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CHAPTER 1
THOSE ENTITLED TO ATTEND SCHOOL

Article IX of the Constitution of North Carolina provides for a general and uniform system of free public

schools to be provided throughout the state, wherein equal opportunities shall be provided for all
students.

. TUNION AND AGE

All children of the State, ages five through 18, as provided in the law are entitled to attend the public
schools. Tuition is to be free of charge to all children of the state, and to every person of the state less
than 21 years old who has not completed a standard high school course of study. (G.S. 115C-1) This age
provision is modified in the case of children moving into the state to make it their legal residence after
having entered school for their first year in the state from which they have moved. (G.S. 115C-364)

Notwithstanding the provisions of any other statute and without regard for the place of domicile of a
parent or guardian, the cost of a free appropriate public education for a child with special needs who
is placed in or assigned to a group home, foster home, or other similar facility, pursuant to state and
federal law, is to be borne by the local board of education in which the group home, foster home, or
similar facility is located. (G.S. 115C-140.1)

. THOSE ENTITLED TO ATTEND SCHOOL

Unless otherwise assigned by the local board of education, the following students are entitled to attend
the school in the district or attendance area in which they are domiciled:

A. All students who have passed the fifth anniversary of their birth on or before October 16 of the
year in which they are presented for enroliment; (G.S. 115C-364)

B. All persons of the district or attendance area who have not completed the prescribed course for
graduation in the high school; (G.S. 115C-366)

C. All students whose parents have recently moved into the local education agency (LEA) for the
purpose of making their legal domicile in the same LEA; (G.S. 115C-366)

D. Any student living with either father, mother, guardian, or spouse who has made his/her
permanent home within the LEA; (G.S. 115C-366)

E. At the principal's or superintendent's discretion, students who are 21 years of age or older before
the beginning of the school year in which they wish to enroll. (G.S. 115C-366)
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F. Students living in and cared for and supported by an institution established or incorporated for
the purpose of rearing and caring for orphan children are considered legal residents of the LEA
in which the institution is located; (G.S. 115C-365) and

G. Every deaf child and every blind child between the ages of six and 18 years of sound mind in
North Carolina who are qualified for admission into a state school for the deaf or the blind. (In
the case of a blind child, such child may attend a public school for a term of not less than nine
months each year) (G.S. 115C-383)
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CHAPTER 2

RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
GOVERNING COMPULSORY SCHOOL ATIENDANCE
AND STUDENT ACCOUNTING

I. COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE AGES

In accordance with G.S. 115C-378, every parent, guardian or other person in North Carolina having charge
or control of a student between the ages of seven and 16 years shall cause such student to attend school
continuously for a period equal to the time which the public school to which the student is assigned is
in session. Every parent, guardian or other person in North Carolina having charge or control of a child under age seven
who is enrolled in a public school in grades Kindergarten through two shall also cause such child to attend school
continuously for a period equal to the time which the public school to which the child is assigned shall be in session unless
the child has withdrawn from school. No person shall encourage, entice, or counsel any such student to be
unlawfully absent from school. The term "school" is defined to embrace all public schools and such non-
public schools as have teachers and curricula that are approved by the State Board of Education.

ll. ASSIGNMENT AND ENROLLMENT

Each local board of education is authorized and directed to provide for the assignment to a public school
of each child residing within the local education agency (LEA) who is qualified under the laws of North
Carolina for admission to a public school. (G.S. 115C-366)

ill. REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTRANCE

A A chiid, to be entitled to initial entry in the public schools, must have passed the fifth
anniversary of his/her birth on or before October 16 of the year in which the child is presented

for enrollment, and must be presented for enroliment during the first month of the school year.
(G.S. 115C-364})

B. No child may attend a school (K-12), whether public, private, or religious, or a day-care facility
as defined in G.S. 110-86(3), unless a certificate of immunization indicating that the child has

received the immunizations required by G.S. 130A-152, is presented to the school or facility.
(G.S. 130A-155)

C. No child (except hospital/homebound. staggered Kindergarten, Teacher-in-Treatment or Medically
Fragile) may be enrolled in school unless they are present at school on that day.

NOTE: The SIMS SCHOOL SYSTEM enrolls all students who completed the prior school year
as an E1 on the first day of each new school year. Teachers must count those students
absent beginning on Day 01 and on all of the first ten school days or until the student
shows up. The No Show Process will then delete the student from enrollment. If the

student shows up during the first ten school days, his entry should be moved to his first
day of attendance.
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IV. ATTIENDANCE

A. In order to be considered in attendance, a student (except for hospital/homebound} must be

. present in the school for the school day or at a place other than the school with the approval
of the appropriate school official for the purpose of attending an authorized school activity. Such
activities may include field trips, athletic contests, student conventions, musical festivals or any
similar approved activity.

B. Except as noted in IV.A, above, a student must be present at least one-half of the school
instructional day in order to be recorded present for that day.

C. Hospital/Homebound:

If a student is confined at home or in a hospital, is unable to attend school, and is receiving
homebound instruction from his home school/LEA, he/she is to be considered Hospital/Homebound.
On the days hospital/homebound services are delivered, the child should be counted PRESENT
at school. (Supporting documentation should be maintained at the school.)

D. Lawful Absences:

The superintendent, principal, or teacher who is in charge of a school has the right to excuse a
student temporarily from attendance on account of sickness or other unavoidable cause. (Below
are the valid/lawful excuses for temporary nonattendance of a student at school.)

1. Himess or Imjyry. When the absence results from illness or injury which prevents the
student from being physically able to attend school.

2. Quargntine. When isolation of the student is ordered by the local health officer or by the
State Board of Health.

3. Death in the immediagte Family. When the absence results from the death of a member of
the immediate family of the student. For the purpose of this regulation, the immediate

family of a student includes, but is not necessarily limited to, grandparents, parents,
brothers and sisters.

4, Medical or Dental Appointments. When the absence results from a medical or dental
appointment of a student.

5. Court or Adminjstrative Procgedings. When the absence results from the attendance of a

student at the proceedings of a court or an administrative tribunal if the student is a
party to the action or under subpoena as a witness.

6. Religious Observance. If the tenets of a religion to which a student or his/her parent
adhere, require, or suggest observance of a religious event. The approval of such
absences is within the discretion of the local board of education, but approval should
be granted unless the religious observance, or the cumulative effect of religious
observances, is of such duration as to interfere with the education of tha studen:

10
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7. Educgtiongl Opportunity. When it is demonstrated that the purpose of the absence is to
take advantage of a valid education opportunity, such as travel. Approval for such an
absence must be granted prior to the absence. (16 NCAC 2D.0404)

Medically Fragile:

Students who are medically fragile are frequently absent from school. Their absences are directly
related to their severe or life threatening physical conc'ition. Medically fragile students are
identified as follows:

Those students who qualify for special education in one of the existing
categories of handicapping condition and for whom a licensed medical doctor
has provided documentation that an associated or accompanying chronic illness
is so severe as to affect the student's school attendance. Medically fragile
students are those whose illness frequently place them in life-threatening
situations. In addition, they may be technology-dependent for life support
systems, i.e. tracheostomy, gastrostomy, etc.

There may be rare instances when a child does not qualify for special education as defined in
the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). However, the child would unquestionably
meet the definition of handicapped under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and thus
would be eligible for consideration as a medically fragile student.

The absence of medically fragile students should be coded 1H.

NOTE: Medically fragile absences are not included by the Department of Public Instruction in
the calculation of a school's attendance rate.

Staggered Kindergarten

Staggered enroliment of children is an instructionally valid strategy for facilitating a smooth entry
of Kindergartners into the public schools. In order to allow staggered enrollment programs to

operate without adversely affecting a school's ADM or attendance rate. the following procedure
is to be used.

1. Enroll (E1) all participating Kindergartners on Day 01.
2. Code absences incurred as a result of the program as 1H.
3. Submit the Principal's Menthly Report (PMR) in the usual manner.

NOTE: Staggered Kindergarten absences are rot included by the Department of Public
Instruction in the calculation of a school's attendance rate.

Teacher-in-Treatment Program

Students who are participating in the Teacher-in-Treatment Program should remain in
membership in their home school. Their days of participation should be posted as absences and
coded 1H.
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H. Unlawful Absences:

For students between the ages of seven and 16 and all other students who are entitled to attend
public school and who have enrolled in a public school, unlawful absence is defined as:

1. A student's willful absence from school with or without the knowledge of the parent; or

2, A student's absence from school for any reason other than those listed in Chapter 2,
Section IV.C under "Lawful Absences.”

NOTE: Parents who refuse to comply with the health regulations of a community, such as
compulsory vaccination, thereby causing a student to be excluded from the school, or
parents who permit a student to stay at home or to be employed in any way contrary to
the Child Welfare Law (Chapter 110 of the General Statutes), are responsible for the
nonattendance of the student.

