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FOREWORD

This Technical Assistance Manual is published to assist districts in complying with the
law and rules relating to the provision and implementation of alternative programs.
While this manual provides technical assistance, the spirit in which it is presented is
best summarized in the following words from two of Oregon's winners in the 1989
William Randolph Hearst United States Senate Youth Program awards. Their papers
addressed the problems of at-risk youth.

"Most of all, schools need alternative required courses or
an alternate educational plan. School can seem very
restricting to all students, dropouts to college-bound. They
need a varying plan to have an added dimension to the
educational system." Quimbly Horrell, Senior Class
President, Clackamas High School

"There have been many recent efforts to overcome the
slowing of Oregon's economy. We must stop now and look
at the product of our education system to understand the
constituents of tomorrow's work force. Unless we act to
change the current trend, Oregon may be confronted by a
collapsing bridge on its road to recovery." Todd Myers,
Student Body President, Roosevelt High School

We join Ouimbly Horrell and Todd Myers in a commitment to provide a variety of
opportunities to better ensure the success of Oregon's youth in our educational
programs.

iii

John W. Erickson
State Superintendent
of Public Instruction
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OREGON REVISED STATUTES



ATTENDANCE; ADMISSION; DISCIPLINE; ALTERNATIVES 339.040

DEFINITION
339.005 Definition for ORS 339.040 and

339.125. As used in ORS 339.040 and 339.125,
unless the context ivquires otherwise, "ad-
ministrative office for the county" means the
administrative office of the education service
district, of the county school district or of
the administrative school district which in-
cludes an entire county. Dm c 100 §273; 1973
c.728 §3; 1987 c.158 §561

COMPULSORY SCHOOL ATTENDANCE
339.010 School attendance required;

age limits. Except as provided in ORS
339.030, all children between the ages of 7
and 18 years who have not completed the
12th grade are required to attend regularly
a public full-time school of the school district
in which the child resides. !Amended by 1965
c.100 §2741

339.020 Duty to send children to
school. Except as provided in ORS 339.030,
every person having control of any child be-
tween the ages of 7 and 18 years who has not
completed the 12th grade is required to send
such child to and maintain such child in
regular attendance at a public full-time
school during the entire school term.
!Amended by 1965 c.100 §275; 1969 c.160 §11

339.030 Exemptions from compulsory
school attendance. In the following cases,
children shall not be required to attend pub-
lic full-time schools:

(1) Children being taught in a private or
parochial school in the courses of study usu-
ally taught in grades 1 through 12 in the
public schools and in attendance for a period
equivalent to that required of children at-
tending public schools.

(2) Children proving to the satisfaction
of the district school board that they have
acquired equivalent knowledge to that ac-
quired in the courses of study taught in
grades 1 through 12 in the public schools.

(3) Children being taught for a period
equivalent to that required of children at-
tending public schools 13y a parent or private
teacher the courses of study usually taught
in grades 1 through 12 in the public school.

(4) Children excluded from attendance as
provided by law.

(5) The State Board of Education by rule
shall establish procedures whereby, on a
semiannual basis, an exemption from com-
pulsory attendance may be granted to the
parent or legal guardian of any child 16 or
17 years of age who is lawfully employed full
time, lawfully employed part time and en-
rolled in school, or enrolled in a community
college or other state-registered alternative
education program. Such exemption also may

be granted to any child who is an
emancipated minor or who has initiated the
procedure for emancipation under ORS
109.550 to 109.565. [Amended by 1965 c.100 §276;
1967 c.67 §8; 1971 c.494 §1; 1973 c.728 §1; 1985 c.579 §1;
1989 c.619 §11

339.035 Teaching by private teacher or

Fant;
notice; examination; effect of

airure; appeal. (1) As used in this section,
unless the context requires otherwise, "su-
perintendent" means the executive officer of
the education service district or the county
school district serving the school district of
which the child is a resident.

(2) Before a child is taught by a parent
or private teacher, as provided in ORS
339.030, the parent or private teacher must
notify the superintendent in writing. The su-
perintendent shall acknowledge receipt of
the notification in writing and inform the
superintendent of the school district of the
child's residence. The notification must be
received and acknowledged before a child is
withdrawn from school and thereafter before
the start of each school year.

(3) Children being taught as provided in
subsection (2) of this section shall be exam-
ined annually in the work covered in accor-
dance with the following procedures:

(a) The State Board of Education shall
adopt by rule a list of approved comprehen-
sive examinations which are readily avail-
able.

(b) The parent shall select an examina-
tion from the approved list and arrange to
have the examination administered to the
child by a qualified neutral person, as de-
fined by rule by the State Board of Educa-
tion.

(c) The parent shall submit the results of
the examination or the completed examina-
tion to the superintendent. If a completed
examination is submitted, the superintendent
shall have it scored and shall notify the par-
ent of the results.

(d) If the superintendent determines after
examining the results of the examination
that the child is not showing satisfactory ed-
ucational progress, as defined by rule by the
State Board of Education, the superintendent
may order the parent or other person having
control of the child to send the child to
school for the remainder of the school year.

(e) The parent or other person having
control of the child may appeal the order to
the Superintendent of Public Instruction,
whose decision in the matter may be ap-
pealed to the circuit court. 11985 c.579 §2; 1989
c.619 §41

339.040 Attendance supervisors; ap-
pointment; compensation. (1) The execu-
tive officer of the adminiatrative office for



339.195 EDUCATION AND CULTURAL FACiLITIES

attending district submitting the tuition no-
tification. This figure multiplied by the total
days' attendance of the individual child in
the attending district shall represent the tui-
tion charge to the resident district. The de-
partment shall adjust the amounts due each
district so as to cause districts to remit only
the net amounts due as between districts.
11971 c.402 §3; 1973 c327 §2; 1979 c.836 §1; 1983 c.731 §8;
1985 c.523 §1; 1987 c.318 §1; 1987 c333 §2; 1989 c.620 §31

339.190 (Repealed by 1965 c.100 04561

339.195 Responsibility for education of
children at youth care centers; funding;
enforcement. (1) Every child at a youth
care center, as defined in ORS 420.855, which
is operated by a private agency, is entitled
to receive appropriate education suited to
the needs of the child in the least restrictive
environment in which the child can function
until the child is no longer of compulsory
school age or receives a high school diploma
or an equivalent. The child is a dependent
child within the meaning of ORS 339.165.

(2) The attending district shall provide
the education in the manner described in
ORS 339.185 (2) and shall develop an educa-
tional plan for the children in the youth care
center in consultation with the director of
the center. The plan shall be submitted to
the Department of Education annually. In
the second and subsequent years, the attend-
ing district also shall report on the operation
of the previous year's plan in such detail as
the State Board of Education shall specify by
rule.

(3) If the child described in subsection (1)
of this section is at a youth care center lo-
cated in the school district of which the
child is a resident, the school district is re-
sponsible for the education of the chibi.

(4) Payments from the Department of
Education from funds appropriated specif-
ically for this section shall be distributed on
a per capita basis according to the number
of children for whom the Children's Services
Division contracts for care and rehabilitation
under ORS 420.855 to 420.885 but shall ex-
clude those for whom a handicapped billing
is made under ORS 339.185.

(5) In order to be eligible for any funds
under subsection (4) of this section, an at-
tending district must provide education lead-
ing to a diploma or equivalent.

(6) The Superintendent of Public Instruc-
tion shall have the authority to enforce the
provisions of ORS 339.165 to 339.195. If an
attending district fails to comply, the super-
intendent shall find the district deficient and
shall apply the penalty provided in ORS
327.103.

(7) By January 1, 1988, the State Board
of Education shall adopt rules to implement
this section.

(8) Nothing in this section limits or oth-
erwise applies to educational rights of chil-
dren in youti care centers operated by public
agencies. (1987 c.817 §21

339.200 1Repealed by 1965 c.100 §4561

PUPIL CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE
339.240 Rules of pupil conduct and

discipline; duties of state board and dis-
trict school boards. (1) The State Board of
Education in accordance with ORS 183.310
to 183.550 shall prepare and promulgate to
all school districts minimum standards for
pupil conduct and discipline and for rights
and procedures pertaining thereto that are
consistent with orderly operation of the edu-
cational processes and with fair hearing re-
quirements.

(2) Every district school board shall
adopt and attempt to give the widest possible
distribution of copies of reasonable written
rules regarding pupil conduct, discipline and
rights and procedures pertaining thereto.
Such rules must comply with minimum
standards promulgated by the State Board of
Education under subsection (1) of this sec-
tion. 11971 c.561 §§2 31

339.250 Duty of pupil to comply with
rules; discipline; written information on
alternative program required. (1) Public
school pupils shall comply with rules for the
government of such schools, pursue the pre-
scribed course of study, use the prescribed
textbooks and submit to the teachers' au-
thority.

(2) Pursuant to the written policies of a
district school board, an individual who is a
teacher, administrator, school employee or
school volunteer may use reasonable physical
force upon a student when and to the extent
the individual reasonably believes it neces-
sary to maintain order in the school or
classroom or at a school activity or event,
whether or not it is held on school property.
The district school board shall adopt written
policies to implement this subsection and
shall inform such individuals of the existence
and content of these policies.

(3) The district school board may author-
ize the discipline, suspension or expulsion of
any refractory pupil.

(4) Wilful disobedience, open defiance of
a teacher's authority or the use of profane
or obscene language is sufficient cause for
discipline, suspension or expulsion from
school.

(5) Expulsion of a pupil shall not extend
beyond the current term or semester unless
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the semester ends within such a short period
of time that the expulsion would be too short
to be effective. However, the expulsion shall
not extend beyond the second term or se-
mester.

(6) A school district board shall consider
and propose to the pupil prior to expulsion
or leaving school, and document to the par-
ent, legal guardian or person in parental re-
lationship, alternative proVams of
instruction or instruction combined with
counseling for the pupil that are appropriate
and accessible to the pupil in the following
c ircumstances:

(a) When a pupil is expelled pursuant to
subsection (4) of this section;

(b) Following a second or subsequent oc-
currence within any three-year period of a
severe disciplinary problem with a pupil;

(e) When it has been determined that a
pupil's attendance pattern is so erratic that
the pupil is not benefiting from the educa-
tional program; or

(d) When a parent or legal guardian ap-
plies for a pupil's exemption from compulsory
attendance on a semiannual basis as provided
in ORS 339.030 (5).

(7) Information on alternative programs
provided under subsection (6) of this section
shall be in writing. The information need not
be given to the pupil and the parent, guard-
ian or person in parental relationship moreoften than once every six months unless the
information has changed because of the
availability of new programs.

(8)(a) The authority to diseipline a pupil
does not authorize the infliction of corporal
punishment. Every resolution, bylaw, rule,
ordinance or other act of a district school
board or of the Department of Education thatpermits or authorizes the infliction of
corporal punishment upon a jpil is void and
unenforceable.

(b) As used in this subsection, "corporal
punishment" means the wilful infliction of,
or wilfully causing the infliction of, physical
pain on a pupil.

(c) As used in this subsection, "corporal
punishment" does not mean:

(A) The use of physical force authorized
by ORS 161.205 for the reasons specified
therein; or

(B) Physical pain or discomfort resulting
from or caused by participation in athletic
competition or other such recreational activ-
ity, voluntarily engaged in by a pupil. 11965
c 100 §289; 1971 c.561 §1; 1975 c.665 §1; 1979 c 739 §1a;
1979 c.836 §2; 1981 c.246 §2; 1989 c.619 §2; 1989 c.889 §11

339.253 11979 c.739 §2; 1981 c.246 §3, 1987 c.675 §3;
1989 c.619 §3; renumbered 339.620 in 19.,k1

339.255 11979 e.836 §3; 181 c.246 §4; renumbered
339.640 in 19891

339.260 Injury to school property by
pupil; withholding records until damage
paid; waiven rules; inspection. (1) No pu-
pil shall wilfully damage or injure any school
property or threaten or wilfully injure any
fellow pupil or faculty member.

(2) A pupil who violates subsection (1) of
this section may be disciplined, suspended or
expelled.

(3) Any school district which is owed a
fee or the property of which has been lost or
wilfully damaged or injured may withhold
the grade reports, diploma or records of the
pupil who owes the fee or is responsible for
the loss or damage until the pupil or the
parent or guardian of the pupil has paid the
amount owed.

(4) When the pupil or the parent or
guardian of the pupil is unable to pay the
amount owed under subsection (3) of this
section, the school district may waive the
amount owed.

(5) The parent or guardian of such pupil
shall be liable for damages as otherwise pro-
vided by law.

(6) Notwithstanding subsections (3) and
(4) of this section, a school district shall not
withhold the records of a pupil in the cir-
cumstances described in ORS 336.195 (3) orwhen such records are requested by another
school district for use in the appropriate
placement of the pupil.

(7) Before any grade reports, diplomas or
records are withhelid under subsections (3) or
(4) of this section, a school district board of
directors shall adopt rules of procedure
which insure that the rights of the pupil to
due process are protected.

(8) Nothing in subsection (3) of this sec-
tion is intended to prevent inspection of stu-
dent records by a parent or legal guardian
pursuant to OR.S 336.195 (2) or 343.173. 11965
c.100 §290; 1971 c.561 §4; 1986 c.614 §11

339.270 Assessment of costs of school
property damage against responsible pu-pil or parents; action to recover; limita-
tion. (1) The amount of damage to any
school property shall be determined by pro-
cedures established by the district school
board and they may be assessed against the
pupil wilfully causing the injury or damage
and against the parent or parents having le-
gal custody of the pupil.

