finds that a person has committed a first violation of Section 23152 or
23153, the person shall be required to participate in and successfully
complete an alcohol or drug education program, or both of those pro-
grams, as designated by the court. The expense of the person’s atten-
dance in the program shall be paid by the person’s parents or guardian
.so long as the person is under the age of 18 years, and shall be paid by
the person thereafter. [V.C. 23154(a)]

MARIJUANA
Possession

Every person who possesses any concentrated cannabis shall be
punished by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not more than
one year or by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by
both such fine and imprise:iment, or shall be punished by imprisonment
in the state prison. H.&S.C. 11357(a)

Every person who possesses not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana,
other than concentrated cannabis, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall
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be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred doliars ($100}.
{H.&S.C. 11357(b)]

Every person who possesses more than 28.5 grams of marijuana, cther
than concentrated cannabis, shall be punished by imprisonment in a
county jail for a period of not more than six months or by a fine of not
more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by both such fine and imprison-
ment. [H.&S.C. 11357(c}]

Every person 18 years of age or over who possesses not rmore than 28.5
grams of marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, upon the grounds
of, cr within, any school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of
grades 1 through 12 during hours the school is open for classes or
school-related programs is guilty of a misderneanor and shall be pun-
ished by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by
imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not more than 10 days, or
-both. H.&S.C. 11357(d)

Every person urider the age of 18 who possesses not more than 28.5
grams of marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, upon the grounds
of, or within, any school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of
grades 1 through 12 during hours the school is open for classes or
school-related programs is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject

_ to the following dispositions:

(1) A fine of not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), upon
a finding that a first offense has been committed.

(2) A fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or commit-
ment to a juvenile hall, ranch, camp, forestry camp, or secure
juvenile home for a period of not more than 10 days, or both,
upon a finding that a second or subsequent offense has been
committed. H.&S.C. 11357(e)

Every person who possesses for sale any marijuana, except as other-
wise provided by law, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison. H.&S.C. 11359

Transportation

Every person who transports, imports into this state, sells, furnishes,
administers, or gives away, or offers to transport, import into this state,
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sell, furnish, administer, or give away, or attempts to import into this state
or transport any marijuana shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for a period of two, three, or four years. H.88.C. 11360(a)

Every person who gives away, offers to give away, transports, offers to
transport, or attempts to transport not more than 28.5 grams of mari-
juana, other than concentrated cannabis, is guilty of a misdemeanor and
shall be punishedi by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100).
[H.&S.C. 11369(b))

Hiring Minors

Every person 18 years of age or over who hires, employs, or uses a
minor in unfawfully transporting, carrying, selling, giving away, preparing
for saie, or peddling any marijuana, who unlawfully sells, or offers to sell,
any marijuana to a minor, or who furnishes, administers, or gives, or
offers to furnish, administer, or give any marijuana to a minor under 14
years ot age, or who induces a minor to use marijuana in violation of law
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a period of
three, five, or seven years. H.&S.C. 11361(a)

Every person 18 years of age or over who furnishes, administers, or
gives, or offers to furnish, administer, or give, any marijuana to a minor
14 years of age or older shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a period of three, four, or five years. H.&S.C. 11361(b)

Peyote

Every person who plants, cuitivates, harvests, dries, or processes any
plant of the genus Lophophora, also known as peyote, or any part
thereof shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of
not more than one year or the state prison. H.&S.C. 11363

INHALANTS
Sale

Every person who sells, dispenses or distributes toluene, or any sub-

stance or material containing toluerie, to any person who is less than 18
years of age shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall
be fined a sum of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000), nor more

12

18




than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or by imprisonment for
not less than six months nor more than one year. P.C. 380(a)

The court shall order the suspension of the business license, for a period
of one year, of a person who knowingly violates any of the provisicns of
this section after having been previously convicted of a violation of this
section unless the owner of such business license can demonstrate a
goed faith attempt to prevent illegal sales or deliveries by employees.
The provisions of this subdivision shall become operative on July 1,
1920. P.C. 380(b)

The provisions of this section shall apply to, but are not limited to, the
sale or distribution of glue, cement, dope, paint thinners, paint, and any
combination of hydrocarbons either alone or in combination with any
substance or material including, but not limited to, paint, paint thinners,
shellac thinners, and solvents, which when inhaled, ingested or breathed,
can cause a person to be under the influence of, or intoxicated from, any
such combination of hydrocarbons.