G. Suspensions and Expulsions:

1. The principal of a school has the authority to suspend for a period of ten days or less
any student who wilifully violates policies of conduct established by the local board of
education, provided that a student suspended is provided an opportunity to take any

quarterly, semester or grading period examinations missed during the suspension period.
(G.S. 115C-391)

2. The principal of a =chool, with prior approval of the superintendent, has the authority to
suspend for periods of time in excess of ten days, but not exceeding the time remaining
in the school year, any student who willfully violates the policies of conduct established
by the local board of education. {(G.S. 115C-391)

3. A local board of education may, upon recommendation of the principal and
superintendent, expel any student 14 years of age or older who has been convicted of
a felony and where his/her continued presence in the school constitutes a clear threat
to the safety and heaith of other students or employees. (G.S. 115C-391)

4, in the event that a child with special needs exhibits behavior which, if the child were not
a child with special needs, could result in the suspension or expuision of the child from
school for a period of more than ten days or for consecutive periods that total more than
ten days, the LEA shall require a multidisciplinary team to promptly review the
evaluation already completed for the child and conduct any additional evaluations
necessary to deternine if the behavior is caused by the child’s special needs. Such
evaluations must include determining (1) whether the child is presently receiving
appropriate education. and (2) whether medication is needed or present medication is
appropriate. If the evaluation establishes no such relationship between the behavior and

the special needs, the LEA may initiate its normal disciplinary procedures.
(G.S. 115C-112)

Student Accounting - Page 24
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A student must be recorded present in school when participating in any disciplinary
techniques grouped under the term "in-school suspension.”

The principal may reinstate a student before the suspension period enc. .i it is evident
that the student may be helped by this action.

When a student is expelled while under suspension, his withdrawal (W2) should be
posted on the day the expulsion takes effect. The absences (Code 3} incurred during the
suspension remain on the student’s record.

Absences caused by out-of-school suspension are to be considered neither lawful or

unlawful. Consequently, they are not a factor in the administration of the Ten Day Rule
(below).

H. Ten Day Rule:

The State Board of Education Ten Day Rule states that when a student accumulates more than
ten consecutive days of unlawful absences, hesshe is to be withdrawn from funded membership as
of the first day following his/her last day in attendance. The SIMS SCHOOL SYSTEM software
automatically handles the administration of the Ten Day Rule. The software functions as follows:

1.

On the eleventh consecutive day of unlawful absence, the student in violation of the Rule
will no longer be counted in the calculation of ADM as of the first day of absence.
However, he/she will continue in membership and will be counted as absent from school.

If and when the student returns to school, he/she is simply to be counted present for the
days of attendance. Beginning on the first day of attendance, the student will once again
be counted in the calculation of the school's ADM.

If and when it is determined that the student has withdrawn from school, the withdrawal
is to be posted on the first day after the student’s last day in attendance.

If the student is in violation of the Ten Day Rule on the last day of the school year, the
SIMS software requires that, before submission of the Month 09 PMR, action must be
taken to withdraw the student from membership on the first day after his/her last day
in attendance.

V. RULES OF PROCEDURE IN LAW ENFORCEMENT

The Compulsory Attendance Law (G.S. 115C-378) states that every parent, guardian. or other person in
North Carolina having charge or control of a child between the ages of seven and 16 years of age shall
cause that child to attend school continuously for a period equal to the time which the public school
to which the child is assigned is in session. It prohibits any person from encouraging. enticing, or
counseling the child to be unlawfully absent from school. The parent, guardian, or custodian of the child

is required to notify the school of the reason for each known absence of the child, in accordance with
local school policy.

33 Student Accounting - Page 2:5
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Each LEA must enforce the state laws and regulations which relate to compulsory attendance. LEAs may
adopt rules which allow teachers to consider a student's absences in the computation of the student's

grades. (16 NCAC 6E.0103) School personnel have additional legal responsibilities for student
attendance. They are listed below.

A. Duties of the Teacher:

The teacher is essential in the enforcement of the Compulsory Attendance Law. It is his/her
duty:

1. To inform students and parents of the value and importance of regular school attendance
through:

a. Classroom activities,

b. Programs and announcements at pareni-teacher association and teachers’
meetings, and

C The development of public sentiment in the community for regular school
attendance;

2. To ascertain the cause of nonattendance and thus determine when an absence is lawful
or unlawful (G.S. 115C-379); (The practice of requiring written excuses is recommended
as a means of obtaining information as to the cause of absences. However, when a
teacher obtains knowledge through another means that the cause of an absence is lawful
and a written excuse is not provided, such absences should be reported as lawful.)

3. To implement the Ten Day Rule; (See Section IV.H., above.)

4. To maintain accurate student accounting records:; (Attendance records shall be kept for
180 school days.) and

5. To maintain the same student records for extended school day programs as those in
regular school in addition to those required in Chapter 3 of this publication which relate
to extended day student accounting records. (G.S. 115C-307[f}{g}: G.S. 115C-308)

B. Duties of the Social Worker:

1. The primary responsibility of the social worker is to ensure the regular attendance of all
students. The social worker shall, as prescribed by the law, investigate all violators of
the Compulsory Attendance Law. (G.S. 115C-381)

2. The social worker must:

a. Investigate all violators of the Compulisory Attendance Law reported to him/her
by the principal,
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b. Work with the student and his/her family to analyze the causes of the absences
and determine steps, including adjustments of the school program and obtaining
supplemental services, to eliminate the problem; and

C. Have authority to report and verify on oath, the necessary criminal warrants or
other documents for the prosecution of violations of the Compulsory Attendance
Law.

Duties of the Principal:

The principal, as executive officer of the school, has the following responsibilities for the
enforcement of the Compulsory Attendance Law and the provisions of the North Carolina
Administrative Code as approved by the State Board of Education:

1.

He/she must, insofar as it relates to his/her activities, utilize the means outlined above
in Section V.A.1 under "Duties of the Teacher” to inform students, parents, and teachers
as to their respective duties in regard to school attendance. He/she must also perform
his/her duties as specified above in Section V.A.2 under "Duties of the Teacher.”

He/she must provide such prescribed forms for use by himselffherself and the teachers
working under his/her supervision. These forms should be secured from the local
superintendent.

The principal or his/her designee must notify the parent, guardian, or custodian of
his/her child's excessive absences after the child has accumulated three unlawful
absences in a school year. After not more than six unlawful absences, the principal must
notify the parent, guardian, or custodian by mail that he may be in violation of the
Compulsory Attendance Law and may be prosecuted if the absences cannot be justified
under the established attendance policies of the state and local boards of education.

After ten accumulated unlawful absences in a school year, the principal must review any
report or investigation prepared under G.S. 115C-381 and must confer with the student
and his/her parent, guardian, or custodian, if possible, to determine whether the parent,
guardian, or custodian has received notification and made a good faith effart to comply
with the law. Depending on the circumstances, the principal must then notify the district
attorney or file a complaint with the juvenile intake counselor. (G.S. 115C-378)

In case a student or parent is reported to the court having jurisdiction for failure of the
student to attend school and the principal is called as a witness, it shall be the
principal's duty to appear when so called at the time and place specified, and have with
himvher the teacher's report of unlawful absence. The teacher may also be called as a
witness.

He/she must see that students are withdrawn (following a code 1 or 2 absence) on the
day following their last day in attendance.
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6. He/she must report, in writing, all cases of suspension or expulsion to the social worker
and to the local superintendent.

7. A request by a parent for reinstatement of a student from suspension or expulsion is to
be made to the principal. If the case is one that has not been reported to the court, and
the principal decides reinstatement should be made, he/she shall report reinstatement
to the social worker. If, on the other hand, the case has been reported to the court for
a decision, the principal or social worker must refer the request for reinstatement to the
court. The court should report its decision to the principal and social worker.
(G.S. 115C-288)

D. Duties of the Superintendent:

The superintendent of the LEA is responsible for creating and encouraging public sentiment
favorable to regular school attendance and to the enforcement of the Compulsory Attendance
Law and the provisions of the North Carolina Administrative Code as approved by the State
Board of Education.

1. He/she must endeavor to obtain cooperation among all concemned - students, parents,
teachers, principals, social workers, and court officials - in the administration of the
Compuisory Attendance Law.

2. Through teachers’ meetings, parent-teacher association meetings, newspapers, periodical
releases and other media, he/she must keep the public informed about the value,
importance, and necessity of regular school attendance. He/she must advise principals
and teachers as to their duties and responsibilities in respect to the enforcement of the
law.

3. He/she must arrange with the social worker for meetings with teachers and principals for
discussions concemning school attendance and the enforcement of the Compuisory
Attendance Law.

4. He/she must provide such forms and materials as are necessary for the administration
of the Compulsory Attendance Law and of the rules and regulations of the State Board
of Education, and distribute these materials to the school principals. (G.S. 115C-276)

E. Penalty for Law Violation:

Any parent, guardian or other person violating the provisions of the Compulsory Attendance Law
is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, shall be fined not more than $50 or imprisoned
not more than 30 days, or both, at the discretion of the court. (G.S. 115C-380)
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VI. ATTENDANCE POLICIES

North Carolina G.S, 115C-84(c) requires that LEAs establish a 180-day school year calendar with days
included to be used to make up days missed due to inclement weather or other emergencies. However,
no other attendance policy (relating to minimum days of attendance, etc.) has been established in State
Board of Education policy or state law. Attendance policies are established or authorized by the local
board of education in each LEA.

Vil. AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP

A Enroliment is an increasing number which cannot be decreased (except through the NoShow
Process)after it is reported. Once enrolled, students will remain in membership until they have
withdrawn. Membership is obtained by subtracting withdrawals from enroliment.

B. Average daily membership (ADM) for each school month is based on the sum of the number of
days in membership for all non-violating students in individual LEAs, divided by the number of
days in the school month. Initial allotments are made based on the higher of the total prior year
best consecutive three of the first four months ADM or the total projected best consecutive three
of the first four months ADM.