(2) If the assessed damages are not paid
as demanded, the district school board, in
addition to any other remedy provided by
law, may bring an action under this section
against the pupil and the parent or parents
having legal custody of the pupil in a court

5



339.420 EDUCATION AND CULTURAL FACILITIES

of competent jurisdiction for the amount of
the assessed damages not to exceed $5,000
plus costs. 11971 c361 §5, 1975 c.712 §2, 1977 c.419 §21

339.310

339.320

11965 c.100 §291; repealed by 1973
11965 c.100 §292; repealed by 1973

c.728

c.728

339.330 11965 c.10O §2$3; repealed by 1973 c.728 §61

339.340 11965 e.100 §294; repealed by 1973 c.728 §61

339.350 11965 c.100 §295, repealed by 1973 c.728 §61

339.380 11965 c.100 §296; repealed by 1973 c.728 §61

MISCELLANEOUS
339.410 11965 c.100 §297; repealed by 1979 c228 §11

339.420 Attendance at religious in-
struction. Upon application of the parent or
guardian of the child, or, if the clad has at-
tained the age of majority, upon application
of the child, a child attending the public
school may be excused from school for peri-
dads not exceeding two hours in any week for
elementary pupils and five hours in any week
for secondary pupils to attend weekday
schools giving instruction in religion. 11965

c.100 §298; 1973 c.827 §32; 1977 c.276 §11

339.450 Prohibited grounds for denying
participation in interscholastic athletics.
No school, school district or association,
whether public or private, shall deny any
grade or high school student the right to
participate in interscholastic athletics solely
on the ground that the student transferred
between schools or participated in athletics
at another school. 11983 c.823 §21

ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION
PROGRAM

339.605 Definition for ORS 339.605 to
339.635. As used in ORS 339.605 to 339.635,
"alternative education program" means a
school or separate class group designed to
assist students to achieve the goals of the
curriculum in a manner consistent with their
learning styles and needs. 11987 c.673 §11

339.615 Goals; district responsibility;
rules. (1) In implementing alternative educa-
tion programs, district school boards shall
maintain learning situations that are flexible
with regard to environment, time, structure
and pedagogy.

(2) Students participating in alternative
education programs are considered to be the
responsibility of the resident district for pur-
poses of O'M 332.072.

(3) The State Board of Education by rule
shall define the accountable activities and
allowable credit for these activities in alter-
native education programs. 11987 c 675 §21

339.620 Enrollment in alternative pro-
gram; costs; private program not re-
quired to employ eertificated personnel;
when district not required to provide al-
ternative program; validity of teaching

certificate. (1) Pursuant to the proposal re-
quired in ORS 339.250 (6)(a) to (c), the parent
or guardian with the approval of the attend-
ing district may enroll the pupil in one of the
proposed appropriate and accessible public
alternative programs or the private alterna-
tive programs of instruction or instruction
combined with counseling registered with the
Department of Education. If the child is de-
termined to be eligible for special education
under ORS 343.221 to 343.236 and 343.261 to
343.293, the program must be approved by
the Department of Education prior to the
placement of the pupil in the program. The
pupil enrolled pursuant to this subsection
shall be considered enrolled in the schools
of the district for purposes of the distribution
of the Basic School Support Fund.

(2) The alternate program in which the
pupil enrolls shall notify the school district
in which the pupil or the pupil's parents or
legal guardian, if any, resided at the time the
pupil enrolled of the child's enrollment and
may bill the school district foi tuition. The
billing may be made annually or at the end
of each term or semester of the alternate
program. For each full-time equivalent pupil
enrolled in the alternative education pro-
gram, as defined in ORS 339.605, the school
district shall pay the actual cost of the pro-
gram or an amount at least equivalent to 80
percent of the district's estimated current
year's average per pupil net operating ex-
penditure, whichever is lesser, in accordance
with rules adopted by the State Board of Ed-
ucation. The alternate program will be ac-
countable for the expenditures of all basic
school and other local school support funds,
providing the school district with an annual
statement of such expenditures.

(3) A private alternative program that is
registered with the Department of Education
is not required to employ only certificated
teachers or administrators. Teachers and ad-
ministrators in such private programs shall
not be considered employees of any district
for purposes of OR.S 342.173.

(4) A school district is not required to
provide a public alternative program if there
are public or private alternative programs
that are appropriate and accessible to the
pupil to which a pupil can be referred.

(5) Any Oregon teaching certificate is
valid for teaching all subjects and grade lev-
els in an alternative education program op-
erated by a school district or education
service district. (Formerly 339.253)

339.625 Notification of availability of
program; rulemaking. The State Board of
Education shall adopt rules regarding district
notification to parents and students of the
availability of alternative programs, the law

Ii
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ATTENDANCE; ADMISSION; DISCIPLINE; ALTERNATIVES 339.990

regarding altzrnative programs and the pro-
ce ures for requesting district school boards
to establish alternative programs. (1987 c.675
§41

339.635 District evaluation of pro-
gram. Each district operating, participating
in or contracting for, an alternative educa-
tion program shall evaluate each program
annually. 11987 c.675 $51

339.640 Effect of failure to propose al-
ternative programs. (1) The Superintendent
of Public Instruction shall find a school dis-
trict to be deficient within the meaning of
ORS 327.103 if the district fails to cause the
proposal of alternative programs to be made
under ORS 339.250 (6) or (7).

(2) The failure to cause the proposal of
alternative programs shall not be grounds for

a civil action against the school district.
(Formerly 339 2551

PENALTIES
339.990 Penalties. Violation of ORS

339.020 or the requirements of ORS 339.035
is punishabi,t, upon conviction, by a fine of
not more than $100, or by imprisonment in
the county jail for not more than 30 days, or
both. (Amended by 1965 c.100 §299; 1967 c.67 $10; 1985
c.597 $31

CHAPTER 340

(Reserved for expansion)
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1 OAR, 581-21-071
2 District Information for Parents and Students
3 Regarding the Availability of Alternative Education Programs
4
5 Statutory
6
7 SBE
8 OAR
9

10 581-21-071
11 District Information for Parents and Students Regarding the Availability of
12 Alternative Education Programs
13
14 (1) The following definitions apply to OAR 581-21-071:
15 (a) "Erratic attendance" means the student is frequently absent to the degree
16 that he/she is not benefiting from the educational program.
17 (b) "Notification" means written notice, by personal service or certified mail,
18 to the parent or guardian and student as required by ORS 339.250(6).
19
20 (2) District school boards shall adopt policies and procedures for notification to
21 students and parents, or guardians of the availability of appropriate and
22 accessible alternative programs. This notification shall be provided in the
23 following situations:
24 (a) Upon the occurrence of a second or any subsequent occurrence of a severe
25 disciplinary problem within a three-year period;
26 (b) When the district finds a student's attendance pattern to be so erratic that
27 the student is not benefiting from the educational program;
28 (c) When the district is considering expulsion as a disciplinary alternative;
29 (d) When a student is expelled pursuant to subsection (3) of ORS 339.250; and
30 (e) When an emancipated minor, parent, or legal guardian applies for a
31 student's exemption from compulsory attendance on a semiannual basis as
32 provided in ORS 339.030(5).
33
34 (3) The notification must include but is not limited to the following:
35 (a) Student action which is the basis for consideration of alternative education;
36 (b) Listing of alternative programs available to this student for which the
37 district would provide financial support in accordance with ORS 339.620
38 except that when notice is given in accordance with Section (2)(e) of This
39 rule the district shall not be obligated to provide financial support;
40 (c) The program recommended for the student based on student's learning
41 styles and needs; and
42 (d) Procedures for enrolling the student in the recommended program.
43 (e) When the parent or guardian's language is other than English, the district
44 must provide notification in a manner that the parent or guardian can
45 understand.
46
47 (4) The district shall inform all parents or guardians of the law regarding
48 alternative education and educational services available to students by such
49 means as a statement in the student/parent handbook, notice in the newspaper,

or an individual letter to a parent.
51

11 14



1 (5) District schlol boards shall adopt a procedure for parents or guardians to
2 request establishment of alternative programs within the district.
3
4 (6) District school boards shall not approve the enrollment of a pupil in a private
5 alternative program unless the private alternative program meets all
6 requirements of OAR 581-21-045.
7
8
9

10 dc OAR12
11 6/1/90

12



1 Oregon Administrative Rule 581-21-072
2 Regiwation of Private Alternative Programs
3

4 Statutory Authority: Chapter 339
5
6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-21-072, Registration of Private Alternative Programs

10
11 (1) For the purposes of ORS 339.620(1), prior to receiving public school funds, all
12 private alternative education programs shall renew registration with the
13 Oregon Department of Education annually by September 30. New private
14 alternative education programs developed or contracted with during the school
15 year shall be registered with the Oregon Department of Education prior to
16 receiving public school funds.
17
18 (2) The Oregon Department of Education shall distribute registration forms
19 annually by June 1 to private alternative programs currently registered with
20 the Department.
21
22 (3) The registration form for private alternative programs shall include:
23 (a) Program name, mailing address and telephone number;
24 (b) Name of administrator;
25 (c) List of staff and their certification, if any;
26 (d) Statement of philosophy;
27 (e) Grades, age levels, and special needs to be served by the program;

4110
28
29

(f) Statement of compliance with OAR 581-21-045;
(g) Documentation that the facilities used by the alternative program comply30 with the applicable fire, health, and safety regulations; and

31 (h) A list of the contracting districts which evaluated the program during the
32 previous school year.
33
34 (4) The Department may monitor the procedure used by the private alternative
35 program for reporting FTE for the purposes of basic school support.
36
37
38
39 dc OAR12
40 6/1/90
41
42
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1 Oregon Adnilnistrative inle,5a
2 Exemption from Compulsory Attendance
3

4 Authoritvi
5
6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-21-076, Exemption from Compulsory Attendance

10
11 (1) As used in this rule:
12 (a) "&choor means any public school, education service district program,
13 community college, college, university, public alternative program,
14 registered private alternative program, technical or vocational school or
15 training program, or being taught by a parent or private teacher pursuant
16 to ORS 339.035;
17 (b) "Semiannual" means prior to the next vacation or reentry time in the
18 school year but a minimum of two times per year;
19 (c) "Full-time work" means employment for 30 or more hours per week;
20 (d) "Full-time school" means attending an educational program for a period of
21 time defined as one FTE under OAR. 581-23-006; enrolling in a community
22 college, college or university for a minimum of 12 credit hours per term;
23 receiving 20 hours of instruction per week in a technical or vocational
24 school or training program; or being taught an equivalent period of time by
25 a parent or private teacher pursuant to ORS 339.035.
26 (e) "Emancipated minor" means any child who is an emancipated minor or who
27 has initiated the procedure for emancipation under ORS 109.550 to 109.565

410
28 (ORS 339.030(5)).
29 (f) "Part-time work and part-time school" means a combination of
30 work/education activities equivalent to 30 hours per week of involvement.
31
32 (2) The school district may grant exemption from compulsory attendance to the
33 parent or legal guardian of a child who is 16 or 17 years of age or an
34 emancipated minor, provided the child is:
35 (a) Employed full time;
36 (b) Employed part time and enrolled in a school part time; or
37 (c) Enrolled full time in a school.
38
39 (3) The request for exemption shall be in writing including documentation of the
40 child's employment by the employer or enrollment status by the school.
41 Additionally, the school shall request notification when the child's employment
42 or the child's enrollment status is terminated.
43
44 (4) When considering a request for exemption from compulsory attendance, a
45 school district shall conduct an interview that shall include, but need not be
46 limited to, the following:
47 (a) Attendance by the child and the parent or legal guardian or the
48 emancipated minor;
49 (b) Attendance by a school counselor or school administrator;
50 (c) Consideration of the reasons for the request; and
51 (d) Review of the following information about the child or emancipated minor:
52 (A) Credit for graduation,
53 (B) Grades,
54
55

(C) Current handicapping status, if applicable,
(D) Prior handicapping status, if applicable,

56 (E) Results of standardized tests,
57 (F) Teacher evaluations,

15 17



1 (G) Counselor appraisal,
2 (H) Immediate plans,
3 (I) Short-range and career goals; and
4 (J) Other relevant information.
5
6 (5) If the exemption from compulsory attendance is granted, the school district
7 shall give the child and the parent or legal guardian the following information
8 in writing:
9 (a) Alternative programs of instruction or instruction combined with

10 counseling are available, as provided in ORS 339.250(6) and (7);
11 (b) The exemption is granted for a limited time, must be renewed on a
12 semiannual basis and will be reviewed by the school district on a certain
13 date; and
14 (c) The district shall notify the parent of the need to reapply for an exemption
15 by a specific date or return the student to school until the child attains a
16 high school diploma, GED, or the age of 18.
17
18 (6) The rule is effective July 1, 1990.
19
20
21
22 dc OAR12
23 6/1/90
24
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1 OAR 581-22-317
2 Altermative Education Progra_rns
3
4 Statutory Authority: ORS Chapter 339 as amended by SB 329

6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-22-317

10 Alternative Education Programs
11
12 (1) A school district shall grant credit for work satisfactorily completed in an
13 alternative education program as defined in ORS 339.605 and 615, provided
14 the student:
15 (a) Successfully completes classroom or equivalent work (e.g., supervised
16 independent study, work experience, research) in a course of at least 130
17 clock hours in accordance with OAR 581-22-102;
18 (b) Completes a unit of credit in a school accredited by Northwest
19 Association of Schools and Colleges;
20 (c) Completes a unit of credit where performanced-based criteria acceptable
21 to the school district are identified; or
22 (d) Demonstrates competency or mastery of subject as defined by the school
23 district by any one or more of the following as approved by the district:
24 (A) Successfully passes an appropriate exam;
25 (B) Provides sample of work or other evidence whicfl demonstrates
26 equivalent knowledge or skill; and
27 (C) Provides documentation of prior learning activities or experiences
28
29

(e.g., certification of training, letters, diplomas, awards, etc.).