This section shall not prohibit the sale of gasoline or other motor vehicles
fuels to persons less than 18 years of age. P.C. 380(c)

This section shall not apply to any glue or cement which has been
certified by the State Department of Health Services as containing a
substance which make such glue or cement malodorous or causes such
glue or cement to induce sneezing, nor shall this section apply where the
glue or cement is sold, delivered, or given away simultaneously with or
as part of a kit used for the construction or model airplanes, model beats,
model autornobiles, model trains, or other similar rnodels or used for the
assembly or creation of hobhy craft items using such components as
beads, tiles, tiffany glass, ceramics, clay, or other craft-related compo-
nents. P.C. 380(d)

Inhaling

Any person who possesses toluene or any substance or material con-
taining toluene, including, but not limited to, glue, cement, dope, paint
thinner, paint and any combination of hydrocarbons, either alone or in
combination with any substance or material including but not limited to
paint, paint thinner, shellac thinner, and solvents, with the intent to
breathe, inhale or ingest for the purpose of causing a condition of intoxi-
cation, elation, euphoria, dizziness, stupefaction, or dulling of the senses
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or for the purpose of, in any manner, changing, distorting or disturbing
the audio, visual or mental processes, or who knowingly and with the
intent to do so is under the influence of toluene or any material contain-
ing toluene, or any cembination of hydrocarbons is guilty of a misde-
meanor. P.C. 381(a)

Nitrous Oxide

Any person who possesses any substance or material, which the State
Department of Health Services has determined by regulations adopted
pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act {chapter 3.5 (commencing
with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government
Code) has toxic qualities similar to toluene, with the intent to breathe,
inhale, or ingest for the purpose of causing a condition of intoxication,
elation, euphoria, dizziness, excitement, irrational behavior, exhilaration,
satisfaction, stupefaction, or dulling of the senses or for the purpose of, in
any manner, changing, distorting or disturbing the audio, visual, or
mental processes, or who is under the influence of such substance or
material is guilty of a misdemeanor. P.C. 38b.

NARCOTICS AND DANGEROUS DRUGS

Possession

Every person who possesses any controlled substance, unless upon the
written prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian
licensed to practice in this state, shall be punished by imprisonment in
the state prison. [H.&S.C. 11350(a)]

Every person who possesses for sale or purchases for the purpose of
sale, any controlled substance shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for two, three, or four years. [H.&S.C. 11351)

Providing

Every person who transports, imports into this state, sells, furnishes,
administers, or gives away, or offers to transport, import into this state,
sell, furnish, administer, or give away, or attempts to import into this state
or transport any controlled substance, unless upon the written prescrip-
tion of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian licensed to practice
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in this state, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
three, four, or five years. [H.&S.C. 11352]

Every person who agrees, consents, or in any manner offers to uniaw-
fully sell, furnish, transport, administer, or give any controlled substance,
or who offers, arranges, or negotiates to have any such controiled
substance unlawfully sold, delivered, transported, furnished, adminis-
tered, or given to any person and who then sells, delivers, furnishes,
transports, administers, or gives, or offers, arranges; or negotiates to
have sold, delivered, transported, furnished, administered, or given to
any person any other liquid, substance, or materials in lieu of any such
controlled substance shall be punlshed by imprisonment in a county jail
for not more than one year, or in the state prison.

[H.&S.C. 11355]

Every person under the age of 18 years who in any voluntary manner
solicits, induces, encourages, or intimidates any minor with the intent that
the minor shall violate any provision of this chapter or Section 11550,
who hires, employs, or uses a minor to unlawfully transpont, carry, sell,
give away, prepare for sale, or peddle any controlled substance who
unlawfully sells, furnishes, administers, gives, or offers to sell, furnish,
administer, or give, any such controlled substance tc a minor shall be

punished by imprisonment in the state prison . [H.&S.C. 11354(a)]