C. Where classes are offered less than five days a week, all students shall be included in all
enroliment figures for a 20 day month. However, a student shall be counted in membership only
those days on which classes are offered. (Example: Classes offered four days a week, in a
regular school month of 20 days, would be only 16 days of classes, thus each student would only
be counted 16/20 of a month in ADM.)

D. Students who are enrolled for only a fractional part of the school month, by days, will receive
only a fractional part of the membership. (Example: A student enrolled three days a week would
be shown in membership only 12 days per school month; the Principal's Monthly Report would
show corresponding membership, sum of pupils in membership, etc.)

E. In situations where leaming labs are utilized, the same procedure as in Item VIL.C above, shall
be followed, regardless of length of time per day spent in learning labs. (Example: A student
who attends learning lab two days per week for six hours would be counted in ADM based only
on the two days per week. The ADM would be 8/20 of a month.)

F. Students who participate part time in supervised work programs will be counted in membership
only during that portion of their work schedule that they are under the supervision of and in an
approved program of the Division of Vocational Education Services in the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction. (One hour related for each three hours on the job.)
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Vill. AVERAGE DAILY ATTENDANCE

Average daily attendance (ADA) is based on the sum of the number of days in attendance for all students
divided by the number of days in the school month. No state allotments are based on ADA.

IX. ADM CREDIT FOR PARTIAL OR COMPLETE CLOSING
OF MILITARY, FEDERAL OR PRIVATE SCHOOLS

ADM credit may be granted to an LEA for students who have not been in projected ADM figures due to
partial or complete closings of schools as follows:

A. Requests for credit must include the following:

I.

The name of the closed school, grade span, and the date it closed;

2. The specific grade levels discontinued in partially closed schools;
3. A roster of the affected students, by name and grade level, that have actuallv enrolled
in the LEA; and
4, A signed certification by the local superintendent stating that the above enroliment has
taken place.
B. Adjustments may also be made for groups of students entering an LEA's ADM for the first time

that are attributable to military or economic factors considered to be beyond normal expansion
of the LEA. Students in this category shall be certified to be enrolled by the superintendent, and
shall be identified by name, grade level and parent occupation.

C. The number of students transferring into the LEA shall be added as follows:

1.

If a request for change in ADM due to the transfer is received by Student information
Management prior to the issuance of the planning allotments (March of each year), the
number of students shall be added to projected ADM and may affect the planning
aliotment depending on the relative sizes of projections and prior best three of the first
four months.

If the request for change in ADM due to the transfer is received by Student Information
Management after the issuance of the planning allotments and no later than June 15, the
number of students shall be added to the projected ADM and may affect the initial
allotment depending on the relative sizes of projected ADM.

If the request for change in ADM due to the transfer is received after the issuance of the
initial allotment and prior to the tenth day of school, no adjustment shall be made, as
the increase will be reflected in the Tenth Day Principal's Report. Adjustments in the
tenth day membership shall be made only if the tenth day membership shows an
increase over the ADM used for the basis of the initial allotment. (Allotments based on
the tenth day membership calculations shall be retroactive to the first day of the school
year.)

Student Accounting - Page 2:10 i8




. Updated August 1992

4, Upon determination of the validity and accuracy of the above transfer(s). Student
Information Management will certify and report the changes in ADM to the Information
Center which will, in tumn, recalculate projected ADM figures for the affected LEA and
forward the revised data to the School Budgets Section for possible allotment
adjustments.

5. Any ADM credit considered above will be granted within funds available.
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CHAPTER 3

STUDENT ACCOUNTING FOR EXTENDED SCHOOL DAY PROGRAMS
AND HOSPITAL SCHOOLS

I. EXTENDED SCHOOL DAY PROGRAMS

The following regulations shall be observed in the keeping of records for extended school day programs.

A. Students attending extended school day programs during summer months shall not be included
in statistics of the regular school year.

B. Students who are attending the extended school day program and are enrolled in a regular
school program shall be counted in average daily membership (ADM) only in the program where
they spend the major portion of their time. (Students may be counted only once.)

C. Students shall be enrolled and included in student statistics reports in the school where they
are in attendance. If the extended school day program is a separate school, a school number
shall be assigned by the State Department of Public Instruction, Information Center, and separate
reports shall be filed monthly. Teachers shall indicate on the Teacher's Monthly Report that this
is an extended school day program.

. D. Students in extended school day programs shall be included on the appropriate Principal's
Monthly Report for extended school day programs at the school where classes are conducted and
the ADM of these students is to be included in the calculation of the teacher allotment for local
education agencies, unless these students are also in membership in the regular school program.

1. Students who attend leamning labs on an unscheduled format are not to be counted in
membership on days they were not scheduled to regular class.

2. Students scheduled to leamning labs on days not scheduled to class are to be counted
in membership on those days in class and those scheduled in leaming labs.

E. ADM for extended school day programs should be calculated as provided in Chapter 2, Part VILI.

Il. HOSPITAL SCHOOLS

Hospital schools throughout the state (examples: UNC Hospitals at Chapel Hill/Duke/Buncombe
Orthopedic) have unique situations which require individual methods of student accounting. Any such

situations must be discussed with and approved by Student Information Management on an individual
basis.
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CHAPTER 4
CLASS SIZE/TEACHER DAILY LOAD MAXIMUMS

Student Information Management is responsible for monitoring local board of education compliance with
class size maximums in accordance with G.S. 115C-301.

I. ADMINISTRATION OF CLASS SIZE

Local boards of education must maintain a local education agency (LEA)-wide class size average
no higher than the funded allotment ratio of teachers to students in each grade span: grades K-9,
1 to 26; and grades 10-12, 1 to 28.5.

During the first two months of school, there is no class size maximum, so long as the LEA-wide
class size average maximums for each grade span are not exceeded.

At the end of the second school month and for the remainder of the school year, the size of an
individual class may exceed the allotment ratio by three students so long as the LEA-wide
average class size maximums for each grade span are not exceeded. Therefore, individua! class
size maximums are:

Grades K-9: 29
. Grades 10-12: 32

When a high school class contains a combination of ninth grade level students with students in
grades 10 through 12, the maximum class size will be determined by the grade level classification
that constitutes the majority in the class.

Example: If the membership of the class is composed of 15 students classified as ninth
graders and 16 students classified as tenth and/or eleventh graders, the
maximum class size would be the maximum allowable for grades 10-12.

Students must be assigned to classes so that from the 15th day of the school year through the
end of the school year, the number of students for whom teachers in grades 7 through 12 are
assigned teaching responsibilities during the course of the day is no more than 150 students.

A teacher's daily load is determined by summing the size of each individual academic class for
which the teacher is assigned teaching responsibility. Each teacher in a team is considered to
be responsible for an equal number of students in the class. regardless of how frequently the
teacher actually teaches.

Only those teachers with a daily contact load of students exclusively in the seventh grade or
above are subject to the daily student load maximum.

if individual class size exceeds 29 students in grades K-9 or 32 students in grades 10-12 at the
end of thie second school month and for the remainder of the school year, or if a teacher's daily
load exceeds 150 students (grades 7-12) after the 15th school day, the local board has the
responsibility to follow the steps set forth in G.S. 115C-301(g) and G.S.115C-47(10).

Student Accounting - Page 4:1

oo
Qo




Updated August 1992

E.

Study halls and homerooms are not counted when calculating average LEA-wide class size

average or teacher daily load. (All other classes are to be included in the calculation of LEA-
wide class size averages.)

Maximum size for physical education classes shall be 50 students as long as the effectiveness
of the instructional program is not impaired. (Health classes are subject to normal maximums.)

The maximum daily load for teachers with five classes of physical education would be 250
students.

Two classes of up to 29 students each may be simuitaneously scheduled for elementary physical
education. The resultant physical education class may have no more than 58 students. When
such a class is organized, a second participating adult must be assigned to help manage it. The
second adult may be a teacher or a teacher assistant.

The above class size and daily load limits do not apply to music performance ensembles (Band,
Chorus, and/or Orchestra).

Class size and daily load maximums apply to all teachers, including those which are state,
federally, and locally funded.

Teachers employed in vocational education, exceptional children, remediation, instructional
support, driver training, etc., should be used to meet class size requirements when the school
is determining its organization and teacher workioad. Their classes are subiect to all class size
and teacher daily load maximums.

Il. INITIAL REPORTING OF CLASS SIZE

Under the provisions of G.S. 115C-301(f) and G.S. 115C-47(10):

A.

Each school year. each local board of education, through the superintendent, shall file a report
for each schoo! within the' LEA with the State Board of Education. Class size and teacher daily
load exceptions will be identified and reported via the SIMS School Activity Report (SAR}. The
SAR will be transmitted at the end of the second and fifth school months.

The State Board will report all allotment adjustments and waivers permitted to the Office of
State Budget and Management and the General Assembly by May 15th of each year.

. ALLOTMENT ADJUSTMENTS OR WAIVERS DUE TO EXCESS CLASS SIZE

Under the provisions of G.S. 115C-301(g) and ! 15C-47(10):

A

Local boards of education are responsible for assuring that the class size and teacher daily load
requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-301 are met. Any teacher who believes that the requirements
of G.S. 115C-301 have not been met shall make a report to the principal and superintendent.
The superintendent shall immediately determine whether the requirements have in fact not been
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met. If the superintendent determines the requirements have not been met, he/she shall make
a report to the next local board of education meeting. The local board of education shall take
action to meet the requirements of the statute.