30 (2) Students served by public and private alternative programs shall be Athose
31 identified under ORS 339.250(6) and other students whose acadentic or
32 vocational interests and needs are best served through participation in such
33 programs.
34
35 (3) The local board shall approve private and public alternative education
36 programs operated or contracted by districts.
37
38 (4) Districts shall adopt policies and procedures for annual evaluation of public
39 and private alternative education programs pursuant to ORS 339.635.
40
41 (5) Districts shall adopt policies and procedures for notification to parents and42 students regarding the availability of alternative education programs that are43 appropriate and accessible in accordance with OAR 581-21-071.
44
45
46
47 dc 0AR462
48 6/1/90



QtvranAgminiatrasiys Rule581-23-008
2 Accountable Activities for Alternative Education Programs
3
4 Statutory Authority:
5
6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-23-008

10 Accountable Activities for Alternative Education Programs
11
12 OAR 581-23-008, Accountable activities for purposes of ORS 339.253 are defined
13 as one or more of the following as approved by the school dictrict by contract:
14
15 (1) Tutorial Instruction;
16
17 (2) Small Group instruction;
18
19 (3) Large group instruction;
20
21 (4) Personal growth and development instruction;
22
23 (5) Counseling and guidance;
24
25 (6) Computer assisted instruction;
26
27 (7) Vocational training;
28
29 (8) Cooperative work experience and/or supervised work experience;
30
31 (9) Instructional activities provided by institutions accredited by the Northwest
32 Association of Schools and Colleges;
33
34 (10) Supervised community service activities performed as part of the
35 instructional program; and
36
37 (11) Supervised independent study in accordance with a student's educational goals.
38
39
40
41 dc OAR462
42 11/30/88
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State Board of Education Policies

3820.10 Student ketention

The State Board recognizes that many students face uncertain futures as family
members, citizens, and productive employees because they cannot gain access to,
or benefit from, traditional school programs. The state and local school districts,
in concert with business and community resources, should reach out to all students
at risk of leaving school prior to graduation.

The Board recommends extensive involvement of schools with parents and
community child-serving -agencies to assess each child's social and economic
conditions and then create opportunities for success for each at-risk student. This
will require well-integrated student retention programs with:

Accommodation of individual learning styles and needs.

Preservice and inservice training in working with at-risk students for
teachers.

Intensive counseling and mentoring to help the student make a personal
investment in school.

Personalized programs to help students learn essential skills and thereby
improve academic performance.

Incentives for staying in school; support services should include career
planning and coordinated work programs, health care, parent education, and
infant care facilities for the adolescent parent.

Transition programs for students at key points in grades K-12 .

Collaboration of school, parent and community organizations in support of
student retention efforts, including alternative, private and public schools,
and community college programs.

Coordination with other agencies to assist children and families whose
problems affect student success in school.

Further, the Board recognizes the value of the following efforts in reaching at-risk
students:

State-supported preschool and early school programs.

Recognition and replication of effective programs.

A state system of student retention information and research which is used
to develop appropriate policies and to target resources.

Coordination of all resources toward reversing the multi-decade trend of
early school leaving.

The development of division and Department annual goals and activities
which will promote student retention.
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State Board of Education Policies

Ref: ORS 339.250 - Duty of Pupil to Comply With Rules; Discipline; Alternate
Programs
ORS 339.253 - Enrollment in Alternate Programs of Instruction costs
ORS 339.255 - Effect of Failure to Propose Alternative Program
OAR 581-21-071 - District Information for Alternative Education Programs
OAR 581-22-317 - Allowable Credit for Alternative Education Programs
OA R 581-23-006 - Student Accounting Records and State Reporting
OAR 581-23-008 - Accountable Activities for Alternative Education Programs

(New Policy, Adopted 2/89)
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State Board of Education Policies

3830.2 Alternative Programs

The State Board recognizes that while most students learn from traditional
education programs in traditional settings, a number of students appear to
be unable to learn or benefit from those programs. Many of those students
also become involved with one or more of the agencies serving youth. It is
in the best interest of both the student and the state to coordinate the
impact of all those groups working with these particular students. It is
evident that unusual and nontraditional approaches must be developed and
expanded in approaching the educational aspect of this problem.

The Board encourages school districts to develop and support alternative
educational ptograms to serve those students who experience difficulty in
the traditional education program. School districts shall establish policies
and procedures for identifying and counseling students with erratic
attendance patterns, severe disciplinary problems, or who are intending to
withdraw from the regular education program. Such students shall be
advised and assisted in securing alternative education and/or counseling.
Districts should establish working relationships with other youth-serving
agencies and organizations to develop coordinated and cooperative
programs that combine the role responsibilities of each agency into a
comprehensive delivery system. Districts should develop programs to
assist all students in gaining a better understanding of both their rights and
their responsibilities as students and citizens.

The State Superintendent shall assist school districts in implementing
alternative programs according to ORS 339.250 and ORS 339.253.

Ref: ORS 339.250 - Duty of Pupil to Comply with Rules, Discipline; Alternative
Programs
ORS 339.253 - Enrollment in Alternative Programs
OAR 581-21-071 - District Information for Parents and students on Alternative
Education Programs
OAR 581-22-317 - Allowable Credit for Alternative Education Programs
OAR 581-23-008 Accountable Activities for Alternative Education Programs
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State Board of Education Policies

5210 Compulsory School Attendance

Society's needs can best be met by an educated and informed public. Students,
with guidance from parents or guardians, have a responsibility to pursue and
actively participate in the educational process in order to become productive
citizens and family members.

Statutory school attendance requirements allow little flexibility to local
districts. More can be done to retain students in educational activities leading to
graduation and the acquisition of employment skills, through appropriate
administrative rules and local programs.

The State Board believes that:

All school-age children have the right to educational supervision and
guidance of the local school district.

Providing these opportunities calls for a revised definition of compulsory
school attendance statutes, and this should fall within the purview of the
State Board.

Exemptions from compulsory attendance for students suffering from
disabilities as defined by law, should rest with the State Board.

Exemptions from compulsory attendance for students taught at home or in
private or parochial schools, or as provided for by law, should be
determined legislatively as in ORS 339.030(2), (5), and (7).

Ref: ORS Chapter 339 - School Attendance; Admission; Discipline; Alternative
Education Programs
ORS Chapter 343 - Special Education Services
ORS 581, Division 15 - Special Education

(New Policy, Adopted 2/89)
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GUIDELINES FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS

Checklist for Standard OAR 581-22-317
and Sample Board Policy
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CHECK LIST FOR STANDARD 581-22-317

AllernatimiSsiusallan_PIELEMMI

Standard Requirements

The district grants units of credit for work satisfactorily completed in an alternative
education program. Yes No

Evidence

The district defines "erratic attendance" and "severe disciplinary problem" in board
policy. Yes No

Evidence

The district has policy and procedures for informing students, parents and guardians
of the law regarding alternative education, alternative education services available,
and the district's policy for funding of alternative programs. Yes No

Evidenco

The district has policy and procedures for parents and guardians to request estab-
lishment of alternative programs within the district. Yes No

Evidence

The district has policy and procedures to provide alternative programs that are
appropriate and accessible which maintain learning situations that are flexible with
regard to environment, time, structure and pedagogy. Yes No

Evidence

The district has policy and procedures to provide alternative programs that assist the
student to achieve the goa;s of the curriculum in a manner consistent with their
learning styles and needs. Yes No

Evidence

The district has policy and procedures that assess and monitor the progress of the
student enrolled in an alternative program. Yes No

Evidence



The district has policy and procedures for notification of students, parents and
guardians of available Oregon Department of Education registered alternative
programs:

Upon the second occurrence of a severe disciplinary problem within a three-year
period, Yes No

Evidence

If the student's attendance is so erratic that he/she is not benefiting from the current
education program, Yes No

Evidence

If the student is being considered for expulsion as a disciplinary alternative.
Yes No

Evidence

When a student is expelled pursuant to subsection (3) of ORS 339.250,
Yes No

Evidence

Or, when the district grants an exemption from compulsory attendance as provided
under ORS 339.030. Yes No

Evidence

The district has policy and procedures to evaluate annually the public and private
alternative programs it operates, participates in, or contracts with.

Yes No

Evidence
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Oregon School Boards Association
Selected Sample Policy

ALTERNATIVE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS*

Code: JGEB

Adopted:

The Board is dedicated to keeping all students enrolled in the regular educationalprogram. It is recognized, however, that there will be students in the district whomay benefit educationally in an alternative program.

A list of Board-approved alternative programs will be adopted. Annual evaluation ofalternative programs and student performance will be made.

Alternative programs will be alternative programs of instruction or alternativeprograms of instruction combined with counseling. These programs may be public orprivate. Public and private alternative programs shall be registered with the OregonDepartment of Education. Alternative programs must meet all the requirements setforth in OAR 581-21-045. Home schooling by the parent is not an alternativeplacement. The parent, guardian or person in parental relationship is responsiblefor enrolling the student. If the student is 18 years of age, the student isresponsible.

The district shall pay the actual cost of the alternative program or an amount thatis at least equivalent to 80% of the district's estimated current year's average perpupil net operating expenditure, whichever is lesser. The district is not obligatedto provide or pay for transportation. The district will enter into a writtencontract with the program.

If a student, sixteen years or older, voluntarily withdraws from the school, thedistrict must provide the same documentation of alternative prograns; however, thedistrict has no obligation to pay for such programs.

If a student is not successful in the alternative program, there is no obligation topropose or fund a second alternative.

END OF POLICY

Legal References:

ORS 332.072
OAR 581-21-070

ORS 339.030 - 339.990 OAR 581-21-071
ORS 339.250

OAR 581-22-317
ORS 339.635

OAR 581-22-502
OAR 581-21-045

OAR 581-23-006
OAR 581-21-065

OAR 581-23-008

Cross References:

Policy JGEAB - In-district Alternative Educational ProgramsPolicy JGEAC - Notification of Alternative Education
Policy JGEAD - Alternative Educational Programs Following Expulsion

29
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Oregon School Boards Association
Selected Sample Policy

Code: JGEAC

Adopted:

IN-DISTRICT ALTERNATIVE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS*

The superintendent will develop in-district alternative programs in compliance with

Oregon Administrative Rules and Oregon Revised Statutes:

1. For students who are unable to succeed in the regular programs;

2. When a public or private alternative program is not readily available or

accessible.

Alternative programs implemented by the district are to "maintain learning situations

that are flexible with regard to environment, time, structure and pedagogy."

Examples of district programs would include:

1. A separate school;
2. Evening classes;

3. Tutorial instruction;

4. Small group instruction;

5. Large group instruction;

6. Personal growth and development instruction;

7. Counseling and guidance;

8. Computer-assisted instruction;

9. Vocational training;

10. Cooperative work experience and/or supervised work experience;

11. Instructional activities provided by institutions accredited by the Northwest

Association of Schools and Colleges;

12. Supervised community service activities performed as part of the instructional

program; and
13. Supervised independent study in accordance with a student's educational goals.

The superintendent will develop a procedure for establishing alternative programs.

END OF POLICY

Legal References:

ORS 332.072
ORS 339.030 - 339.990
ORS 339.250
ORS 339.635
OAR 581-21-045
OAR 581-21-065

Cross Reference:

OAR 581-21-070
OAR 581-21-071
OAR 581-22-317
OAR 581-22-502
OAR 581-23-006
OAR 581-23-008

Policy JGEA - Alternative Educational Programs

Policy JGEAC - Notification of Alternative Education

Policy JGEAD - Alternative Educational Programs Following Expulsion
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Oregon School Boards Association
Selected Sample Policy

ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION NOTIFICATION *

Code: MEAD

Adopted:

General notification of the alternative education law shall be zontained in the
student/parent/(guardian) handbook distributed each year.

Individual notification to students and parents or guardians regarding the
availability of alternative programs will be given under the following situations:

1. When two or more severe disciplinary problems occur within a three-y. r period;
Severe disciplinary problems will be defined in the [code of conduct].

2. When attendance is so erratic the student is not benefitting from the
educational program; Erratic attendance will be defined on a case-by-case
basis.

3. When an expulsion is being considered;

4. When a student is expelled;

5. When a student or the student's parent or legal guardian notifies the
of intent to withdraw.

Individual notification shall be hand-delivered or sent by certified mail.
shall receive individual notification prior to an actual expulsion.

district

Parents

Notification shall include:

1. The student's action;

2. A list of alternative programs for this student;

3. The program recommendations based upon the student's learning styles and needs;

4. Procedures for enrolling the student in the recommended program.

The superintendent will develop notification procedures in accordance with Oregon
Revised Statutes.