Except as authorized by law, any person 18 years of age or older who
unlawfully prepares for sale upon school grounds or a public playground,
a child day care facility, a church, or a synagogue, or sells or gives away
a controlied substance, other than a controlled substance described in
Section 11353 or 11380, to a minor upon the grounds of, or within, any
school, child day care facility, public playground, church or synagogue
providing instruction in preschool, kindergarten, or any of grades 1 to 12,
inclusive, or providing child care services, during hours in which those
facilities are open for classes, school-related programs, or child care, or
at any time when minors are using the facility where the offense cccurs,
or upon the grounds of a public playground during the hours in which
school-related programs for minors are being conducted, or at any time
when minors are using the facility where the offense occurs, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for five, seven, or nine
years. Application of this section shall be limited to persons at least five
years older than the minor toc whom he or she prepares for sale, sells, or
gives away a controlled substance.
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Mirars

Every person 18 years of age or over who in any voluntary manner
solicits, induces, encourages, or intimidates any minor with the intent that
the minor shall violate any provision of this chapter or Section 11550 with
respect to a controlled substance who hires, employs, or uses a minor to
unlawfully transport, carry, sell, give away, prepare for use, or peddie any
such controlied substance, ar who unlawfully sells, furnishes, admini-
sters, gives, or offers to sell, furnish, administer, or give, any such
controlled substance to a minor shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for a period of three, six, or nine years. [H.&S.C. 11353}

Driving

It is unlawfu! for any person who is under the influence of any aicoholic
beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any aicoholic
beverage .and drug, to drive a vehicle. V.C. 23152(a)

It is unlawful for any person who is addicted to the use of any drug to
drive a vehicle. This subdivision shall not apply to a person who is
participating in a methadone maintenance treatment program. [V.C.
23152 (c)]

DRUG PARAPHERNALIA

It is unlawful to possess an opium pipe or any device, contrivarice,
instrument or paraphernalia used for unlawfully injecting or smoking a
controlled substance. [ H.&S.C. 11364]

it is a misdemeanor for any person to deliver, furnish, or transfer, or to
possess with intent to deliver, furnish, or transfer, or to manufacture with
intent to deliver, furnish, or transfer, drug paraphernalia, knowing, Gi
under circumstances where one reasonably should know, that it will be
used to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, com-
pound, convenrt, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, repack, store,
contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into tha
human body a controlled substance in violation of this division. [H.&'3.C.
11364.7(a)]




(b) * * * Except as authorized by law, any person who manufac-
tures with intent to deliver, furnish, or transfer drug paraphenalia
knowing, or under circumstances where one reasonably should
know, that it will be used to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow,
harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process,
prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack store, contain, conceal,
inject, ingest, inhale, or otherwise inuv.uce into the human body
cocaine, cocaine base, heroin, phencyclidine, or methamphet-
amine in violation of this division shall be punished by imprison-
ment in a county jail for not more than one year, or in the state
prison. H.&S.C. 1367.7(b)

(c) * * * Except as authorized by law, any person, 18 years of age
or over, who violates subdivision (a) by delivering, furnishing, or
transferring drug paraphenalia to a person under 18 years of age
who is at least three years his or her junior, or who, upon the
grounds of a public or private hypodermic needle, as defined in
paragraph (7) of subdivision (a) of Section 11014.5, with the
intent to deliver, furnish, or transfer the hypodermic needle,
knowing, or under circumstances where one reasonably should
know, that it will be used by a person under 18 years of age to
inject into the human body a controiled substance, is guilty of a
misdemeanocr and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county
jail for not more than one year, by a fine of not more than one
thousand dollars ($1,000), orby both * * * that imprisonment

and fine. H.&S.C. 11364.7(c)

Unless authorized by law, no person under the age of 18 years shall
enter, be in, remain in or visit any room or enclosure in any place of
business in which drug paraphernalia is kept, displayed or offered in any
manner, sold, furnished, transferred or given away unless accompanied
by one of his or her parents or by his or her legal guardian. H.&S.C.

11364.5(c)

PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITIES

Any person who, under circumstances or conditions likely to produce
great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to suffer,
or inflicts thereon “1njustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or

having the care or custody of any child, willfully causes or permits the
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person or health of that child to be injured, or willfully causes or permits
that child to be placed in such a situation that its person or health is
endangered, is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceed-
ing one year, or in the state prison for 2, 4, or 6 years. P.C. 273a. (1)