If the local board cannot organizationally correct the exception and if any of the conditions set
out below are met, it shall immediately apply to the State Board of Education for additional
personnel or waiver from the standards set above.

Within 45 days of receipt of the request, the State Board, within funds available, may aliot
additional positions or grant waivers for the excess class size or daily load:

1. If the exception resulted from:
a. Exceptional circumstances, emergencies, or acts of God {such as students
transferring to a school during the middle of the school year, impractical

combination classes, closing of classrooms due to fire or other natural disaster);

b. Large changes in student population (caused by large military installation or
business personnel transfers);

C Organizational problems caused by remote geographic location; or

d. Classes organized for a solitary curricular area; (An example would be when only
one class of physics is offered and 34 seniors need the class to meet college
entrance requirements.} and

2. If the local board cannot organizationally correct the exception.

Requests should be in the form of a letter from the local superintendent addressed to Student
Information Management, and should include:

1. A statement as to whether a waiver or an allotment adjustment is requested;

2. A description of the cause of the exception(s);

3. A description of the current organization of the school(s) containing the exception(s);
and

4, A description of the proposed organizational changes using additional teacher positions

if an allotment adjustment or a waiver is granted. Waivers, when granted for a specific
incidence, may remain in effect for the remainder of the current school year.

Upon notification from the State Board that the reported exception does not qualify for an
allotment adjustment or a waiver under provisions of G.S. 115C-301, the local board, within 30
days of receipt of the State Board notification, shall take action necessary to correct the
exception. A report of the action taken to alleviate the exception shall be sent to Student
Information Management within 30 days of receipt of State Board notification that the exception
did not qualify for an allotment adjustment or waiver.

NOTE: No adjustments in teacher assistant allotments are available for increases in class size.

L)
3
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IV. PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
If the State Board determines that a local superintendent has willfully tailed to comply with the
requirements of G.S. [15C-301, no state funds shall be allocated to pay the superintendent's salary for
the period of time the superintendent is in noncompliance.

V. SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT (SENATE BILL 2)

Under the provisions of the School Improvement and Accountability Act of 1989 (Senate Bill 2), an LEA
may request a waiver of class size and/or teacher daily load maximums.

A, Whether or not a Senate Bill 2 waiver is granted, LEAs must continue to report all exceptions
to the Department of Public Instruction. LEAs will not be required to obtain a waiver under the
provisions of G.S. 115C-301 for exceptions already waived under Senate Bill 2.

B. Class size and teacher daily load exceptions will be identified and reported via the SAR.

NOTE: When a Senate Bill 2 class size waiver is granted gnd used. a class size allotment adjustment is
no longer possible. However, a waiver applies to a specific case only. Waivers are not in effect

unti! they are used. All allotments are subject to the availability of funds.

NOTE: The Performance-Based Accountability Program will not take effect until the 1993-94 school yezr.
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CHAPTER
INSTRUCTIONS FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN CHILD COUNTS

Child count (headcount) regulations are provided in both federal and state law. The individuals with
Disabilities Act (IDEA), P.L. 101-476 provides child count procedures. The December 1 headcount is used
to generate federal funds for handicapped children ages 3-21 under the Individuals with Disabilities Act,
P.L. 91-230, as amended by P.L. 94-142, P.L. 99-457, and P.L. 101.476. The state headcount (April 1) is
provided for in Chapter 115C, Article § and Senate Bill 23 (1983). Preschool handicapped children are
not included in the April 1 headcount. State funding for these preschool handicapped children is a
formula-based allocation and is not determined by the April 1 headcount.

An exceptional children headcount for an LEA is based on the exact number of students who on the day
of the headcount meet criteria for identification and service established for the respective headcount(s).

Currently three headcounts are performed each school year. They are:

. EHA Title VI-B Handicapped headcount (Including Pre-School)
. ESEA Title ] Handicapped headcount
. State Adjusted headcount

I. DEFINITIONS OF SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES

A. Special Education:

Specially designed instruction, at no cost to the parent, to meet the unique needs of a
handicapped child and including: classroom instruction, instruction in physical education, home
instruction, and instruction in hospitals and institutions. The term includes speech pathology
and vocational education, if it consists of specially designed instruction, at no cost to the
parents, to meet the unique needs of a handicapped child.

B. Related Services:

Transportation and such developmental, corrective, and other supportive services as are required
to assist a child with special needs to benefit from special education. Related services include
speech pathology and audiology, psychological services, physical and occupational therapy
recreation, early identification and assessment of disabilities in children, counseling services, and
medical services for diagnostic or evaluation purposes. The term also includes school health
services. social work services in schools, and parent counseling and training.

C. Transition for Post-Schoo!

A coordinated set of activities for a student, designed within an outcome-oriented process, which
promotes movement from school to post-school activities, including post-secondary education,
vocational training, integrated employment (including supported employment), continuing and
adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation.
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D. Transition for Pre-School

Transition services for preschoo! handicapped children include those activities that allow a
handicapped child to move from the infant-toddler program to the preschool prograrm and/or
from the preschool program to kindergarten or first grade without an interruption in services.
These activities may include assisting the child and the family through the transition process,
coordinating administrative functions to ensure appropriate placement and working with the
interagency council.

II. EXPLANATION OF TERMS
A. Classification of Students:

Codes

AG Academically Gifted (AG students do not generate federal funds)
AU Autistic

DB Deaf-Blind

EH Behaviorally/Emotionally Handicapped

EM Educable Mentally Handicapped

HI Hearing Impaired - Includes Deaf and Hard of Hearing

LD Specific Learning Disabled

MU Mutti-handicapped

OH Other Health Impaired - Includes: Heart Condition, Tuberculosis, Rheumatic Fever,

Nephritis, Asthma, Sickle Cell Anemia, Hemophilia, Epilepsy, Lead Poisoning, Leukemia,
and Diabetes

PG Pregnant (Pregnant students do not generate federal funds)
(o} Orthopedically Impaired - Includes Cerebral Palsy

Sl Speech-Language Impaired

SP Severely/Profoundly Mentally Handicapped

™ Trainable Mentally Handicapped

Vi Visually Impaired - Includes Blind and Partially Sighted

B Traumatic Brain Injured

NOTE: Homebound/Hospitalized is not a classification of exceptionality, but is a student setting

that is secondary to the primary handicapping condition and MUST BE COUNTED ONLY
under the classification for which the student is eligible.

NOTE: Speech is & primary handicapping condition ONLY if no other handicappina conditions are
present. If a child is identified in any other category, then speech is a related services and
cannot be duplicated in a headcount.
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B. Ethnic Group:

A student may be included in the group in which he/she appears to belong, identified with, or
is regarded in the community as belonging to. However, no student should be counted in more
than one racial/ethnic category.

Codes

1 American Indian/Alaskan Native: A student having origins in any of the original people of

North America and who maintain cultural identification through tribal affiliation or
community recognition.

0 Asian (Oriental): A student having origins in any of the original people of the Far East,
Southeast Asia, the Pacific Islands, or the indian subcontinent.

H Hispanic: A student of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South American, or other
Spanish culture or origin - regardless of race.

B Black. Not of Hispgnic Origin: A student having origins in any of the black racial groups of
Africa.

W White, Not of Hispanic Origin: A student having origins in any of the original people of
. Europe, North Africa, or the Middle East.

NOTE: Based on the Office of Civil Rights report of the Civil Rights Act, 1965 - Fall 1980 form.
(Elementary/Secondary Schools Civil Rights Survey)

C. Organization of Student Setting:

1. Regular ndirect (Regular Classroom Program with Support Services): An identified student with
special needs who receives the majority of his/her educational program in a regular class
and special education and related services for less than 21 percent of the school day. This may
include exceptional children placed in: (1) a regular class with special education/related
services provided within a regular class; (2) a regular class with instruction within the
regular class and with special education/related services provided outside a regular class;
or (3) a regular class with special education provided in a resource room.

2. Resource:  An identified student with special needs who receives his/her special
education/related service(s) in a resource room between 21 percent and 60 percent of the school
day. This may include children placed in: (1) resource rooms with special
education/related services provided within the resource room; or (2) resource rooms with
part-time instruction in a regular class.
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3.

10.

Separate Class: An identified student with special needs who receives special
education/related service(s) for more than 60 percent of the school day. This may include
children placed in: (1) self-contained special classes with part-time instruction in a
regular class, or (2} self-contained full-time special classes on a regular school campus.

Public Separate School Facility: An identified student with special needs who receives
his/her special education/related service(s) in a public separate school facility for greater
than 50 percent of the school day. This may include children placed in a self-contained
special class in a special public day school facility for exceptional children.

Private Separate School Facility: An identified student (by the Administrative Placement
Committee [APC] in the local education agency |LEA| which is responsible for the
fiscal/educational program) with special needs who receives special education/related
service(s) in a private separate school facility for greater than 50 percent of the school day.

This includes exceptional children with an individualized education program (IEP) who
are placed by the APC in: (1) private, non-public schools or (2) private day school
facilities for exceptional children.

Public/Private Residential Facility: An identified student (by the APC in the LEA which is
responsible for the fiscal/leducational program) with special needs who receives special
education/related service(s) in a public/private residential school facility for exceptional
children.