END OF POLICY

Legal References:

ORS 332.072
ORS 339.250
OAR 581-21-071

Cross References:

3 A.

Policy JGEA - Alternative Educational Programs

JGEAB - In-district Alternative Educational Programs
Policy JGEAD - Alternative Educational Programs Following Expulsion
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Oregon School Boards Association
Selected Sample Policy

Code: JGEAE

Adopted:

ALTERNATIVE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS FOLLOWING EXPULSION *

Prior to any student expulsion, the district will document to the parent or guardian
of that student the appropriate educational alternatives. Such alternative programs
will be instructional, or instructional combined with counseling.

The proposal of potential alternatives will be hand delivered or sent by certified
mail to assure that the parent/guardian has received it prior to the time of actual
expulsion.

Appropriate programs may be either public or private (non-sectarian). Programs may
be provided by the district as a separate school, evening classes, or tutorial
instruction. Homebound instruction could be considered an appropriate alternative.

The district shall pay the actual cost of the alternative program or an amount that
is at least equivalent to 80% of the district's estimated current year's average per
pupil net operating expenditure, whichever is lesser. The district is not obligated
to provide or pay for transportation. The district will enter into a written
contract with the program.

If a student, sixteen years or older, voluntarily withdraws from the school, the
district must 1 'vide the same documentation of alternative programs. However, the
district has no obligation to pay for such programs.

If a student is not successful in the alternative program, there is no obligation to
propose or fund a second alternative.

END OF POLICY

Legal References:

ORS 339.250 - 339.253
OAR 581-21-071
OAR 581-22-502
OAR 581-23-006
OAR 581-23-008

* These Sample Board Policies were furnished by the Oregon
School Boards Association.
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*

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

NOTIFICATION AND AVAILABILITY OF ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMS

Question: Must school districts inform all parents or guardians of the
availability of alterative programs?

Answer: Yes, the district must generally inform all parents or guardians of the law
regarding alternative education and educational services available by such means as
the student/parent handbook or newspaper notice, or individual letter to a parent.

Question: Under what circumstances must school districts provide
Individual notification of the availability of appropriate and accessible
alternative programs to students and parents or guardians? How often
must such notification be given?

Answer: Individual written notification to students and parents or guardians must
be given in the following instances: (a) upon the occurrence of a second or any sub-
sequent occurrence of a severe disciplinary problem within a three-year period; (b)
when the district finds a student's attendance pattern so erratic that the student is not
benefitting from the eduction programs; (c) when the district is considering expulsion
as a disciplinary alternative; (d) when a student is expelled pursuant to Section 3 of
ORS 339.250; and (e) when an emancipated minor, parent, or legal guardian applies
for a student's exemption from compulsory attendance on a seminannual basis as
provided in ORS 339.030(5). (See OAR 581-21-071, District Information for Parents
and Students on Alternative Education Programs.) Notification shall be given at least
every six months and more often if new programs become available.

Question: Must the district propose more than one alternative program?

Answer: Yes, ORS 339.250(6) states, ". . .a district school board shall consider
and propose to the pupil. . . alternative programs of instruction. . ."

Question: If a district tells students that the district no longer has an
appropriate educational program available to the student, and that the
student would be better off to leave the school, Is the district relieved of
the obligation to provide an educational program?

Answer: No, ORS 332.072 states, "A school district is responsible for the educa-
tion of all children residing within the school district." Although a school district may
excuse a child from compulsory education under certain circumstances, telling the
student or parents that the student would be better off to leave school could be con-
strued as depriving the child of an education program without due process.

35

3,4



Question: What if the proposed alternative program does not have any
openings or is located out of the area?

Answer: A proposed alternative program must be one that is "appropriate and
accessible" to the student. A program would not be accessible if the student should
not have to be placed on a waiting list , has to wait until a new semester or quarter
begins, or has to move away from home in order to attend the program.

Question: If a student is about to be expelled, how much pressure can
the parents exert on the school to place the child In an alternative
program?

Answer: The district is not obligated to place the child in an alternative program
as long as the district is offering an appropriate program. Once the notice for an
expulsion hearing has been sent to the parents, and the student has been suspended
prior to the hearing, the district has an obligation to propose alternative programs of
instruction.

Question: If a student Just quits attending school, but does not formally
withdraw from school, is the district obligated to provide notification of
alternative programs?

Answer: No, OAR 581-21-071(2)(e) and ORS 339.250(6)(d) provide that the
notification is only required when the student or the student's parents or legal
guardian "applies for a pupil's exemption from compulsory attendance on a semian-
nual basis as provided in ORS 339.030(5). The district must, however, cooperate with
the attendance supervisors in attempting to get the student back into school unless
the student is exempt from the compulsory attendance laws.

Question: What is the district required to do when expelling a student in
regard to an alternative program of instruction?

Answer: Prior to expulsion, the district is required to consider, propose, and
document to parents, legal guardian or person in parental relationship to the pupil,
alternative programs of instruction, or instruction combined with counseling for the
student.

The word "document" means to furnish written information. The proposed alternative
program should be hand-delivered or sent by certified mail. The district should be
sure the parent receives it prior to the time of actual expulsion and that the district has
documentation that it has fulfilled its obligation.

The statute says that the district shall consider and propose. . . alternate programs.
The alternate programs of instruction, or instruction combined with counseling, con-
templated under ORS 339.250(6) and (7), may be public alternative programs in the
district or private alternative programs. Example of district programs would include a
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separate school, evening classes, or tutorial instruction by district certificated staff.
Alternative programs implemented by the district are to: "maintain learning situations
that are flexible with regard to environment, time, structure and pedagogy." ORS

339.615(1).

Question: Are there any penalties for a district's failure to propose
alternative programs of Instruction prior to the expulsion of a student/

Answer: Yes, a district can be found deficient in standards if it does not propose
alternate education programs prior to expulsion'. This would make a district vulnera-
ble to losing basic school support funds as outlined in ORS 327.103. Failure to
propose and document to the parent the alternative programs, however, is not a basis
for a civil suit. See ORS 339.255.

Question: if the parent of a student sixteen years or older applies for an
exemption to the compulsory attendance law under ORS 339.030(5),
what Is the district required to do?

Answer: The school district must notify the parent of appropriate and accessible
alternative programs of instruction or counseling, or regular programs of instruction
combined with counseling, for the student. The district is not obligated to pay for the
proposed program, however, districts mu, pass along support for such students.
Refer also to ORS 339.030.

PLACEMENT, TRANSPORTATION, AND FUNDING OF ALTERNATIVE
PROGRAMS

Question: Who is responsible for enrolling the student in an alternative
program?

Answer: The parent, guardian or person in parental relationship is responsible
for enrolling the student. If the child is over eighteen years of age or is emancipated,
the child is responsible.

Question: is the parent legally required to enroll the student in the
alternative program proposed by the District?

Answer: No, during the period of expulsion, the parent has a right, but not a legal
requirement, to enroll the child in an alternate program proposed by the district.
The expulsion acts as an exemption to the compulsory attendance law which requires
the parent to send a child to school. After the period of expulsion, the parent must re-
enroll the child, unless the child qualifies for one of the exemptions to compulsory
attendance at ORS 339.030. If the parent does not fulfill the legal duty to send the
child to school, the parent is liable for the fine and imprisonment penalty established
at ORS 339.990.
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Question: is the school district obligated to provide transportation for a
student to attend a proposed alternative program?

Answer: The district is not obligated to provide transportation. However, if the
alternative program is not accessible, the school district must then propose another
alternative program.

Question: Who pays for the alternative program?

Answer: The school district must pay the actual cost of the program or an amount
at least equivalent to 80 percent of the district's estimated current years average per
pupil net operating expenditure, whichever is lesser. The district has authority to pay
for additional tuition, but is not required to do so. If the parent chooses an alternative
program not proposed or agreed to by the district, the parent is fully responsible for
payment. The school district may restrict its funding for an alternative program to the
amount of basic school support only if the district and private program agree that this
is to be the actual cost to the district.

Question: liow does a district arrange to pay for alternative education?

Answer: It is advisable for the districts to enter into a written contract with the
program. The contract should state the length of the school day, the records to be
maintained, and the formula for payment by the district to the alternative education
program. The contract should also state that the program will make an annual state-
ment of expenditure of all basic and local school support funds as is required by ORS
339.253(2).

Question: if a student's family moves to another district during the
alternative placement, who has responsibility for the student placement
and tuition? is district B obligated to the placement of district A?

Answer: ORS 339.615(2) states that the resident district is responsible for the
alternative placement. When the student's family moves, the new resident district
must evaluate the student and determine the appropriate placement. They may
decide to allow the student to continue in the alternative placement and pay the
tuition. (NOTE: This would not be true if a student is over eighteen or legally emanci-
pated. In those cases, the student's residency is determined by where the student
actually resides. See ORS 332.595.

Question: is a situation where the parent teaches the child at home analternative placement?

Answer: No, home schooling by the parent is an exemption under the
Compulsory Attendance Law. ORS 339.030(5)
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Question: If a student has not been expelled but has been referred to
an alternative program and then falls to attend or to follow program
rules, what options does the district have?

Answer: It could (1) return the child to the regular instructional program; (2)
propose and allow the student to enroll in a different alternative program; or (3)
proceed with the expulsion process if the facts warrant expulsion.

Question: What Is the obligation of the district to provide an education
to a student who has been expelled but does not follow through on
attending the program?

Answer: The district has relieved its obligation once it provides the notification. At
the end of the period of expulsion, the district and parent must follow the procedure for
students under the Compulsory Attendance laws. Unless the student comes within an
exemption, the parent must re-enroll the child in the public school.

Question: Is the district obligated to pay for alternative program
placement after the period of expulsion has elapsed?

Answer: If a child is determined by the school district and the parent to be able to
benefit from the alternative program, and it is agreed by the school district that the
child would be best served continuing in the alternative rather than returning to the
regular school program after the period of expulsion, the school district is authorized
to pay for this, but it is not obligated to do so.

Question: Is private tutoring an acceptable alternative program?

Answer: ORS 339.250 states that the district shall propose "alternative programs
of instruction or instruction combined with counseling for the pupil." Private tutoring
could be an acceptable alternative program only if it is the most appropriate option
available. It is recommended that tutoring be combined with counseling or some kind
of small group or large group instruction as the child gets ready to re-enter the public
school. Tutoring may even be combined with a correspondence program in geo-
graphically remote areas if it is suitable for a particular student's needs. A minimum of
five hours per week of individual should be provided. The district may claim basic
school support for tutoring on the basis of one hour tutorial instruction equaling one
full day's basic school support. See OAR 581-23-006(6)(a)(c) and 6(d).

Question: May the alternative program proposed by the district be a
part-time program and if so, how does the district account for the
student's time?

Answer: Yes, the district, at its discretion, may propose an alternative part-time
program. The district must ensure that the alternative school accurately accounts for
the student in a manner which will enable the district to receive the proper amount of
basic school support funds for the student. This means that accurate enrollment and
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attendance records must be kept by the alternative school and given to the district for
students in alternative programs. The alternative school has the statutory obligation
from by ORS 339.620(2) to °be accountable [to the district] for the expenditure of all
basic school and other school support funds, providing the school district with an
annual statement of expenditures." OAR 581-23-006 gives further specifics.

Question: May an alternate program be a private parochial school?

Answer: No. Oregon's Constitution prohibits giving state monies to religious
institutions, which would include an alternative program sponsored by a parochial
school. The alternative program proposed by the district must be nonsectarian.

Question: Is a community college program an appropriate referral?

Answer: If the program meets the learning styles and needs of the student, it may
be proposed to a parent the same as any other alternative program. The program
must be registered with the Oregon Department of Education as an alternative pro-
gram. The community college may have a contract with the district, and the district
would be obligated to pay the actual cost of the program or 80 percent of the district's
current year average per pupil operating expenditure, whichever is lesser, and the
community college may collect FTE on the student. See ORS 341.635.

Question: If an expelled student does not succeed in the alternative
program selected Jointly by the parent and the district, must the district
then offer another program?

Answer: No. If the student is failing in an alternative program originally approved by
the district under ORS 339.253, the district has no continuing obligation to propose a
second alternate program. The district must stand ready to re-enroll the student at the
end of the expulsion.

Question: When a student Is expelled who has an alcohol and/or drug
problem and ends up In a treatment program, is the district obligated to
pay for the program?

Answer: Alcoholism and drug addition are considered to be handicapping condi-
tions under the Regulations to Section 504 of the Vocational Rehabilitation Act of
1973. See Department of Education publication "Student Access". The district is
obligated to pay for the education component of the treatment program.

Question: Can transportation costs be considered in meeting the
district's obligation to pay the less of the actual cost of the program or
80 percent of the district's average per pupil net operating expenditure?

Answer: Transportation costs are not used in computing the district's per pupil net
operating expenditure; thus, these costs may not be included.
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PROGRAM EVALUATION, TEACHER CERTIFICATION, CREDIT AND
STUDENT ACCOUNTING

Question: Must the alternative program meet any standards?

Answer: The learning situation must be flexible with regard to environment, time,

structure, and pedagogy. ORS 339.615. The program must not discriminate, as out-

lined in OAR 581-21-045. It must be registered with the Department of Education and

approval by local school boards; or, if the child involved is eligible for special
education, the program must be approved by the Department of Education. ORS
339.260. The alternative program must follow required accounting procedures in

order to count the child for basic school support funds. See OAR-581-23-006 and
581-23-008. The alternate program must be evaluated by the school district at least

annually if the district operates, participates in, r contracts for the program.