Every person who commits any act or omits the performance of any duty,
which act or omission causes or {ends to cause or encourage any person
under the age of 18 years to come within the provisions of Sections 300,
601, or 602 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or which act or omis-
sion contributes thereto, or any person who, by any act or omission, or
by threats, commands, or persuasion, induces or endeavors to induce
any person under the age of 18 years or any ward or dependent child of
the juvenile court to fail or refuse to conform to a lawfui order of the
juvenile court, or to do or to perform any act or to follow any course of
conduct or to so live as would cause or manifestly tend to cause any
such person to become or to remain a person within the provisions of
Sections 300, 601, or 602 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, is guilty
of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a
fine not exceeding two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or by
imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, or by both such
fine and imprisonment in a county jail, or may be released on probation
for a period not exceeding five years. For purpose of this section, a
parent or legal guardian to any person under the age of 18 years shall
have the duty to exercise reasonable care, supervision, protection, and
control over their minor. P.C. 272

If a parent of a minor child willfully omits, without lawful excuse, to furnish
necessary clothing, food, shelter, or medical attendance, or other reme-
dial care for his or her child, he or she is guilty of a misdemeanor punish-
able by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by impris-
onment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by both such fine and
imprisonment. If a court of competent jurisdiction has made a final
adjudication in either a civi! or a criminal action that a person is the
parent of a minor child and the person has notice of such adjudication
and he or she then willfully omits, without lawfu! excuse, to furnish
necessary clothing, food, shelter, medical attendance or other remedial
care for his or her child, this conduct is punishable by imprisonment in a
county jail not exceeding one year or in a state prison for a determinate
term of one year and one day, or by a fine not exceeding two thousand
dollars ($2,000), or by both such fine and imprisonment. This statute
shall not be construed so as to relieve such parent from the criminal
liability defined herein for such omission merely because the other parent




of such child is legally entitied to the custody of such child nor because
the other parent of such child or any other person of organization volun-
tarily or involuntarily furnishes such necessary food, clothing, shelter or

medical attendance or other remedial care for such child or undertakes to -

do so.... The provisions of this section are applicable whether the
parents of such child are or were ever married or divorced, and regard-
less of any decree made in any divorce action relative to alimony or to
the support of the child. [P.C. 270]

GROUNDS FOR SUSPENSION AND EXPULSION
FROM SCHOOL

A pupil shall not be suspended from school or recommended for expul-
sion unless the superintendent or the principal of the school in which the
pupil is enrolled determines that the pupil has:

Unlawtully possessed, used, sold, or otherwise furnished, or been
under the influence of any controlled substance, an alcoholic
beverage, or an intoxicant of any kind. E.C. 48900(c)

Unlawfully offered, arranged, or negotiated to sell any ce:ntrolled
substance, an alcoholic beverage, or an intoxicant of any kind, and
then either sold, delivered, or otherwise furnished to any person
another liquid, substance, or material and represented the liquid,
substance, or material as a controlled substance, alcoholic bever-
age, or intoxicant. E.C. 48900(d)

Possessed or used tobacco, or any products containing tobacco or
nicotine products, including, but not limited to, cigarettes, cigars,
miniature cigars, clove cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, snuff, chew
packets, and betel. However, this section does not prohibit use or
possession by a pupil of his or her own prescription products. E.C.
48900(h)

Had unlawful possession of, or unlawfully offered, arranged, or
negotiated to sell any drug paraphernalia. [E.C. 48900(j)]




ISSUES OF CONFIDENTIALITY AND REPORTING

Counseling: E.C. 49602

Any information of a personal nature disclosed by a pupil 12 years of age
or older in the process of receiving counseling from a school counselor
as specified in Section 49600 is confidential. Any information of a
personal nature disclosed to a school counselor by a parent or guardian
of a pupil who is 12 years of age or older and who is in the process of
receiving counseling from a school counselor as specified in Section
49600 is confidential. The information shall not become part of the pupil
record, as defined in subdivision (b) of Section 49061, without the written
consent of the person who disclosed the confidential information. The
information shall not be revealed, released, discussed, or referred to,
except as follows:

Discussion with psychotherapist as defined by Section 1010 of the
Evidence Ccde, other health care providers, or the school nurse, for
the sole purpose of referring the pupil for treatment. E.C. 49602(a)

Reporting of child abuse or neglect as required by Article 2.5
(commencing with Section 11165) of Chapter 2 of Title 1 of Part 4 of -
the Penal Code. E.C. 49602(b)

Reporting information to the principal or parents of the pupil when a
school counselor has reasonable cause to befieve that disclosure is
necessary to avert a clear and present danger to the health, safety,
or welfare of the pupil or the following other persons living in the
school ccmmunity: administrators, teachers, school staff, parents,
pupils, and other school community members. E.C. 49602(c)