Private Residentigl Fgcilitu: An identified student (by the APC in the LEA which is

responsible for the fiscal/education program) with special needs who receives special
education/related service(s) in a private residential school facility for exceptional
children.

Correction and Youth Service Facility: An identified student with special needs who receives

special education/related service(s) in a correction or youth services facility.

Hospital Home-Based Services: An identified student with special needs who received
special education/related service(s) in a homebound/hospital environment.

Home-Family Program: For pre-school handicapped children - services which are delivered
primarily in the home by a certified home-family teacher.
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lll. EHA TITLE VI-B HEADCOUNT/REPORT

The EHA Title Vi-B Handicapped headcount is used to generate federal funds for children ages 3-21
under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, P.L. 91.230, as amended by P.L. 94-142, P.L. 99-457,
and P.L. 101-476. Included in this headcount are pre-school children ages 3-5 who generate early
childhood incentive money, as provided for by P.L. 99-457. The headcount is conducted on December 1.

A

Criteria for Eligibility for EHA Title VI-B Headcount:

To be eligible for counting on December 1, a child must:

1.

5.

Be enrolled in a special education program in a school or program which is
operated/supported by a public agency which meets State Board of Education

PROCEDURES GOVERNING PROGRAMS AND SERVICES FOR CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL
NEEDS (PROCEDURES).

Be receiving special education (free appropriate public education) and related services
(when appropriate) on December 1.

Be properly identified as a child with special needs and have been placed in a
class/program by the APC or Preschool Transition/Placement Committee; have attained
the third birthday and be no older than age 21.

Have an IEP for the handicapped, a Group Education Program (GEP) for the
Academically Gifted or an Education Program for the Pregnant.

NOT be counted on the ESEA Title | Handicapped headcount.

Instructions for Counting on EHA Title VI-B Headcount:

1.

A child with special needs must be counted corresponding to his/her age as of
December 1.

A child with special needs must be counted by his’/her PRIMARY handicapped/gifted
classification. In North Carolina, speech therapy has been classified as special education
rather than as a related service except for a child who is classified in one of the other
handicapping exceptionalities; thus speech becomes a related service.

Examples:

A child classified as educable mentally handicapped by the APC and having an IEP
specifying speech as a related service is counted under the Educable Mentally
Handicapped category and not under the Speech Impaired category .

A child identified as academically gifted and handicapped, the child is counted under the
handicapping condition.
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category.

A child classified as blind and/or partially sighted is counted under the Visually Impaired
category.

A child classified as deaf and blind is counted under the Deaf-Blind category.

A child having more than one disability (other than Deaf/Blind) is counted under the
Multihandicapped category. He/she has special education needs which cannot be met
in the other special education categories, such as Severely/Profoundly Mentally
Handicapped, and Trainable Mentally Handicapped. This does not include an educable
mentally handicapped child who wears glasses or has a hearing aid.

A child may not be counted in the following instances:
. He/she is counted under the ESEA Title I, Handicapped headcount;
. Hesshe is determined to need a related service to assist himvher in benefiting

from special education may not be counted if he/she is not currently being
provided that related service;

. He/she is receiving only a related service and who does not need special
education;
. His/her special education is funded solely from federal funds (except for ages

birth-4). (For example: A child enrolled in a public/private school under
contract from a LEA using funds for the contract which are solely federal may
not be counted. This applies also to Special Reserve Funds [EHA Title VI-Bj
which are matched by the LEA with Title VI-B dollars.)

Updated August 1992

A child classified as deaf and/or hard of hearing is counted under the Hearing Impaired
|
|
|
|
|
} C. Under the provisions of PL 99-457, a headcount is taken for preschool children ages 3, 4, and 5.
| On December 1, LEAs and other agencies under the Department of Human Resources (DHR) and
: other eligible state-supported programs count handicapped children ages 3, 4, and 5 (as of
December 1) who are enrolled in and receiving special education and related services.
‘ NOTE: These students may not be counted in average daily membership (ADM) or on the State

Aid Adjusted headcount.

IV. ESEA TITLE |, HANDICAPPED HEADCOUNT/REPORT

ESEA Title 1 Handicapped funds are made available to LEAs that are eligible and that wish to access
funds under an ESEA Title | Handicapped project. LEAs may count children on the ESEA Title |
Handicapped headcount which, in tum makes that LEA eligible to submit a project for approval by the
Division of Exceptional Children Services. However, LEAs may choose to count all children on the ESEA
Handicapped headcount, in which event, an ESEA Title 1 Handicapped headcount or project would not
be submitted.
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Criteria for Eligibility for the ESEA Title | Headcount:

1.

4.

5.

A child must have been counted/enrolled/served by an eligible state-operated/supported
program during the 1971-72 or subsequent school years continuously for not less than
180 consecutive (not cumulative) school days.

A child must be counted in ADM of an LEA on December 1.

A child must be properly identified as handicapped under federal regulations and
PROCEDURES. He/she must be receiving a free appropriate public special education
program and related service (if appropriate) in the LEA,

A child must have not reached his/her 22nd birthday on or before December 1.

A child must not be reported/counted on the EHA Title Vi-B Handicapped headcount.

Instructions for Counting on the ESEA Title | Headcount:

LEAs choosing to submit an ESEA Title | Handicapped headcount must provide the following:

1.

5.

6.

Name of child who meets the eligibility criteria as outlined above; (Last name, first
name, middle initial, also known as.)

Month, day, and year of the child's birth;

Age of child as of December I;

Primary handicapping condition {one code per child);
Ethnic group according to code {one code per child); and

State-operated/supported program from which the child transferred.

Eligible State-Operated/Supported Programs:

Govemor Morehead School for the Blind

Community Residential Centers - Carobell, Hilltop, Horizons, Howell's Piedmont, Tammy
Lynn

North Carolina Schools for the Deaf - Central (Greensboro), Eastern (Wilson), NCSD
{Morganton)

Eckerd Foundation - Wildemess Camps

Lenox Baker Children's Hospital of North Carolina

North Carolina Memorial Hospital

Mental Retardation Centers - Black Mountain Center, Caswell, Murdoch, O'Berry, Western
Carolina

Psychiatric Hospitals - Broughton, Cherry, Dix, Umstead. Whitaker School, Wright School
TEACCH (Chapel Hill Center only)

Division of Youth Services

Department of Corrections
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V. ADJUSTED HEADCOUNT FOR STATE FUNDING

The Adjusted Headcount for State Funding is a headcount of those students (ages 5-20) who have been
properly identified and who are placed and are being served on April 1. The Adjusted State Funding

headcount is provided for in Senate Bill 23, Section 81 {1983), and is intended to adjust the federal
headcounts for state funding gnly.

A.

Criteria for Eligibility for the State Aid Headcount:
To be eligible for counting on April 1, a child must:

1. Be enrolled in a special education program which meets State Board of Education rules
and regulations;

2, Be receiving special education and related service (when appropriate) on April 1;

3. Be properly identified as a child with special needs and have been placed in a
class/program by the APC; and

4. Have an IEP or a GEP.

NOTE: Students no longer qualifying for placement may continue to be served until the end of
the grading period or semester but MAY NOT be counted on the headcount.

Instructions for Counting on the State Aid Headcount:
LEAs must submit the total unduplicated headcounts (ages 5-20) of students who are
eligible/identified/served by primary handicapping condition.
VI. CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENTS FOR COOPERATIVE PROGRAMS
fN A PUBLIC OR PRIVATE FACILITY

The LEA has the ultimate responsibility for special education of handicapped children who reside
within the LEA and whom the LEA serves either directly or contractually.

When the local board of education places the child in another LEA or public or private school
or facility, the LEA of legal residence of the child must enter into a contractual agreement with
the LEA or public or private school facility:

1. The contractual agreement shall specify the special education service(s) to be provided
and the duration of that service during the school year.

2. All contracts must be negotiated prior to or at the beginning of each school year.

3. Contracts must be written for all such children whether or not any additional financial
assistance is required for the child.

When a local board of education releases the child to another LEA, the accepting LEA has the
legal responsibility for the special education of the child for that school year.
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Vil. RESPONSIBILITY FOR HANDICAPPED CHILDREN RESIDING
IN A GROUP HOME, FOSTER HOME, OR SIMILAR FACILITY

When a handicapped child resides in a group home, foster home, or similar facility, the legal
responsibility for special education resides with the LEA in which the group home, foster home, or

similar facility is located. The LEA in which the group home, foster home, or similar facility is located
will count the child on their headcount(s).

Viil. COUNTING OF CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS WHO ARE
PLACED IN A PUBLIC OR PRIVATE SCHOOL FACILITY

A The LEA of legal residence is eligible to count the child in special education headcounts only

if the LEA provides special education and related service (if appropriate) either directly or
contractually.

B. When a child with special needs is placed to receive his/her special education in a public or
private school or facility other than the one in which he/she maintains legal residence, the LEA

of legal residence for the child shall count the child in the federal and state special education
headcounts but not in ADM.

C. When a child is placed by the LEA of legal residence in another LEA, the serving LEA shall count
‘ the child in ADM but not on the federal and state special education headcounts.
D. When a child is in residence in a group home, foster home, or similar facility, the LEA where the

group home, foster home, or similar facility is located shall count the child in the federal and
state special education headcounts and in ADM.

E. When a child has been certified as Willie M., the LEA of legal residence for the child shall count
the child on the federal and state special education headcounts and in ADM:

1. When the certified Willie M. child is served by another public school, the LEA of legal
residence shall count the child on the federal and state special education headcounts.
The serving LEA shall count the child in ADM.