Question: Do districts have to monitor or evaluate alternative education
programs?

Answer: If basic school support and other public funds are going to the program,
the district must conduct an annual evaluation of the alternative education program as

required by ORS 339.635. ORS 339.615 requires that the alternative program be

flexible in regard to environment, time, structure and pedagogy. Additionally, it is
recommended that the school district evaluate the site as to safety and adequacy.

The district should evaluate the adequacy of the curriculum and its transferability to

411/
the regular school as well as its adaptability to various student needs. A determina-
tion of the qualifications of the alternative program should be made by a school district
before it contracts with the alternative program.

Question: Do teachers in alternative education programs have to meet
certification and endorsement requirements of Teacher Standards and
Practices Commission (TSPC)?

Answer: If the teachers are employees of a school district or an ESD, the teacher
must hold a current Oregon Teaching Certificate. If the teacher is not a direct
employee, but is hired by a private alternative program or a community college, there

is not a requirement of teacher certification.

Questiom May a school district grant units of credit In an alternative
education program?

Answer: Yes, a district must grant credit if the student satisfactorily completes
work in certain situations as set forth in OAR 581-22-317.
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Question: How do the students' hours in private, alternative education
programs affect the amount of basic school support funds that the school
district receives for that student?

Answer: For private alternative programs, OAR 581-23-006, Section 6, provides
for the district to be reimbursed on an hourly formula for basic school support fund
purposes, based upon class size, i.e., large group, small group, or a tutorial setting as
defined by Subsections (1)(i), (1)(1) and (1)(n) of OAR 581-23-006.

"Instruction" for purposes of reimbursement of alternative programs means those
accountable activities described at OAR 581-23-008.

Question: What procedural due process must an alternative programfollow to exclude a student who is in the alternative program due to an
expulsion from a regular program?

Answer: A student may be excluded from the alternative program with minimal
due process. "Minimal due process" means that the student must be given some kind
of notice and afforded some kind of hearing prior to exclusion to ensure that the mis-
conduct actually occurred. See Goss v Lopez 419 U.S. 565(1975). The process
defined in OAR 581-21-065 relating to suspension would be sufficient. The reason for
the informal notice and hearing is that the student has the right to go back into the
regular public school program after the period of expulsion has ended and the
student has already been given full due process in the hearing on the original expul-
sion. ORS 339.250(5); OAR 581-21-070.

Question: What is the amount of time that will allow a school district to
claim one full day of basic school support for students being educated
individually or in small group?

Answer: See OAR 581-23-008 and OAR 581-23-006(6)(c) for details. One hour
of one-on-one tutoring, or three hours of small group instruction equates to a full date
of regular class attendance. OAR 581-23-006(6)(c) indicates that for small group
instruction (2-5 students), you multiply total hours of instruction by .333 and divide by
55 for the December 31 report and by 175 for the end-of-year report.

Question: A private alternative program has students attending three
hours per day under contract with the school district. The district keeps
them enrolled in the home high school. Three hours is more than half aday. Can the district claim these students on the basis of membership
rather than attendance?

Answer: No, they must be counted on the basis of attendance and reported on
Form 581-3201A.
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Question: A Residential Youth Care Center operates a private school.
The school district In which the program is located bills for these
children under the dependent child billing process and contracts with
the Residential Youth Care Center for the education program. How
should these children be counted for the purposes of the resident
district's computation for claiming basic school support? Should they
count on the basis of membership or attendance?

Answer: You should report on the basis of attendance.

Question: Does the requirement for reporting students on the basis of
ADA vs. ADM apply to publicly operated alternative programs?

Answer: Private programs must report on the basis of attendance. Publicly
operated programs may choose either method.



e

REPORTING ON ATTENDANCE
IN ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMS FOR
BASIC SCHOOL SUPPORT FUNDS

1 3
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October 31, 1988

TO: Administrators of Alternative Education Programs

FROM: Walter Koscher, Coordinator
School Finance & Data Information Services

RE: Form 581-3201A, Basic School Support Fund Report of ADM in
Alternative Programs

Beginning with the 1988-89 school year, a new format for reporting students in
alternative programs has been developed. This change is due to passage of
Senate Bill 667 and the resulting amendment to a Department of Education
administrative rule (OAR 581-23-006).

Enclosed are copies of the new form developed to implement the changes.
Private alternative programs mutt use this form; alternative programs operated
by school districts or ESDs may use either the form used to report regular
full-time programs (form 3200, Student Personnel Accounting Report) or form
3201A.

If you need further clarification, please do not hesitate to call me at
378-3631.

Enclosure
9F1N

47
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

700 Pringle Parkway SE
Salem, Oregon 97310-0290

Division of School Improvement
School Finance & Data Information Services

Basic School Support Fund Report of ADM In Alternative Programs

for Students Attending Pursuant to ORS 339250

El For Quarter Ending October 1 through December 31, 19

O For Year Ending June 30, 19

Name of
Resident

Program
School District

Type of Program
(1)

Hours of Instruction Membership Days Equivalent ADM ADM

Total
(6 + 7)Gr. 1-8

(2)

Gr. 9-12
(3)

Gr. 1-8
(4)

Gr. 9-12

(5)

Gr. 1-8
(6)

Gr. 9-12

(7)

A. Large Group Instr.

B. Small Group Instr.

C. Tutorial Instr.

Instructions (additional instructions on back of form)

A. Large Group moans instruction provided to a class of six or more students.

Col. 2 & 3 Enter the total hours of instruction received by students.

Col. 4 & 5 Multiply instructional hours by .167.

Col. 6 & 7 Divide membership (col. 4 & 5) by 55 for the quarter ending December 31 and by 175 for the year ending June

30.
Thirty hours per week per student is equivalent to full time and is the maximum that can be reported under large group.

B. Small Group means instruction provided to a class of 2-5 students.

Col 2 & 3 Enter the total hours of Instruction received by students.

Col. 4 & 5 Multiply instructional hours by .333.

Col. 6 & 7 Divide membership col. 4 & 5) by 55 for the quarter ending December 31 and by 175 for the year ending June

30.
Fifteen hours per week per student is equivalent to full time and is the maximum that can be reported under small group.

C. Tutorial means instruction provided to one student.

Col. 2 & 3 Enter the total hours of tutorial instruction received by students.

Col 6 4 7 Divide hours of instruction (col. 2 & 3) by 55 for the quarter ending December 31 and by 175 for the year

ending June 30.
Five hours per week per student is the equivalent to full time and is the maximum that can be reported under tutorial

No more than 5 days membership per week may be claimed for a student receiving a combination of instructional services. A

student may never be counted as more than 1 ADM for any reporting period.

Data supporting this report must IN retained for a two-year period for auditing purposes.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that this report is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Alternative School Titre Date

Signature of Resident School District
Date

Form 581-3201A (Rev. 5/90) 49
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Additional instructions

An alternative program not operated by a school district or ESD must report on Form 3201 A. Alternative programs operated byschool districts and ESDs may use either Form 3200, Student Personnel Accounting Report, or Form 3201k

This report is due in the Oregon Department of Education 10 days after the end of the second quarter and the end of the schoolyear.

The membership provided on this form must not be induded on Form 581-3200.

Complete three copies of the form. Retain one copy. Forward two copies to the resident school district. The resident school
district should countersign the form, retain one copy for its file, and send the remaining copy to the Oregon Department of
Education.

Please attach a list of students served.

Please ensure that no student is reported as receiving more than the full-time equivalent of one ADM per week if the studentreceives a combination of large group, small group and tutorial services. Please use the following as a guide:

A. Sbt hours of lame group instruction is the equivalent of one day.
B. Three hours of small group instruction is the equivalent of one day,
C. One hour of tutorial is the equivalent of one day.

For a one-week period the combination of services provided to one student cannot exceed five membership days.

The Department of Education's copy will be used to allocate ADM to the resident district for purposes of the Basic School SupportFund, the County School Fund, and the Common School Fund,

If you have questions regarding the completion of this form, please call 378-3631.
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OREGON 0IIRTMENT OF EDUCATION, SALEM, OREGON 97310-0290

STUDENT PERSONNEL 'ACCOUNTING REPORT

COUNTY 1) DIST NO SCHOOL GRADES 2)
COVERED

YEAR 3) NA E OF PERSON REPORTING 4) EPQRTING PERIOD 5)

1st QTR. 0 3rct OTR.

2red OTR 0 4th CITR.

ANNUAL

GRADE

ENROLLMENT REGULAR SESSION

SUMMARY OF ENROLLMENT (CU ULATIVE)

R3E2 R5 RiR2R4

6)
KG

22) 36) 54) 70)

7) 23) 39) 55) 71) 87)

2

8) 24) 40) 56) 72) 88)

25) 41) 67) 73) BS)

10) 26) 42) 58) 74) 90
4

11) 27) 43) 59) 75) 91)
5

12) 28) 441 60) 76) 92)
6

13)
7

9) 4 5) 61) 77) 93)

14)
8

30) 461 62) 78) 94)

UNCL
(1-81

15) 31) 47) 63) 79) 95)

16 32) 4 8) 64) 80) 96)

17)
1 0

11

33) 4 9)

18) f 34) 50)

65) 81) 97)

92) 98)

19)
12

35) 51) 67) 83) 99/

UNCL 20)
19-121

36) 68) 100

21)
TOTAL

37) 53) 69) 85) 101 I

STUD ENTS
REMAINING

102)

103)

105)

106)

TOTAL DAYS
MEMBERSHIP

FOR REPORTING
PERIOD

110)

119)

120)

21

122)

107)

1 8)

109)

0)

t112)

113)

1 4)

115)

8)

1 7)

123)

124

125)

126)

127)

128)

129)

130)

131)

132)

33)

'STUDENTS REMAINING" IS NOT TO SE USED AS BEGINNING ENROLLMENT FOR THE NEXT
QUARTER.

THIS SUMMARY SHEET SHOULD BE PREPARED IN QUADRUPLICATE BY EACH BUILDING PRIN-
CIPAL AT THE END OF EACH QUARTER. IF THE REGISTER IS NOT CENTRALLY KEPT IN THE
BUILDING, THEN EACH TEACHER KEEPING A REGISTER SHOULD COMPLETE SECTIONS I AND III OF
THE SUMMARY SHEET AND FORWARD A COPY TO THE BUILDING PRINCIPAL FOR COMPILATION, ONE
COPY SHOULD BE RETAINED IN THE REGISTER AND THE REMAINING THREE SENT TO THE DISTRICT
OFFICE. THE DISTRICT OFFICE WILL FORWARD TWO TO THE ESC) SUPERINTENDENT, WHO WILL FOR-
WARD ONE 70 THE OREGON DEPARTMEN 7 OF EDUCATION.

Form 581-3200 (12/89)

4 7

11. DAYS IN SESSION
(SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE!

1TE DAYS

NO. OF DAYS
IN SESSION

134)

iv LENGTH OF SCHOOL YEAR
(151 QUARTER ONLY)

ITEM DAYS

I, NO. OF DAYS TOSE
TAUGHT DURING YEAR

142)

2. OPENING DAY OF
SCHOOL

143)

3 SCHEDULED CLOSING
DAY OF SCHOOL

144)

V.

,

HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES

(ANNUAL LY ACTUAL )

I MALES
145)

2 FEMALES
146)

_

I I SUMMARY OF ATTENDANCE tN R GULAR SESSION
..-.

ITEM REStDENT
STUDENTS

147)

NON RESIDENT
STUDENTS

156)

ATTENDINO
STUDENTS

165)2

0
gc

0
Z

-

TOTAL DAYS
PRESENT

TOTAL DAYS
ASSENT

148) 157)

.-158)

166)

,

TOTAL DAYS
MEMBERSHIP

49 167)

so

w04
CC0

.

.1..

TOTAL DAYS
PRESENT

159)
.

168)

TOTAL DAYS
ABSENT
i

151) 1 ) 169)

TOTAL DAYS
MEMBERSHIP

52) 161) 170)

0
ot

el

TOTAL DAYS
PRESENT

153) 10 ) 17 )

TOTAL DAYS
ABSENT

154) 163) 172)

TOTAL DAYS
MEMBERSHIP

1 5)

..

164) 173)

4 3



INSTRUCTIONS:

This report is due in the Oregon Department of Education 10 days after the end of each quarter and the end of the
school year.

Before completing this report please refer to the Oregon Student Accounting Manual, dated July 1985.

SECTION I.

SECTION IL

SECTION III.

SECTION IV.

SECTION V.

Enrollment is to be cumulative. For example, the 2nd quarter report should include the
enrollment data for the 1st and 2nd quarters.

Students Remaining must not be used as beginning enrollment on the succeeding report period.

A student is present or absent (is counted in membership) from the day of enrollment to the day
of withdrawal. A student whose withdrawal status is known or can be dey'rmined within ten days
shall be marked as a withdrawal on the school day following the last day of actual attendance. If
a student's withdrawal status cannot be determined, the student may be carried, as absent for a
maximum of ten consecutive days and shall be withdrawn on the eleventh consecutive school day.

Total Days Membership for the reporting period (Section I, Item 133) must equal the grand total
days membership for attending students in Section III. Total days membership is not cumulative
on the quarterly reports. It should be reported only for the period concerned.

A day in session means a scheduled day of instruction during which students are under the
guidance and direction of teachers. These are the only days on which membership can be counted.