Reporting information 1o the principal, other persons inside the
school, as necessary, the parents of the pupil, and other persons
outside the school when the pupil indicates that a crime, involving
the likelihood of personal injury or significant or substantial property
losses, will be or has been committed. E.C. 49602(d)

Reporting information 1o one or more persons specified in a written
waiver after this written waiver of confidence is read and signed by
the pupil and preserved in the pupil's file. E.C. 49602(e)



Notwithstanding the provisions of the section, a school counselor shall
not disclose information deemed to be confidentiai pursuant to this
section to the parents of the pupil when the school counselor has reason-
able cause to believe that the disclosure would result in a clear and
present danger to the health, safety, or welfare of the pupil.

Notwithstanding the provisions of the section, a schoot counselor shall
disclose information deemed to be confidential pursuant to this section to
law enforcement agencies when ordered to do so by order of a court of
law, to aid in the investigation of a crime, or when ordered to testify in
any administrative or judicial proceeding.

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to limit access to pupil records as
provided in Section 49076.

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to limit the counselor from
conferring with other school staff, as appropriate, regarding modification
of the pupil's academic program.

it is the intent of the Legislature that counselors use the privilege of
confidentiality under this section to assist the pupil whenever possible to
communicate more effectively with parents, school staff, and others.

No person required by this section to keep information discussed during
counseling confidential shall incur any civil or criminal liability as a result
of keeping that information confidential.

As used in this section, “information of a personal nature” does not
include routine objective information related to academic and career
counseling.

Alcohol and Other Drugs

Any principal or person designated by the principal who, in his or her
professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment, has
knowledge of or cbserves a student whom he or she knows, or reason-
ably suspects as evidenced by the student’s apparent intoxication, has
consumed an alcoholic beverage or abused a controlled substance, may
report the known or suspected instance of alcohol or controlled sub-
stance abuse to the parent or parents, or other person having legal
custody, of the student. E.C. 44049(a)




No prinicipal or his or her designee who reports a known or suspected
instance of alcohot or controlled substance abuse by a student to the
parent or parents, or other person having legal custody, of the student
shall be civilly or criminally liable, for any report or as a result of any
report, unless it can be proven that a false report was made and the
principal or his or her designee knew that the report was false or was
made with reckless disregard for the truth or falsity of the report. Any
principal or his or her designee who makes a report known to be false or
with reckless disregard of the truth or falsity of the report is liable for any
damages caused. E.C. 44049(b)

Consent for Counseling or Medical Care for Drug or Alcohol Treat-
ment Related to Drugs: [F.C. 6929]

A minor twelve years of age or older may give consent to the furnishing
of medical care and counseling relating to the diagnosis and treatment of
a drug or alcohol-related problem. Such consent shall not be subject to
denial because of minority.

The consent of the parents or legal guardian of a minor shall not be
necessary to authorize hospital care, medical care, or counseling related
to drug or alcohol-related problems and, except as otherwise provided,

the parent or legal guardian of the minor shall not be liable for payment
for any such care rendered to a minor.

The treatment plan of a minor authorized by this section shall include the
involvement of the minor's parents or legal guardian, if appropriate, as
determined by the professional person or treatment facility treating the
minor. The professional person rendering medical treatment or counsel-
ing to a minor shall state in the minor's treatment record whether and
when he or she attempted to contact the parents or legal guardian of the
minor, and whether such atternpt to contact the parents or legal guardian
of the minor was succassful or unsuccessful; or the reason why, in his or
her opinion, it would not be appropriate to contact the parents or legal
guardian ot the minor. If the minor's parents or legai guardian partici-
pates in a counseling program, such parents or legal guardian shalt be
liable for the cost of such services provided to the minor and the parents
or legal guardian.