2. When the child is served by a non-public school facility (i.e. mental health center), the
LEA of legal residence for the child shall pot count the child in ADM.

F. When a school-aged child is placed in a developmental day program, the LEA of legal residence
shall count the child on the federal and state special education headcounts, but shall pot count
the child in ADM.

G. If the LEA operates a developmental day program, the child shall be counted on the federal
special education headcounts (for preschool-aged and school-aged children); on the state special
education headcount (for school-aged children); and in ADM (for school-aged children).
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APPENDIX A
STUDENT ACCOUNTING CODES

I. ENROLLMENT CODES

When a student enters school, designate such entrance by the appropriate code. Withdrawals occurring
during the summer months are posted as part of the record of the immediately preceding school year.

Codes

El -

E2 -

R} -

R5* -

\nitial Entry - No Previous Public School Enrollment

Student’s first enrollment in a public school this school year. The student has not been
enrolled in a public school in North Carolina or outside North Carolina this school year,
although the student may have been enrolled in a non-public school this school year
either in North Carolina or outside North Carolina.

- Previ . .
Student's first enrollment in a public school in North Carolina this school year. The

student was enrolled previously in a public school outside North Carolina this school
year.

Student’s subsequent enrollment in this school this school year. The student is
withdrawn from this school as an internal transfer and re-entered into another
grade/homeroomvattendance category in the same school and under the same principal.

Student's first enrollment in this school this school year. Student transferred during this
school year from a public school in the same LEA.

Transfer Entry - Previous North Caroling Public School Enrollment in Anotfier LEA

Student’s first enroliment in this school this school year. Student transferred during this
school year from a public school in another North Carolina LEA.

Re- - i w

Student’s subsequent enrollment in this school this school year. The student withdrew
from this school as an external W1 and is re-entered into the same homeroom as before the
withdrawal.
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R6* -

NOTE: If the student is to be placed into a new homeroom, he should first be re-entered
(R5) into his original homeroom. He should then be transferred (W1/R1) on the
next day to the new homeroom.

» - Previi

Student's subsequent enrollment in this school this school year. The student withdrew

from this school as a W2 and is re-entered into the same homeroom as before the
withdrawal.

NOTE: If the student is to be placed into a new homeroom, he should first be re-entered

(R6) into his original homeroom. He should then be transferred (W1/R1) on the
next day to the new homeroom.

When a student withdraws from a North Carolina public school, enrolls in a public school in
another state or in a non-public school, and then returns to a North Carolina public school,
he/she is to be coded as if the transfer was from the original North Carolina public school.

* Codes valid for SIMS only.

ll. ACCOUNTING FOR
SELF-CONTAINED HANDICAPPED/TRAINABLE CHILDREN
IN A SEPARATE CLASS SETTING

State Board of Education policy requires that all ADM teachers eamed by handicapped children served
in self-contained special classes be assigned to serve those children. In order to comply with that policy,

it is necessary

to report self-contained handicapped children on the EXC line on the PMR. "Self-

contained” is defined as receiving special education/reiated services for 60% or more of the school day
in classes specifically designed for handicapped exceptional children.

Trainable, severely/profoundly handicapped and autistic children must be reported on the TMH line of

the PMR.

lil. ATTENDANCE/ABSENCE CODES

Lawful Absences

Provided satisfactory evidence of the excuse (see Chapter 2, Section IV) is provided to
the appropriate school official, absences coded as lawful absences:

NOTE: IH absences are lawful. They do not aifect a school's attendance rate
(ADA/ADM) because SIMS treats them as presences. They are added to the Sum
of Pupils Present Daily and appear in the current PMR system as presences.
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U.pdated August 19
NOTE: When a student is homebound or hospitalized and IS NOT receiving

hospital/homebound services, he/she is to be considered lawfully absent and
coded 1.

Unlawful Absences

Students who are willfully absent from school without a lawful excuse (see Chapter 2,
Section IV) are to be considered unlawfully absent. (The Ten Day Rule applies.)

Suspensions

A suspension is considered to be neither lawful or unlawful, but in a category of its own.
(The Ten-Day Rule does not apply to suspension days.)

Expulsions

Students who are expelled are to be withdrawn from school as per directions stated in
Chapter 2, Section IV.

IV. WITHDRAWAL CODES - SCHOOL YEAR

when a student withdraws from school during the school year, such withdrawals are to be designated
by the appropriate code listed below.

Codes

w1 -

NOTE:

w2 -

Transfer Withdrawal
Student withdrew for one of the following reasons:

Transferred to another homeroom
Transferred to another grade
Transferred to another attendance category

Transferred to another school, community college or appropriate educational
program

When a student is enrolled in any state-operated/ supported program, private hospital
facility with an accredited instruction program, or hospital with a public schoo! number,
he/she should be coded W1 and withdrawn from histher home school LEA.

- 44 r

Student withdrew for one of the following reasons and will not return to school during
the current school year:
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. Prior to compulsory attendance age
. Dropped out
. Expelled

NOTE: Students withdrawing on a day following a code 1 or 2 absence must be
withdrawn on the day following their last day in attendance.

W3 - Death Withdrawal
w4 - r Withdr, - i -

Student completed the current year (as part of a formal instructional program) before the
end of the school year calendar for one of the following reasons:

. Graduated mid-year
. Completed current year early

The W4 withdrawal code was intended to be used for students who complete a
structured program {such as an extended day school program) which was concluded prior
to the normal end of the school year. Thus, it would not be appropriate for students
who are caused by their parents to leave for a summer vacation prior to the last day.

The way a student's absence in the situation described above should be handied will be
determined, in large part, by the principal's determination as to whether the days of
absence are excused or unexcused. The State Board of Education's Ten Day Rule
dictates that a student be withdrawn from membership on the eleventh consecutive day
of unlawful absence. However, the principal may determine that some activities, such as

a trip to a place of historical significance ray have sufficient education value to cause
a student's absence to be lawful.

With the above in mind, depending on existing circumstances, the following procedures
should be followed.

1. A student who leaves for the summer following completion of a structured
curriculum should be coded as a W4 withdrawal on the first day following his
last day of attendance.

2. A student who leaves for excused reasons (such as illness or an educationally-
valuable trip should be recorded as lawfully absent through the 180th school day
and subsequently withdrawn at the end of the year as a W5 or Wé.

3. A student has essentially completed his program for the year (although he is not
in a structured program similar to the one mentioned in item | above), and
leaves for unexcused reasons. Since his class work has been completed for the
year, the principal may determine that, under the circumstances, absences
should be excused. The student would subsequently be withdrawn at the end
of the year as a W5 or W6.
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4 A student has not completed his program for the year and leaves for unexcused
reasons. If the eleventh day of unexcused absence occurs during the last ten
days of school, he should be withdrawn as a W2 on the first day following his

, . last day of attendance.

NOTE: Current regulations state that any student ccded as a W2 (Early Leaver) during

the previous spring who is in membership on the 20th day of the next school
year will not be counted as a dropout.

W5* - End-of-Year i -

Student completed the current vear at the end of the school year calendar and is
expected to return for the next school year.

w6* - -of-Yegr r Wi - -

Student completed the current school year at the end of the school year calendar and
is pot expected to return to this school for one of the following reasons:

) Completed progra .
) Completed highest grade

. * Codes valid for SIMS only.

V. WITHDRAWAL CODES - SUMMER

After the end of the school year, additional information may be obtained about a student's completion/

withdrawal for the previous school year. Such information is to be designated with the appropriate code
listed below.

Codes
WIA®* - Summer Transfer Withdrawal

Student completed the school year and was withdrawn as a W5. The student did not
return to this school as expected because he/she transferred to another school,
community college or appropriate educational program.

W2A* - r Ear| r Withdr

Student completed the school year and was withdrawn as a W5 or a W6. The student
neither returned to this school nor enrolled in another school within the time period
allowed for one of the following reasons:
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) Prior to compulsory attendance age
. Dropped out

NOTE: If it is determined, during the same school year, that a child previously coded as a W2 has
transferred to another school or another appropriate educational program, his/her
withdrawal may be re-coded as a W1 or WIA Transfer Withdrawal. The student must
have enrolled prior to the beginning of the subsequent school year, or on earliest
possible date of entrance to the receiving program after withdrawal from school.
("School year™ is defined as the period beginning with the first day of the school year and
‘ending with the day before beginning of the next school year.)

W3A* - Summer Death

* Codes valid for SIMS only.

Student Accounting - Page A:6




Updated August 1992

APPENDIX B

MAINTENANCE OF SCHOOL RECORDS

|. LEGAL REQUIREMENTS

A. Contents:

The cumulative record should contain personal and family data, health information,
attendance reports, and scholastic information, including grades and test data. While
the law does not prohibit the inclusion of other information, each local board of
education should give careful consideration to procedures that will ensure the exclusion
of items having little or no significance.

The cumulative record for handicapped children consists of all confidential records used
to place and provide an education for a child, such as achievement and intelligence
tests, medical reports, and the Individualized Education Program (IEP).

Administrative records (such as parental permission slips, unlawful absence forms,
exceptional children hearing report records, school discipline records, etc.) should be

filed separately from the cumulative folder, and should be retained only as long as they
are needed for operaticnal purposes.