In this section, the total days present, total days absent, and total days membership by level (Kg.,
1-8, and 9-12) must be reported for resident students, nonresident students, and attending
students. Attending Students is the total of resident and nonresident students.

This item is to be completed at the end of the 1st quarter only. The total days your school is
scheduled to be in session should be reported in item 1. The date on which your school opened
should be entered in item 2, and the scheduled closing date for the year should be entered in
item 3.

The Opening Day of School is the first day of the school year on which the teacher and students
are in a teaching-learning situation.

This item must be completed on the annual report by each high school with a 12th grade. The
number of high school graduates, divided between male and female, should reflect the total
number of actual graduates during the year.
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

700 Pringle Parkway SE
Salem, Oregon 97310-0290

eencfing in District Name & No.

Office of School District Services
School Finance & Data Information Services

Basic School Support Fund Report of Non-Resident Students

0 For Quarter Ending December 31, 19
0 For Yew Ending June 30, 19

Resident in District Name & No.

SECTION I. Students for whom

County

County

the resident district pays tuition or who attend ESD-financed programs. (List students below.)

Name of School
Attended

2) Days
in Session

Total Days Membership Average Deity Membership

3) 4)
Kg 1-8

5)
9-12

8) Kg
(Col

7) 1-8
(Col 4+2)

8) 9-12 9) Total
(Col, 5+2) (Col. 6+7+8)

Totals

SECTION H. Students attending under provision of ORS 339.165439.185 Dependent Children from ChM-Caring Agencies. (List students and

guarcien's home address below.)

1) Name of School
Attended

2) Days
in Session

Total Days Membership Average Daily Membership
9) Total

(Col. 6+7+8)3)
Kg

4)
1-8

5)
9-12

6) Kg
(Col. 3+2)

7) 1-8
(Col. 4+-2),

8) 9-12
(Col. 5+2)

Totals

--

SECTION III. Students for whom the resident cistrict does not pay tuition. (List students below)

Name of School
Attended

2) Days
in Session

Total Days Membership Average Daily Membership

1 9) Total
(Col, 6+7+8)

Kg
4)

1-8
5)

9-12
6) Kg
(Col. 3+2)

7) 1-8
(CoL 4+-2)

8) 9-12
(CoL 5+2 )+

Totals

is report is due 10 days after the end of the second quarter and the end of the school year. Before completing this report please refer to the Oregon

dent Accounting Manual, dated Fall 1988, and carefully read the instructions on the back of this page.

I CERTIFY that the above report is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Signature for Attending District

Form 581-3202 (Rev. 9169)
53

Signature for Resident Distr4,:t



INSTRUCTIONS FOR ATTENDING DISTRICT:

1. Indicate the reporting period (either the 2nd quarter ending December 31 or the year ending June 30). if the report
covets the 2nd quarter, report data for the period October 1 through December 31; do g2t include the 1st quarter. For
the year end report, include data for all four quarters.

2. Section I: Complete a separate report for each district which had students attending your district

a) the resident district pays tuition, or
b) the students are attending an ESD-financed program.

Tuition may include payment in dollars Or other identillable means. For example: exchange of students
(either one for one or other mutually agreed upon arrangement) or by provision of services.

Section II: Complete a separate report for each district that will be billed for students attending your district under
provision of ORS 339.165 through 339.185. Please note that this report requests total days membership
rather than total days attendance as reported on the billing form (Form 581-3190 and 581-3193).

Section III: Complete a separate report for each district which had students attending your district for whom the resident
district.does za pay tuition.

3. In order to expedite the processing of this form, you may wish to list below each section the names of the students for
whom the data apply. This will enable the resident district to more quicidy verify the residency of each student.

4. Sign each form before forwarding. Send one copy of each form to the Department of Education. Send three copies tothe resident district from which the student(s) come. Send one copy to the ESD of the county from which the student(s)come. Retain one copy for your files.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE RESIDENT DISTRICT:

Examine the report in view of your understanding of the situation. if correct, sign the form and forward one copy to the ESDof your county and one to the Department of Education. If not correct, return to the attending district with an explanation ofthe incorrect data.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ESD SUPERINTENDENT;

Use the copy sent by the attending district as a guide for checking on the completed copy to be received from the residentdistrict.

If you have any questions regarding the completion of this form, please call 378-3631.

51
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1 OAR 581-23-006
2 atudent ACCOntiMig53211dIslatateltitenialing
3
4 statutory Authority: ORS 326.310; 327.125
5
6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-23-006

10 Student Accounting Records and State Reporting
11
12 (1) The following definitions and abbreviations apply to this rule:
13 (a) "ADA" means average daily attendance;
14 (b) "ADM" means average daily membership;
15 (c) "Day in session" means a scheduled day of instruction during which
16 students are under the guidance and direction of teachers;
17 (d) "Department" means the Oregon Department of Education;
18 (e) "Full school day" means the length of time a school or program is
19 normally in session during the day, as determined by the local school
20 board under provisions of ORS 332.075(2) and OAR 581-22-502;
21 (f) "FTE" means full-time equivalency;
22 (g) "Instruction" for purposes of reimbursement of alternative programs
23 means accountable activities as defined in OAR 581-23-008;
24 (h) "Instructional unit" means a school or other organizational arrangement
25 which provides instruction of a given type or types;
26 (1) "Large group" means instruction rirovided by an alternative program
27 approved by a school district to a class of six or more students.
28 (j) "Regular school program" means that which is offered to comply with the
29 standards adopted by the State Board of Education and compulsory school
30 attendance law. This does not include summer school, adult education, or
31 nonhandicapped prekindergarten programs;
32 (k) "Roll" means the list of students who have enrolled in the district during
33 the current school year; and
34 (1) "Small group" means instruction provided by an alternative program
35 approved by the school district to a class of two to five students;
36 (m) "Superintendent" means the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.
37 (n) "Tutorial" means instruction provided by an alternative program approved
38 by a school district to one student.
39
40 (2) Instructions pertaining to the maintenance of student accounting records and
41 state reporting shall be published by the Department.
42
43 (3) Each school district and ESD shall:
44 (a) Permanently maintain accounting records of student enrollment,
45 attendance, membership, resident/nonresident status, and such other
46 student information as may be required, for each student enrolled in
47 regular school programs operating during the regular school year. Such
48 records shall utilize uniform definitions of each student measure as
49 stated in this rule;
50 (b) Designate the residency for school purposes, subject to the provisions of
51 ORS 332.595, 339.135 and 339.165, of each student enrolled in the
52 district;
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1 (c) Have in operation an attendance accounting system which is adequately
2 controlled and enables the district's chief administrator to certify in
3 writing the accuracy of reported data.
4 (d) Report enrollment, attendance, membership, and such other information
5 as the Superintendent may require, within 10 days of the end of each
6 reporting period on forms provided by the Department. Reporting periods
7 shall end September 30, December 31, March 31, and June 30; and
8 (e) Utilize the following enrollment codes for recording entry, re-entry, and
9 withdrawal of students during the regular school year.

10 (A) Original entries:
11 (1) Elany student who has not previously, during the current
12 year, entered any school in the United States,
13 (11) E2any student who has been enrolled during the current
14 school year in a school in another state and who has not
15 previously, dtwing the current school year, been enrolled in
16 any school in Oregon.
17 (B) Re-entries:
18 (i) R1students received from another room in the same school,
19 (it) R2students received from a public school in the same school
20 district,
21 (iii) R3students received from a public school in the state but
22 outside the local school district,
23 (iv) R4students re-entering after withdrawal or discharge,
24 (v) RSstudents received from a nonpublic school in the state.
25 (C) Withdrawals (or losses):
26 (I) WIstudents transferred to another room or classroom in the
27 same building,
28 (it) W2students transferred to another public school in the same
29 local district,
30 (iii) W3students transferred to a nonpublic school in the same
31 local district,
32 (iv) W4students moved out of the local school district or state,
33 (v) WSstudents quitting school after passing compulsory
34 attendance age,
35 (vi) W6students issued work permits,
36 (vii) W7students graduated,
37 (Oil) W8students withdrawn because of other reasons,
38 (ix) W the total of WI through W8.
39 (D) If a school district adopts a year-round schedule incorporating a
40 track system in which one or more tracks are scheduled to cross
41 school years (July 1 through June 30) the enrollment code shall be
42 expanded to include:
43 (I) R9students received from a different gade level within the
44 same district,
45 (11) W9students transferred to a different grade level within the
46 same district.
47 The use of the R9 and W9 codes shall be limited to those students
48 who change grades within a track during the school year. A W9 entry
49 shall be counted as a day of membership.
50

C f)
4,1 41
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I (4) Students shall be entered and withdrawn from the district roll as follows:

0 2
3

(a) A student shall be entered on the district roll utilizing the appropriate E
or R code on the first day of the student's actual attendance. A student

4 participating in the program of more than one instructional unit shall be
5 entered on the roll of that instructional unit in which 50 percent or more
6 of the student's time is scheduled and the student shall not be entered on
7 the roll of other instructional units;
8 (b) A student whose withdrawal status is known or can be determined within
9 ten days shall be marked as a withdrawal on the school day following the

10 last day of actual attendance. If a student's withdrawal status cannot be
11 determined, the student may be carried as absent for a maximum of ten
12 consecutive school days and shall be withdrawn on the eleventh
13 consecutive school day.
14
15 (5) Membership and attendance accounting in instructional units scheduled to
16 operate a full school day shall be recorded as follows:
17 (a) A full-time equivalency (FTE) for each student enrolled shall be
18 determined each quarter. Students participating in more than one-half of
19 the full-day program shall be given an FTE of 1.0. Students participating
20 in one-half or less of the full-day program shall be given an FTE of .5.
21 The FTE computation of students participating in community college
22 programs under paragraph (B) of this subsection shall include time spent
23 in the community college program:
24 (A) Kindergarten students shall be assigned an FTE of 1.0. The
25 Department shall adjust the total days membership of kindergarten
26 students reflecting the permissible percentage as stated in statute;
27 (B) Students enrolled in dual-credit courses mutually agreed upon

4110
28
29

between a local school district and a community college and for
whom the community college claims reimbursement from the

30 Community College Operating Fund shall be accotmted for as
31 follows:
32 (1) Each local district enrolling such students shall report to the
33 Department the number of instructional hours received by
34 those students for whom community college reimbursement
35 will be claimed. The report shall be prepared by the local
36 district and verified by the community college prior to
37 submission to the Department. Each report shall yield
38 subtotals for resident and nonresident students by district.
39 (ii) Two reports shall be required each year: The first covering
40 the quarter ending December 31 and the second covering the
41 year ending June 30.
42 (iii) The Department shall convert to ADM the community college
43 instructional hours reported for each reporting period by
44 multiplying the total hours of instruction by .167 and dividing
45 the product by 55 for the December 31 quarterly report and
46 by 175 for the June 30 annual report.
47 (iv) The ADM computed in subparagraph (iii) above shall be
48 deducted by the Department from the ADM of the district.
49 (C) Students participating in district supervised work-study programs
50 may be credited as 1.0 FTE. If a student is released for work during
51 school hours and the district assumes no supervisory responsibility
52 for the time involved, that time shall not be counted as participation
53 in the full-day program when determining the student's FIE.

5
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1 (b) Membership of each student for the quarter shall be computed as
2 follows: student FTE times days present plus student FTE times days
3 absent equals total days membership of the student. Each student shall
4 be counted in membership as either present or absent from the date of
5 enrollment to the date of withdrawal on those days when the instructional
6 unit is in session. The day upon which a student is marked as a W (except
7 W9) shall not be counted as a day of,membership;
8 (c) Total days membership of the instructional unit shall be the total of days
9 membership of all students enrolled in the instructional unit as computed

10 in subsection (b) of this section. The computation of to ti days
11 membership of the instructional unit shall yield subtotals indicatg grade
12 placement and resident/nonresident status of student membership;
13 (d) The Department shall compute the ADM and ADA of resident students,
14 nonresident students, and attending students for each instructional unit
15 reporting and derive totals of such data for each local school district in
16 the state, subject to the following procedures:
17 (A) ADM is the total days membership of an instructional unit during a
18 specific reporting period divided by the number of days the
19 instructional unit was in session during that reporting period. The
20 ADM of groups of instructional units having varying lengths of terms
21 shall be the sum of the ADMs obtained for the individual
22 instructional units. If a district school board adopts a class schedule
23 that operates throughout the year under the provisions of ORS
24 336.012 for all or any instructional units in the district, the
25 computation shall be made so that the resulting ADM will not be
26 higher or lower than if the local board had not adopted such a
27 schedule;
28 (B) ADA is the total days attendance of an instructional unit during a
29 specific reporting period divided by the number of days the
30 instructional mit was in session during that reporting period. The
31 ADA of groups of instructional units having varying lengths of terms
32 shall be the sum of the ADAs obtained for the individual
33 instructional units. If a district school board adopts a class schedule
34 that operates throughout the year under the provisions of ORS
35 336.012 for all or any instructional units in the district, the
36 computation shall be made so that the resulting ADA will not be
37 higher or lower than if the local board had not adopted such a
38 schedule.
39
40 (6) Students enrolled in programs operating less than the full school day or
41 alternative education progxams under ORS 339.253 shall be accounted for as
42 follows:
43 (a) The ADM of students enrolled in the following part-time programs shall
44 be compuced as stated in subsections (b), (c), and (d) of this section:
45 (A) Students through age 20 in schools under provisions of ORS 336.125,
46 336.135, and 339.253;
47 (B) Students enrolled in nonpublic schools who receive instruction in a
48 public school on a part-time basis;
49 (C) Students receiving either home instruction provided by certificated
50 district staff or tutorial instruction provided under ORS 339.253;
51 (D) Kindergarten students receiving instruction from their parents, if the
52 program offered is authorized by the local district board, meets the
53 standards of the State Board of Education, is financed by local
54 district funds, and provides the parent with instruction from
55 appropriately certificated personnel, or from teacher aides working
56 under the supervision of such certificated personnel.
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1 (b) The ADM of students enrolled in large group instruction under paragraphs

Ili
2
3

(a)(A) and (B) of this section shall be computed by multiplying total hours
of instruction given all students during the reporting period by .167 and

4 dividing the product by 55 for the December 31 quarterly report and by
5 175 for the June 30 annual report;
6 (c) The ADM of students enrolled in small group instruction under (aXA) of
7 this section shall be computed by multiplying the total hours of
8 instruction by .333 and dividing the product by 55 for the December 31
9 quarterly report and by 175 for the June 30 annual report.