ANABOLIC STERODIDS

Providing to Athletes

Any coach, trainer, or other person acting in an official or nonofficial
capacity as an adult supervisor for an athletic team consisting of minors
under the age of 18 who sells, gives, or otherwise furnishes to any
member of that team a diuretic, diet pill, or laxative with the intent that it
be consumed, injected, or administered for any nonmedical purpose
such as loss of weight or altering the body in any way related to partici-
pation on the team or league, is guilty of a misdemeanor. [P.C. 31 0.2(a)]

Possession

Every person who possesses any controlied substance which is not &
narcotic drug or prescribed by a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veteri-
narian, licensed to practice in this state, shall be punished by imprison-
ment in a county jail for a period of not more than one year or in the state
prison. Any person who violates this law by unlawfully possessing a
controfled substance and who has not previously been convicted of such
a violation involving a controlied substance is guilty of a misdemeanor.
H.&S.C. [11377(a)(b)]

Every person who possesses for sale any cohtrolled substance which is
not a narcotic drug, shail be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison. [H.&S.C. 11378]

Every person who transports, imports into this state, sells, furnishes,
administers, or gives away, or offers to transport, import into this state,
sell, furnish, administer, or give away, or attempts to import into this state
or transport any controlled substance which is not a narcotic drug or
prescribed by a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian licensed to
practice in this state, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a period of two, three, or four years. [H.&S.C. 11379]

Any person who distributes or possesses with the intent to distribute any
anabolic steroid for any use in humans other than the treatment of
disease pursuant to the order of a physician shall be imprisoned for not
more than three years or fined under title 18, U.S.C. or both. Any person
who distributes or possesses with the intent to distribute to an individual
under 18 years of age, any anabolic steroid for any use in humans other
than the treatment of disease pursuant to the order of a physician shall
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be imprisoned for not more than six years or fined under title 18, U.S.C.,
or both. 21 U.S.C. 333 section 2403

MISCELLANEOUS
Presence Where Drugs Are Being Used

ftis unlawiul to visit or to be in any room or place where any controlled
substances, or which narcotic drugs, are being unlawfully smoked or
used with knowledge that such activity is occurring. [H.&S.C. 11365]

Disorderly Conduct

Every person who commits the following act is guilty of disorderly con-
duct, a misdemeanor:

Who is found in any public place under the influence of intoxicating
liquor, any drug, controlled substance, toluene, or any combination
of any intoxicating liquor, drug, controlled substance, or toluene, in
such a condition that he or she is unable to exercise care for his or
her own safety or the safety of others, or by reason of his or her
being under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, controlied
substance, toluene, or any combination of any intoxicating liquor,
drug, or toluene, interferes with or obstructs or prevents the free use
of any street, sidewalk, or other public way. P.C. 647(f)

Imitations

Any person who knowingly manufactures, distributes, or possesses with
intent to distribute, an imitation controlied substance is guilty of a misde-
meanor and shall, if convicted, be subject to imprisonment for not more
than six months in a county jail or a fine of not more than one thousand
dollars ($1,000), or both such imprisonment and fine. H.&S.C. 11680

Possession Of Drugs Without A Prescription

No person shall have in possession any controlled substance, except
that furnished to such person upon the prescription of a physician,
dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian. B.&P.C. [4230]




Anabolic steriods:

Avoirdupois:

Betel:

Buty! nitrite:

Cannabis:

Controlled Substance:

Felony:

Infraction:

Misdemeanor:

Opium:

GLOSSARY

Any material, compound, mixture, or prepa-
ration containing an anabolic steroid, includ-
ing, but not limited to Methandrostenolone,
Stanoszoiol, Ethylestrenol, Nandrolone
phenpropionate, Nandrolone deconoate,
Testosterone propionate, or Chorionic

~ gonadotroprin.

A system of weights in Britain and the United
States based on si; *een ounces per pound.

The seed of a tall palm(Areca catechu)
chewed with dried betel leaves and lme as a
stimulant. Sometimes referred to as betel
nuis.

Includes n-butyl nitrite, isobutyl nitrite,
secondary butyl nitrite, tertiary buty! nitrite,
and mixtures conlaining these chemicals.

(Cannabis sativa) The marijuana, or hemp
plant, the active ingredient of which is deita-
S-tetrahydrocannabinof.

A term coined for the 1970 federal law that
revised previous laws regulating narcotics
and dangerous drugs. Heroine and cocaine
are examples of controlled substances.

A crime which is punishable by death or
imprisonment in a state prison.

Something that is not punishable by impris-
onment.

Any crime which is punishable by a fine or
imprisonment in a county jail.

A habit-forming narcotic prepared from the
bitter thickened juice of an opium poppy.
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Peyote: (Genus Lophophorra) A hailucinogenic drug
obtained from a spineless cactus.

Toluene: The active ingredient found in various glue
products.
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