Schools are not required to store a copy of Individual Pupil Records (IPRs). However, if
IPRs are saved, they should not be filed in the cumulative folder.

B. Maintenance:

L.

The school principal should assume responsibility for assuring that school staff annually
review their files to make additions and corrections and to rernove dated materials.

The federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (P.L 93-380), also known
as the "Buckley Amendment,” requires that the parent/guardian be informed of rights to
access to their child’'s education records. The following policy statement is
recommended for use in a handbook or as a letter to the parent/guardian:

The school maintains a cumulative education record on each of its
students. This record contains important information such as personal
data, a health record, attendance reports, standardized test results, and
subject area grades. It is useful for many reasons: in case of an
emergency, to comply with the Compulsory Attendance Law, for course
placement, to meet graduation requirements, etc. Under the federal
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (the "Buckley Amendment”),
the following is considered "directory information,” and can be made
public unless a parent/guardian or eligible student requests that any or
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all of the information not be released without prior consent: your child's
name, address, telephone listing, date and place of birth, participation
in officially recognized activities and sports, dates of school attendance,
degrees and awards received, and the most recent previous school
attended. Your child’s education record is confidential and only
available to you and to school officials or other agencies with legitimate
educational interests. The Buckley Amendment explains your rights
regarding your child's school record.

. The school is not allowed to disseminate data personally
identifying your child without your consent.
) When officials of another school or school system in which your

child intends to enroll request a record transfer, the school must
make a reasonable attempt to notify you of the transfer. Upon
request, the school must send you a copy of the forwarded
information.

) The school must honor your request to review your child's
record within a reasonable time period, but in no case more
than 45 days. If you believe the information in your child's
record is inaccurate or misleading, you may request it to be
amended. The school's refusal to amend the record entitles you
to a hearing. If the school agrees with you as a result of the
hearing, the school must amend the record accordingly and
notify you in writing. However, if the school continues to
disagree with you after the hearing, you may place a statement
of disagreement in the educaticn record.

Access privileges accorded to you are transferred to the student when the
student reaches 18 years of age or is attending an institution of post-secondary
education.

3. Both divorced parents have access to a student’s record unless the courts have denied
access to one of the parents.

4. A step-parent does not have access to a student’s record without the consent of the

natural parent. If legal adoption of the student by the step-parent has occurred. consent
of the natural parent can be assumed.

5. The principal may furnish student record information to the courts without
parent/guardian or eligible student’s consent when required by judicial order or lawfully
issued subpoena. For instance, attendance records could be useful to an attorney in a
child abuse case. However, the parent/guardian or eligible student should be notified
by the school in advance of compliance. The parent/guardian or eligible student has the
right to review and challenge the student’s record prior to compliance.
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‘ 6. A record of access, provided by an inspection log, must be kept with, but not part of,
‘ each student's cumulative record. The record is available only to the record custodian,
parent/guardian, eligible student, or federal/state/local official and is maintained as long
as educational records are maintained. It is to be completed by non-school personnel,

parent/guardian, or eligible student each time a request is made to review the
cumulative record.

7. Although access rights transfer from the parent/guardian to the student when the student
reaches 18 years of age or attends an institution of post-secondary education, it is
permissible to allow the parent/guardian to continue access privileges if the student is
not available and requests student information.

C. Dissemination:

1. *  The information to be included in a transfer of a student record includes the original
Personal Data Sheet, the Pupil Physical Examination and Permanent Health Record, the
Elementary Scholastic Record, and the Elementary and Secondary Standardized Test
Record. A copy of this information should be retained by the sending school.

2. it is recommended that the transferring local education agency (LEA) send copies of all
confidential records of handicapped children dealing with their placement and education.
This information should include psychological and medical reports currently being used
to either place or provide an education to a handicapped child.

3. Records may be sent to another public school in which the student intends to enroll or
obtain services without written parent/guardian consent. This practice is to be included
in written local board of education policy and distributed to all parents or eligible

students. The school must notify the parent or eligible student that the information has
been forwarded.

4, The educational records of handicapped children who leave the public school and enter
a human resource or correction program who leave a human resource agency or
correction program to enroll in a public school may be transferred without parental
consent with notice to the parent that the record has been forwarded. Each item of the
record forwarded should be listed. Any records dealing primarily with medical treatment
or correction as opposed to education should not be transferred. Only medical records
used for placement are transferable.

5. Each school is responsible for promptly forwarding the student record forms to the
receiving school.

6. The school should maintain a copy of all requests for the transfer of student records.
verbal requests can be documented through a letter of transfer citing a verbal request
and date.

7. A school may not legally withhold a student’s record from another school because of

uncollected fees or because the student is not in good standing. This method of
retribution places the hardship on the receiving school, not the student. Under the
Buckley Amendment, the parent/guardian or eligible student has a right to cumulative
record information, including the right to copy such information. A school could deny
participation in graduation exercises or a certified copy of a transcript.

40
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D. Preservation:

1.

There is no specified time limit in either state or federal regulations for maintaining a
student's confidential records of handicapped children after graduation or withdrawal
from school. It is recommended that information be maintained for five years beyond
the last date educational services were provided.

The Division of Archives and History, State Department of Cultural Resources,
recommends that permanent records be microfilmed two years after the student
graduates or leaves the school.

Services of the Division of Archives and History are free for LEAs with less than 800
graduates per year. Contact the Records Services Branch located at 215 North Blount

Street in Raleigh. The telephone number is (919) 733-3540. Larger LEAS must contract
for microfilming services.

E. Destruction of Certain Exceptional Children Records:

1.

A definite procedure for purging exceptional children records should be developed and
implemented by each LEA.

Before destroying confidential records of handicapped children, the parent/guardian, or
eligible student must be contacted and informed of what records will be destroyed. The
party should be reminded that such records may be needed in the future for social
security or other benefits. Time should be allowed (30 days) for the parent to request
copies of the records prior to destruction.

If a local board of education policy explaining the destruction of records has been
disseminated to parents, then the burden of contacting parents or eligible students
regarding record destruction to some extent would be on the parents to contact the
school. 1t is recommended that confidential records which were used initially to place
the child in special education be maintained. If the child were in special education for
12 years, the early IEPs could be destroyed leaving only the last five years of IEPs in the

file. Work samples, anecdotal records, or nonessential information in the files could be
destroyed.

Parents have a right to ask schools to destroy records conceming the evaluation and
placement of children in special education. However, these records may be destroyed
only when the child is no longer in need of special education.
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Il. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

The Department of Public Instruction has adopted the use of the student’s Social Security Number (SSN)
as a state-wide unique student identification number. It is intended to use the SSN in the future as a
student identifier for Student Information Management System (SIMS). state-wide testing, and other
purposes.

A SSNs must be in place in all students’ records prior to transmitting the school's Principal's
Monthly Report and the School Activity Report.

B. Federal law prohibits a schoo!l from requiring a student to report their SSN. When a student
refuses to provide their SSN, an alternative SSN must be assigned. The alternative SSN should
be assigned when the child is first enrolled in school and should follow the child to subsequent
schools and/or LEAs.

C. When assigning an alternative SSN to a child, the following scheme is to be used:
1. LEA Number (3 digit) + School Number (3 digit) + X + YY (where X = A-Z and Y = 0-9)
2. When this scheme runs out, it is followed by:

LEA Number + School Number + XX + Y (where X = A-Z and Y = 0-9)

3. When this scheme runs out, it is followed by:
‘ LEA Number + School Number + XXX (where X = A-Z)

NOTE: The alphabetic character will identify this number as an alternative SSN.
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APPENDIX C
STUDENT ACCOUNTING AUDITS

Student Information Management audits average daily membership (ADM) records and exceptional
children headcounts and records. The items audited are set forth in this appendix.

I. AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP AUDITS
(UNANNOUNCED ON-SITE)

The audit of ADM records is authorized by North Carolina General Statutes 115C-276(p). 115C-288(b),
and 115C-307{g). These statutes state, in effect, that any superintendert, principal, teacher, or other
school employee of the public schools, who knowingly and willfully makes or procures another to make
any false reports or records respecting daily attendance of students in the public schools shall be guilty
of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, shall be fined or imprisoned in the discretion of the court.
Additionally, the certificate of such person to teach in the public schools of North Carolina will be
revoked by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

The purpose of the audit is to determine that the student membership, as reported, is accurate, and that
the student attendance accounting system in use is being maintained and producing accurate data.

A. Criteria for Selection of Local Education Agencies (LEAs) to be Audited:

Approximately two-thirds of all ADM audits will be conducted by selecting each LEA to audit
once every three years. At least 16% of all Individual Pupil Records will be audited. The number
of schools audited will be determined by the size of the LEA. The audit findings will address
findings and error rates in individual schools as well as the LEA as a whole. LEA error rates
(relating to enrollment and membership) may affect allotments.

Approximately one-third of all ADM audits will be done on a drop-in basis without regard to the
LEA. In all cases, schools with a high error rate will be re-visited in the next school year.

Other criteria used to determine schools to be audited include:

1. LEAs with student accounting problems encountered by Student Information
Management or by the Information Center; and

2. Requests of local boards of education, superintendents, or principals.
3. Schools to be audited will be selected by the following criteria:

a. Date last audited;

b. Reoccurring errors on the Principal's Monthly Report (PMR);
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C. Geographic location (to allow the Department of Public Instruction staff to audit
several schools in one genera} location at a time in order to conserve resources);
and

B. Audit Procedures:
1. For the school(s) selected, the student accounting consultant will obtain PMRs to review

after reviewing monthly Principal's Error Reports from the Information Center to
determine if any problems have been encountered in any of the LEA's reports.