10 (d) The ADM of students enrolled under paragraph (aXC) of this section shall
11 be computed by dividing total number of hours of alternative education or
12 home instruction given (not to exceed 5 hours per week for a single
13 student) by 55 for the December 31 quarterly report and by 175 for the
14 June 30 annual report;
15 (e) The ADM of students enrolled under paragraph (a)(D) of this section shall
16 be computed by dividing the total hours of instruction given parents by
17 district personnel by .55 for the December 31 quarterly report and by 175
18 for the June 30 annual report. The Department shall adjust the hours of
19 instruction given reflecting the permissible percentage for kindergarten
20 students as stated in statute;
21 (f) The computation of ADM for each less than full-time program listed shall
22 yield subtotals for resident and nonresident students;
23 (g) The ADM of students enrolled in less than full-time programs shall be
24 reported to the Department for the quarter ending December 31 and for
25 the year ending June 30.
26 (h) No more than five day's membership may be claimed for any student
27 enrolled in any combination of programs during a one-week period.

4110

28
29 (7) Membership for nonresident students:
30 (a) For purposes of computing the resident average daily membership under
31 ORS 327.006(2), 327.420, and 328.015, the Department shall credit to the
32 resident district the ADM of the following students who are attending a
33 school or program which is not operated by the student's resident district:
34 (A) Handicapped students enrolled in programs under ORS 430.760 to
35 430.820, ORS 343.035 to 343.295 (exclusive of those covered by
36 343.236 and 343.261) or ORS 343.353 to 343.363;
37 (B) Dependent students covered under provisions of ORS 339.165 to
38 339.185; and
39 (C) Students for whom the resident district pays tuition, inclusive of
40 tuition payments to private schools as authorized by statute.
41 (b) cchool districts, ESDs, and private schools operating programs for
42 students covered under subsection (a) of this section, exclusive of
43 programs covered by ORS 343.353 to 343.363, shall report on forms
44 provided by the Department, nonresident membership for the school
45 year ending June 30 and the quarter ending December 31, to the
46 resident districts for verification and subsequent submission to the
47 Department.
48
49 (8) School districts shall report to the Oregon Department of Education students
50 who are identified as dropouts.
51 (a) For the purposes of this rule, dropouts are defined as elementary and
52 secondary school students who, for any reason other than death, withdraw
53 from membership without receiving a high school diploma or an

410
54
55

alternative award. Students are not counted as dropouts when a request
for transfer of records is received by the reporting district from another

56 school district in or outside of the state within 45 days.
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1 (b) A student is not a dropout when he/she has been made exempt under ORS
2 339.030(1), 339.030(3), 339.030(5), 339.030(6), 339.030(7), 339.030(8), and
3 the district meets one or more of the conditions under OAR
4 581-23-006(8)(c).
5 (c) A student is not a dropout if the district:
6 (A) Maintains enrollment of the student, collects basic school support,
7 and provides funding for the student's education program outside of
8 the district; or
9 (B) Issues a diploma or alternative award upon completion of an

10 alternative program.
11 (d) Districts will report information twice yearly on each dropout using a
12 form supplied by the Oregon Department of Education:
13 (A) On December 15, districts will report students who did not return
14 after summer vacation or dropped out during the ftrst quarter of the
15 school year.
16 (B) On June 15, districts will report students who dropped out from the
17 end of the first quarter of the school year through the end of the
18 school year.
19 If the district has filed a dropout report and the student reenters, an amended
20 report on the appropriate form shall be filed with the Oregon Department of
21 Education at the next reporting date.
22 (e) This rule will be effective beginning July 1, 1988.
23
24 (9) The Superintendent shall prescribe the applicable student accounting
25 procedures for any programs or specific situations not covered by the
26 provisions of this rule.
27
28
29
30 dc OAR457
31 11/30/88
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PRIVATE ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMS
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JOHN W ERICKSON
State Superintendent
of Polak Instauction

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
700 PRINGLE PARKWAY SE, SALEM, OREGON 973104290 PHONE (503) 378-3569

Memorandum No. 109-1989-90

June 18, 1990

TO: All Private Alternative Education Programs

RE: OAR 581-21-072 Registration of Private Alternative Programs

Several important amendments passed by the 1987 and 1989 legislative assemblies have led
to the development of administrative rules regulating the registration of private alternative
education programs provided for in ORS 339.620(1).

In the fall of 1989, a committee composed of members of private and public alternative
programs, Confederation of Oregon School Administrators (COSA), Oregon School Boards
Assocation (OSBA), Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC), Oregon
Association for Alternatives in Education (OAAE), Oregon School Psychologist Association
(OSPA), and Oregon Department of Education (ODE), drafted a rule to implement the intent
of Oregon Statute mandating the registration of private alternative programs prior to
receiving basic school support funds.

Public hearings were held and the enclosed OAR 581-21-072 was adopted by the Oregon
State Board of Education at their May meeting. This rule is effective as of May 9, 1990.

The enclosed revised registration form is due here at the department by September 30.
Note the following important changes in the registration process:

Registration is on an annual basis by September 30 (line 13).

List of staff and their certification (line 25).

Documentation that your facilities comply with applicable (line 29) fire, health and
safety regulations.

Documentation that your program has been evaluated as mandated in ORS 339.635
by school districts you contract with to provide education services (line 31).
(NOTE: If your program has not been evaluated, attached a copy of a plan to
implement an evaluation procedure during the 1990-91 school year.)

The Provision for the Department to monitor your procedure for reporting FTE for
the purpose of basic school support (line 34).

Please contact Leon Fuhrman, Student Services Section, at (503) 378-5585 if you have any
questions regarding this procedure.

lk/STDT11582
Enclosure

904
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State Superintendent
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1
Oregon Administratiye Rule 581-21472

2
3

Registration of Private Alternative Programs

4 Statutory Authority; Chapter 339
5
6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-21-072, Registration of Private Alternative Programs

10
11 (1) For the purposes of ORS 339.620(1), prior to receiving public school funds, all

12 private alternative education programs shall renew registration with the

13 Oregon Department of Education annually by September 30. New private

14 alternative education programs developed or contracted with during the schbol

15 year shall be registered with the Oregon Department of Education prior to

16 receiving public school funds.

17
18 (2) The Oregon Department of Education shall distribute registration forms

19 annually by June 1 to private alternative programs currently registered with

20 the Department.
21
22 (3) The registration form for private alternative programs shall include:

23 (a) Program name, mailing address and telephone number;

24 (b) Name of administrator;
25 (c) List of staff and their certification, if any;

26 (d) Statement of philosophy;
27 (e) Grades, age levels, and special needs to be served by the program;

28
29

(f) Statement of compliance with OAR 581-21445;
(g) Documentation that the facilities used by the alternative program comply

30 with the applicable fire, health, and safety regulations; and

31 (h) A list of the contracting districts which evaluated the prowram during the

32 previous school year.
33
34 (4) The Department may monitor the procedure used by the private alternative

35 program for reporting FTE for the purposes of basic school support.

36
37
38
39 dc OAR12
40 6/1/90
41
42
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1
OAR 581-21-0452

Disctimination Prohibited3
4 Statutory Authority:
5
6 SBE
7 OAR
8
9 581-21-045

10 Discrimination Prohibited
11
12 (1) Discrimination Defined:
13 (a) "Discrimination" means any act that unreasonably differentiates14 treatment, intended or unintended, or any act that is fair in form but15 discriminatory in operation, either of which is based on age, handicap,16 national origin, race, marital status, religion or sex.17 (b) The wores "District, School District" common and union high schooldistricts and education service districts and all educational agencies,19 programs, and services under the jurisdiction of the State Board of20 Education, except comMunity college districts.21

22 (2) "General Prohibition of Discrimination": No person in Oregon shall be23 subjected to discrimination in any public elementary or secondary school,24 educational program or service, or interschool activity where the program,25 service, school, or activity is financed in whole or part by monies26 appropriated by the Legislative Assembly.27
28 (3) "Specific Prohibitions": In providing programs or services to students, a29 school district shall not, on a discriminatory basis as defined in Section (1)(a)30 of this rule:
31 (a) Treat one person differently from another in determining whether such32 person satisfies any requirement of condition for the provision of such33 aid, benefit, or service;34 (b) Provide different aid, benefits, or services; or provide aids, benefits, or35 services in a different manner;36 (c) Deny any person such aid, benefit, or service;37 (d) Subject any person to separate or different rules of behavior, sanctions,38 or other treatment;

39 (e) Aid or perpetuate discrimination by joining or remaining a member of40 any agency or organization which discriminates in prtividing any aid,41 benefit, or service to students or employees;42 (f) Otherwise limit any person in the enjoyment of any right, privilege,43 advantage, or opportunity.
44
45 (4) "Exceptions": These rules shall not affect attendance boundaries, limit46 placement of students in programs of desegregation, nor supersede any47 specific statutory requirement for any educational program.48
49
50
51 dc OAR108
52 6/14/90
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Division of Special Student Services
Student Services Section

4110

700 Pringle Padway SE
Salem, Oregon 97310-0290

Application for Registration of Private Alternative Education Program
School Year 1990-91

APPLICANT: ORS 339.620(1) and OAR 581-21-072 provides
of instruction annually with the Oregon Department of

for the registration of private alternative programs
Education.

Please complete and return by September 30 to Leon
address.

Fuhrman, Education Specialist, at the above

Program Name Telephone

Mailing Address

City. Zip County

Location (if different from mailing address)

Program Administrator Title

Statement of Philosophy

4111

Grades, age levels, and special needs to be served by the program

Is program approved by the Department of Education for placement of special education students? 0 Yes
if yes, date approved

Is program sponsored by, affiliated with, or administered by a religious organization?

Form 581-5021 (Rev. 6/90) page 1 67 62

Yes ED No

No



01

6 `I

Staff Certification Roster

Name
Certificated Current

Certificatior 1
Yes No

Expiration
Date

Endorsement Area Degree

6



List school districts the program contracted with to provide education services during the 1989-90 school year and
indicate If an evaluailon was cornpleted during that time. (Man evaluation procedures and results)

Evakiation
School District Completed? Comments

1. DYes ONo

2. DYes ONo

3. 0 YeS ONo

4. DYes ONO

5. DYes 10 No

6. DYes ONo

Date program facilities were inspected for compliance with fire, health, and safety regulations.
(Attach evidence of documentation)

HEREBY CERTIFY that the pr4ram complies with OAR 581-21-045 and with requirements set forth In ORS
339.620 and that the statements contained in the foregoing application and attachments are true to the best of my

knowledge and belief.

Signature of Applicant

Date Application Submitted

Name of Applicant

Title of Applicant

A program or school found to be in noncompliance with ORS 339.620, OAR 581-21-072, and OAR 581-21-045
shall be removed from the Department of Education's list of registered private alternative education programs.

Form 581-5021 (Rev. 6/90) page 3 69
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SAMPLE STANDARDS FOR PRIVATE ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMS.

Standards for Alternative Programs

Senate Bill 667 was adopted by the 1987 Oregon Legislature. This new law and its related
Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) have helped clarify
the responsibilities of school districts in determining requirements and =au= for
alternative schools and programs. While the Portland School District, historically, monitors
and evaluates all alternative schools and programs on a regular basis; a particular concern
will be our need to review and update our activities in this regard. Review of provisions
for private schools with which our District contracts will be of special concern.

Statutes implementing SB 667 make it clear that it is both the expectation and authority of
school districts to monitor and evaluate all aspects of alternative programs. ORS 339.635

--.1
t-, states:

"Each district operating, participating in or contracting
for, an alternative program shall evaluate each program
annually."

Used with permission from the Portland Public School District.

(i G
6 7



Specifically what is being tequired of school districts? A school district is expected
to include a part of its monitoring and evaluation processes:

STAFFING

Certification and
Qualification of Teachers

CURRICULUM

Flexibility
Adequacy
Adaptability
Transferability

DISCRIMINATIONr.)

REGISTRATION

SITE EVALUATION

ACCOUNTING PROCEDURES

PROGRAM EVALUATION

OTHER

Credit
Continuing Obligation

6,-)



Guidelines for Monitoring and Evaluating Private Alternative Programs

State Recommended Standards

Staffing

1. Certification of Teachers:
(Guideline: If the teacher is not a di-
rect employee of the district, but is
hired by a private alternative pro-
gram or a community college, there
is not a requirement of teacher certi-
fication.)