2, The student accounting consultant will meet with the superintendent or his/her
representative to:

a. Explain the purpose of the unannounced audit; and

b. Indicate which school(s) will be visited.

3. The consultant will meet with the principal and his/her representative to:
a. Explain the methodology of the audit;
b. Request the following for review:

(1) Each homeroom Register, deck of Individual Pupil Record (IPR) cards, or
roster sheets, .
{2) PMRs and Teacher's Monthly Reports (TMRs) that support the data;
‘ C Advise the principal that the following records may also be needed should
; additional substantiation be required:
(1 Intemal pupil accounting records (shuttle sheets, absence lists, etc.),
(2) Roll books,
(3) Bus records,
(4) Lunchroom records,
(5) Textbook receipts,
(6) Receipt books,
(7) Sign-in/Sign-out logs,
(8) Enrollment/Withdrawal logs;

d. Review |PRs to ensure that they contain the following information:
(1 Student name, race, address, and birthdate,
(2) Date of entrance,
(3) Enrollment code,

(4) Date of withdrawal (where applicable),
(5) Withdrawal code {where applicable),
(6) Teacher's signature,

(N Absences noted and coded daily,
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(8) Monthly totals:
(a) Days in membership
(b) Days present
() Days absent

NOTE: Number of 1PRs being used equals total students enrolled;

Review TMR (R102), PMR (R103), Daily Attendance Exceptions (R301},
Entry/Withdrawal (R834), Late Enrollment/Early Withdrawal (R121), bubble
sheets, and Division Attendance Reports (R122) computer reports to ensure that
they contain the following information:

(1) Student name,
(2) Date of entrance,
(3} Enrollment code,

(4) Date of withdrawal (where applicable),
(5) Withdrawal code (where applicable),
6) Teacher's signature,

(N Absences noted and coded daily;

Review each TMR for the latest school month to ensure each is complete and
accurate,

Select the last completed school month to verify the following:
(N LEA and school code,
(2) School month,
(3) Calendar dates of school month,
(4 Number of days in school month,
(5) Daily completion of:
(a) Class enrollment by code and total
(b) Class withdrawal total
() Students in membership (class total)
(d) Students present (class total)
(e) Students absent (class total),
(6) Monthly completion of:
(a) Students in enroliment {must balance with total of IPRs)
(b) Students absent (must balance with totals shown on IPRs)
{c) Students withdrawn (IPRs must balance with TMRs)
(d) Signature of teacher or other person(s} responsible;

Verify the IPRs and TMRs by counting the students in at least one homeroom in
each school audited (when possible without disrupting normal school operation).
checking the following data:

(N Enroliment,

(2) Withdrawal,

(3) Membership,

(4) Days present,

(5) Days absent;

01
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i. Compare the PMRs with the TMRs to confirm the total statistics for the school
as follows:
(1) Total students in enroliment by grade,
(2) Total students withdrawn by grade,
(3) Membership,

(4) Class size for compliance, {In self-contained classes, membership is
compared with class size maximums to determine if an exception exists,
and if it has been waived and/or reported.)

(5) Sum of students present daily,

(6) Sum of students absent daily,

(7) School totals for each of the above;

4, The consultant will conduct an exit interview to:

a. Review all findings with the principal or his/her representative and/or SIMS
operator; and
b. Re-visit the superintendent (as requested) to review audit findings.
C. Procedure When an Exception is Found:

1. The consultant will determine the extent of the exception and list on the Audit Work
Sheet.

2. The consultant will request corrected PMRs (R103), IPRs (R101) and Audit Work Sheets

as needed. Requested reports should be sent to Raleigh within 30 days of the audit.
When received, the reports will be checked to determine if corrections have been made.
The corrected PMR(s) will then be forwarded to the Information Center for processing.

If the school has been certified to use the SIMS Attendance Module exclusively as its
student accounting system, previous months' corrected PMRs will be transmitted
electronically with the current month PMR.

D. Procedure When Deliberate Falsification of Records is Determined:
1. The consultant will immediately notify the Chief Consultant for Student Information
Management.

o

The consuitant will impound those records needed to substantiate faisification.

3. The Chief Consultant will report the findings to the Assistant State Superintendent for
Financial Services to determine what further action will be taken.
F. Post-Audit Procedures:
1. The consultant will prepare a final audit findings report.
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2. An error rate of 5% is considered the maximum acceptable within established audit
standards. Error rates in excess of 5% will cause the audited school to be placed on
probationary status. Schools placed on probationary status will be subject to a re-audit
within 12 months.

3. The Chief Consultant for Student Information Management will send a final audit
findings letter to the local superintendent.

il. EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN
HEADCOUNT AND RECORD COMPLIANCE AUDITS

Student Information Management audits headcounts and monitors compliance with rules and regulations
as authorized by the Code of Federal Regulations (Federal Register) 300.750(a), 300.751(a), and 300.752:
North Carolina General Statutes 115C-110(j), (k). and (i); and Senate Bill 23, Sections 81, 82, and 83.
Audits of exceptional children headcounts and individual student records are conducted on an
unannounced basis in the local education agency (LEA). (Student Information Management will notify
the LEA 24 hours in advance that an audit will be conducted.)

A The purpose of the audit is to determine that the federal and state exceptional children

* headcounts are accurate as reported for funding, and that student records are in compliance with

rules and regulations set forth in State Board of Education PROCEDURES GOVERNING
PROGRAMS AND SERVICES FOR CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS (PROCEDURES).

B. Selection Criteria:

The criteria for selection of LEAs to be audited are the following:

1. LEAs which have not been audited within a three-year period:
2, LEAs with reoccurring problems and/or exceptions;
3. LEAs which exceed the overall 12.5% cap for handicapped and/or the 3.9% cap for
academically gifted; and
4, State supported/operated programs.
C. Number of Schools for Record Compliance Audit:
Number of Number of
Excep. Children Schools to
100 - 499 1
500 - 1,499 2
1500 - 2,999 3
3,000 - 4,999 4
5,000 - 9,999 5
10,000 + 6
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D. On-Site Audits:

L.

The student accounting consultant will meet with the superintendent or his/her designee
and advise himvher of the audit procedures.

The consultant will obtain the LEA-wide State Aid headcount roster of students and

reconcile the State Aid headcount submitted to the Department of Public Instruction to
the actual roster.

The consultant will verify with the finance officer that the teachers and teacher assistants
earned on students with special needs being served in self-contained classes are
properly assigned and paid.

The consultant will obtain a list of all exceptional children personnel from the
exceptional children program administrator. The list will be verified by reviewing the

most recent payroll register to ensure that personnel are correctly charged to exceptional
children account codes.

The consultant will obtain an LEA-wide Willie M. allocation roster for the current year
and verify proper utilization of Willie M. funds.

The consultant will obtain the LEA-wide preschool served handicapped roster of students
ages 3, 4, and 5, and reconcile the preschool served headcount submitted to the
Department of Public Instruction to the actual roster.

The consultant will audit individual student records in the schools selected. The audit
sample will include 10% of students in each exceptionality category. The total number
of student records audited for an entire LEA will be no less than 20, regardiess of the
size of the LEA and/or the number of exceptional children counted on headcounts.

a. The appropriate number of records (as determined above) will be selected
randomly for audit.

b. it will be assumed that all records audited represent funded students. Therefore,
records for eligible students who are being served beyond established caps may
not be substituted for those found during the audit to be out of compliance.

C Records will be audited according to the requirements outlined in "Checklist for
Compliance to Determine Eligibility for Exceptional Children Funding.”

d. The consultant will verify that student records found out of compliance are not
included in current headcounts.

Upon completion of the audit of records in the selected schools, if the number of records
out of compliance is found to exceed 15% of the total records audited, the audit sample
will be expanded to additional schools.
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10.

11

12.

13.

14.
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Upon completion of the audit of records selected in the second set of schools, if the
total error rate (including both samples) exceeds 15% of the total number of records
audited, the audit sample will be expanded to a 10% sample of the LEA's entire funded
State Aid headcount. The consultant will make a random selection of 10% of the records
in individual schools within all exceptionality categories from each of the schools in the
LEA, not to exceed 50 schools.

Upon completion of the audit of 10% of the LEA's entire funded headcount, if it is found
that the error rate is in excess of 25%, the audit may be expanded further.

Based on the audit findings. the consultant will calculate reductions of the current
headcounts.

The consultant will conduct an exit interview with the superintendent to review in detail
the findings of the audit.

The Chief Consultant for Student Information Management will review the audit findings
and prepare a final audit findings letter to be mailed to the superintendent. The letter
will set forth in detail any headcount reductions and subsequent allotment reductions
which have resulted from the audit.

The LEA will have 90 days from the date of the receipt of the audit findings letter within
which to request clarification or contest any audit findings.

iil. CHANGE IN EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN
COMPLIANCE AUDIT PROCEDURE

For a trial period, certain audit items relating to student record compliance will result in the requirement
of corrective action rather than a reduction in funding. A corrective action plan must be in place and
operational prior to the LEA's next funding year.

Headcount audit exceptions and student record audit exceptions, relative to items required specifically
by law (such as the absence of an IEP), will continue to result in a funding (sate and federal) reduction.
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