2. Qualification of Teachers and
Criminal Records Check: (Guideline:
A determination of the qualification of
teacher and a check for any criminal
convictions of a teacher should also
be made by a school district before it
contracts with the alternative educa-
tion program.)

Curriculum

3. Flexibility of Learning Situation:
(Guideline: The Learning Situation
must be flexible with regard to envi-
ronment, time, structure, and
pedagogy. ORS 339.615).

Current,PPS Monitoring

1986-87 Year-End Report Guidelines
asked for a brief description of staff,
including certification and back-
ground.

1986-87 Year-End Report Guidelines
asked for a Program Overview, in-
cluding a history of the program,
description of the curriculum, types of
learning activities philosophy, orga-
nizational structure, referral sources
and rationale, and other program
policies.

improved Monitoring Procedures

Prior to contracting with programs, a
list of teachers and their education
oackground and teachinn experi-
ence will be provided to the district.

Require all programs to wmplete a
criminal record check on all staff and
provide the District with documenta-
tion.

Continue to monitor by site visitations
and require year-end reports to doc-
ument in writing.

7 )



Mate Recommended Zandards

4. Evaluation of Adequacy
Transferability and Adaptability:
(Guideline: The district would
evaluate the adequacy of the
curriculum and its transferability to
the regular school to coortiinate
alignment, adaptability to various
student needs.)

Discrimination

5. Non-Discrimination:
(Guidelines: The Program must not
discriminate, as outlined in OAR 581-
21-045.)

Registration of Programs

6. Registration Required:
(Guideline: If [the program] must be
registered with the Department of
Education or, if the child involved is
eligible for special education, the
program must be approved by the
Department of Education. (ORS
339.253).

Current PPS Monitoring

On-going site visitations have
supported this effort.

Transcript evaluations are conducted
with sending schools on a case-by-
case basis.

1986-87 Year-End Report Guidelines
asked for information on Student
Characteristics including sex, age,
race, residence, and referral source.

Monthly reports collected during
1987-88 include information on age,
sex, and ethnicity.

The Deputy Clerk of Finance is re-
sponsible for the verification of regis-
iration of private programs with the
Department of Education.

Improved Monitoring Procedures

Prcvide programs with District
Planned Course Statements and
indicate in writing how the course
goals will be followsd. Collaborate
with the Curriculum Department to
coordinat3 alignment.

Require all programs to complete
Student Registration Forms on each
student upon entry and leaving.

Continue to monitor during site visits.

Programs are encouraged to hire
minority staff members.

The Deputy Clerk will continue to
verify registration with the state.



State Recommended Standards

Site Evaluation

7. Safety and Adequacy:
(Guideline: Additionally, it is recom-
mended that the school district eval-
uate the site as to safety and
adequacy.)

Accounting Procedures

8. Basic School Support Funds:
(Guideline: The alternate program
must follow required accounting pro-
cedures in order to count the child for
basic school support funds. See
OAR 581-23-006 and 581-23-008.)

9. And Other Funds: (Guideline:
The alternate school has the statu-
tory obligation from ORS 339.253(2)
to "be accountable to the district for
the expenditure of all basic school
and other school support funds with
an annual statement of expendi-
tures.")

10. Enrollment and Attendance
Records: (Guideline: Accurate en-
rollment, attendance, and member-
ship records must be kept by the
alternate school and given to the
district for students in alternate pro-
grams. (See OAR 581-23-006.)

Current PPS Monitoring

On-site monitoring includes visual
evaluations of sites for safety and
adequacy of space to number of
students.

The Deputy Clerk of Finance is
responsible for A-1 Reports regard-
ing BSSF with the assistance of the
Office of P.09rnative Education.

1986-87 Year-End Report Guidelines
required that a budget, including a
financial statement of expenditures of
funds from PPS be included.

1986-87 Year-End Report Guidelines
asked Enrollment and Attendance
information, including specifid num-
bers of students enrolled.

ImaratecLMQnitariagL.Eiggelesia

Require that programs comply with
city and state building, fire and health
codes and have adequate access for
physically handicapped students and
staff.

Workshop- that provide technical
assistance to programs will be
provided.

Continue to require that expenditures
of funds be documented in year-end
reports.

Require all programs to complete
Student Registration Forms when
each student enters or leaves the
programs.

Monthly reports provided enrollment Workshops that provide technical
figures during 1987-88. assistance will be provided.
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Program Evaluation

11. Annual Evaluation: (Guideline:
The alternate program must be eval-
uated by the school district at least
annually if the district operates, par-
ticipates in, or contracts for the
rrogram. (See ORS 339.635.)

Credit

12. DIstrict Obligations:
(Guideline: A district must grant
credit for participation when a
student satisfactorily completes work
in certain situations as set forth in
OAR 581-22-317.)

Referral

13. Continuing Obligation:
(Guideline: If the student is failing in
an alternative program originally
approved by the district under ORS
339.253, the district has no continu-
ing obligation to propose a second
alternative program.)

Current F'PS Monitoring

An Evaluation Specialist conducts an
annual summative evaluation of
private programs based on field
interviews.

Programs currently make arrange-
ments with referring public schools to
meet this requirement.

Prior practice has allowed students
to transfer from one private program
to another without a new Form Letter
#2.

Improvild Monitgring Procedures

Collaborate with the Evaluation
Department to assure compliance
with the new regulations.

New guidelines should include state
requirements regarding full-time par-
ticipation and methods for earning
credit.

Parents must obtain a new Form
Letter #2 before a student enters a
second alternative program.



COMMUNITY COLLEGE
ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMS
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Community College Alternative Programs

Oregon Community Colleges offer several alternatives for adults and youth who are
exempted from compulsory attendance, who have a partial high school release to
attend community college classes, or who are jointly served by the high school and
community college through a contractual agreement.

GED classes, high school makeup classes and high school diplomas are offered by
community colleges. High school diplomas awarded by community colleges must
meet standards adopted by the State Board of Education, the governing board for
both K-12 and Community Colleges.

OAR 581-42-005(5)(a) provides that:

(a) Filing a Plan

Adult High School Diploma instructional plans are tu be filed with the
Oregon Department of Education, Community College Division. The filing
process shall be completed when the plan has been approved by the
Commissioner of Community Colleges on behalf of the State Board of
Education.

(A) Each plan shall be organized around and addressed every section of
the plan requirements as outlined in this rule; and

(B) The Commissioner shall have the option of scheduling on-site visits to
adult diploma programs as part of the plan approval process.

OAR 581-42-005(5)(b) provides:

(b) The adult high school curriculum

The plan shall include:

(A)

(B)

(C)

A description of the scope of the program; i.e., applicable courses,
avenues of alternative learning and types of life experience available
to meet Adult High School Diploma requirements for graduation;

A list of credits required to earn a diploma with a minimum of 21 units
of credit as stipulated in OAR 581-22-316(1)(a);

Elective wportunittes. The number of electives (as well as the total
number of credits beyond the minimum in the required ares) as
determined by district board action, as governed by OAR 581-22-
316(1)(C), and evidence of this board action must be filed with the
plan;

79
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The plan will also include:

(D) Statements describing equivalent work without regard to the 130 clock
hour requirements shown in OAR 581-22-102(29). Since adults are
exempted from seat time requirements, credit shall be awarded based
on knowledge, skill and life experiences which are considered equiva-
lent generally to those experiences provided through a regular
secondary school program. Procedures for determining "equivalency"
shall be the responsibility of the community college board;

(E) A general plan course statement for each required area, for elective
areas, and for courses designed specifically for high school level sub-
jects. However, individual planned course statements are not required
for every applicable community college course and alternative
experience;

(F) Reference to any Adult High School Diploma course which have
received special approval from the Department of Education;

All community college programs including GED and high school diploma programs
are reviewed and approved by the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges.
In addition, all programs are evaluated at least once very four years in accordance
with the federal Adult Education Act (PL 98-511) and the Oregon State Plan for Adult
Education (1989-93).

For more information contact:

Donna Lane
Assistant Commission of Community Colleges
700 Pringle Parkway SE
Salem, Oregon 97310-0290
(503) 378-8585
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STUDENT ACCOUNTING POLICY FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGE
ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMS

Community College alternative programs may report on an ADM basis (see
III below) if they operate under the following conditions.

A. Teaching staff in the program are employees of the community college,

B. Students are enrolled in a full-time program.

IL If the above conditions A and B do not exist, then report is to be done using
ADA (see Form 581-3201A).

IIL Procedure for Reporting ADM !n Community College Alternative Programs

A. File completed Form 581-3200 for each calendar quarter and the full
school year. Community Colleges must show students as non-residents
in Section III.

B. File completed Form 581-3202 for each local school district which had
students attending your program. Reports are required for the quarter
ending December 31 and the year ending June 30.

IV. Accounting of students enrolled part-time or full-time in alternative programs
at a community college is the responsibility of the district enrolling the
students.

The completion of required forms for student accounting may be the
responsibility at a community college or the local district, whicnever practice
is negotiated between the community college and district.

Examples:

o If a student is attending the Community College Alternative Education
Program full-time and is retained on the roll of a local district:

The student accounting is reported using the procedure for ADM. The
Community College reports attendance data to the local school district.
The school district will incorporate that data on its regular student
accounting reports.

o If a student is attending the Community College Alternative Education
Program full-time and is withdrawn from the roll of the local district:

The student accounting may be reported using the procedure for ADA (11
above) or ADM (ill above). The Community College sends Form 5t81-
3200 directly to tha Department of Education; Forms 581-202 or 581-
3201A are sent to the local school district for signature and forwarding to
the state.
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o If a student is attending the Community College Alternative Education
Program part-time:

The student accounting is reported using the procedure for ADA (see II).
The Student must be withdrawn from the roll of the local school district.

o if a student is attending the Community College Alternative Education or
High School Completion Program part-time or full-time and has
withdrawn from school and the district the student resides in has no
contractual agreement with the community college to provide services:

The student accounting is reported using the procedure for the
Community College Operating Fund.
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OREGON ASSOCIATION FOR
ALTERNATIVES IN EDUCATION
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4 OREGON ASSOCIATION FOR ALTERNATIVES IN EDUCATION

What We're About

The Oregon Association for Alternatives in Education was formed in 1984. The
Association's purpose is to promote and coordinate education-of-choice (alternativeeducation) in Oregon.

Membership consists of individuals ard organizations who are interested in and sup-
portive of alternative education.

Each member has one vote. OAAE's annual meeting is held each autumn, usually on
the statewide in-service day. Election of officers. appointment of committees, andnomination of regional representatives occurs at the annual meeting. Regional
meetings are scheduled throughout the year by the regional representatives fromeach area.

There are six standing committees that members are encouraged to become involvedin: Legislative, Curriculum, Membership, Budget, Conference and Publicity/Marketing.

The regional representatives and committee chairs make up the state committee
which, with the Association's Board of Directors, meets collectively four times a year at
various sites around the state.

Membership in OAAE assures:

o A voice in the direction alternative education will take in Oregon.

o Up-to-date information on what is happening in alternative education through
OAAE's newsletter -- The Voice of Choice.

o An opportunity to connect and network with others concerned about
alternative education via regional and statewide meetings.

o A yearly conference designed to help one develop new skills and keep in
touch with other alternative educators and supports.

What are some common elements of successful alternative schools?

Positive learning environments in which students who have not always found successin learning in the pa3t can begin to experience success.

Positive role models via teachers and counselors who work with and show students
how to solve problems of both a personal and academic nature.

Positive ways to acquire basic via methods often requiring curriculum creationwhich adds basic skills to areas of student interest or activity.
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Family/community orientations which provide a "surrogate family" via the staff and

students of the alternative school, help students learn to more effectively deal with

their own fam:lies, and become positively involved with the community.

Individualized instruction which ia designed to help students master skills no matter

where in a learning continuum their own skills happen to fall.

Time/location flexibility which allows students to learn at various times, in various

places, and at various paces.

Continuous feedback which helps students feel success everyday in meeting learning

goals, and which helps them learn to celebrate learning.

Student accountability which helps students learn to take control of their own lives

and become responsible for own actions.

Executive Committee For Membership information

Contact:

President - Carole Smith
Open Meadow Learning Center
7602 N. Emerald
Portland, OR 97217
285-0508

President-Elect - Kelvin Webster
Grants High School
2245 NE 36th Avenue
Portland, OR 97212
280-5160

Treasurer - Francine Gentile
Josephine County Aiteinative Center
415 Murphy Creak Road
Grants Pass, OR 97527
862-2517

Secretary - Donna Caldwell
Umatilla ESD
PO Box 38
Pendleton, OR 97801
276-6616

Wil Lampa
777 SW 131st
Beaverton, OR 97005
626-3516
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Regional Representatives:

Region 1 Chair Janet Norton 285-0508
Representative Carol Kearns 842-8423

Region 2A Chair Ginny Di Maggio 287-9473
Representative Pert Grice 244-7423

Region 2B Chair Wil Lampa 244-6096
Representative John Davenport 684-2117

Region 3 Chair Joan Johnson 269-1851
Representative Valerie Payne 265-3639

Region 4 Chair Doug Burns 476-4263
Representative

Region 5 Chair Lauren Burch 382-1800
Representative Jan Hughes 382-0449

Regon 6 Chair Mary Bousquet 567-6427
Representative Brian Purnel 276-8338
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