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ABSTRACT

Everyone is responsible for thz wulfare of the
children in our communities. Som< persons, such as sChool teachers
and peace officers, are required by law ain Alaska to report known or
suspected child abuse and neglect. The general pudlic is also
encouraged to report such knowledge or suspicions so that children
can be protected and families can receave help. Estimates indicate
that over two million children are abused or neglected each year in
this country alone. Professionals estaimate that one our of every 4
girls and one out of 10 boys will be sexually abused before they
reach l8 years of age. Indicators of abuse or neglect include
children who: are frequently late or absent; come t0 school early or
are reluctant to go home; are inadegquately dressed for the weather;
have welts, bruises, and other ohysical injuries; are hyperactive,
destructive, and aggressive; are withdrawn, passive, and overly
compliant; have obvious medical needs that are unattended; are
undernourished; are tired, lethargic and listless. Additional
indicators that have been identafied with sexual abuse include:
sexual promiscuity; poor self-image; poor peer relationships; sudden
school problems; depression; sudden eating or sleeping problems;
excessive clinging; unusual fears; self-destructive behavaior; and
running away. The indicators do not necessarily mean child abuse or
neglect is going on in a family. They are meant to provide additicnal
anformation 1f there 1s cause to suspect abuse or neglect. {(LLL)
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Remember...

THE INDICATORS in this pamphlet do not necessarily mean child
abuse or neglect is going onin a family. If you have cause to suspect
abuse or neglect, rowever, a sensitivity to these indicators can
provide useful information.

Included in this pamphlet is a list of those who are required by law
to report known or suspected child abuse and neglect. Others in the
general public are also encouraged to report such knowledge or
suspicions so that children can be protected and families can receive
help.
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We are all responsible for the welfare of the children in our
communities. You are encouraged to report instances of known and
suspected child abuse and neglect.

IN RESPONSE to the crucial need for intervention in child abuse and
neglect cases, Alaska, like all other states, requires by law* that certain
groups of people formally report contirmed and suspected child abuse and
neglect. Groups who must report include individuals who are most likely
to be in contact with children under the age of 18, and who, theretore, are
most likelv to see and hear important clues about instances ot abuse and
neglect.

Who are mandated reporters?

THE FOILOWING PERSONS who, in the pertormance of their professional
duties, have reasonable cause to suspect** that a child has sutfered harmas
a4 result of abuse or neglect, must immediately (as <oon as reasonably
possible—no later than 24 hours) report that information to the nearest
office of the state’s Department of Health & Social Services, Division of
Familv & Youth Services:

e School teachers and school administrative staff members (public and
private schools);

* P'ractitioners of the healing arts, including chiropractors, mental
health counselors, dentists, dental hvgienists, health aides, nurses,
optometrists, osteopaths, physical therapists, physicians, psvehia-
trists, religious healing practitioners and surgeons;

® Social workers; continued...

e

" Alaska Statutes 47.17

** "Reasonable cause 1o suspect” means cause. based on all the facts and circumssiances known 1o
the person. that would lead a reasonable person 1o believe that something might be the case.
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» Peace officers and officers of the state Department of Corrections;

* Administrative officers of institutions, including public and private
hospitals or other facilities tor medical diagnosis, treatment or care;

 Child care providers, including toster parents, dayv care providers
and paid statt;

* Paid emplovees of domestic violence and sexual assault prevention
programs;

* [aid emplovees ot an organization that provides counseling or
treatment to individuals secking to control their use of drugs or
alcohol.

The law encourages the persons named above to also report cases that
come to their attention in their nonpro ‘essional capacities. Further, the law

encourages any person to report instances of known or suspected abuse
and neglect.

What are child abuse & neglect?

Srate taw pEFINES child abuse or neglect to include the following actions
by those responsible for a child’s welfare:

* Physical injury that harms or threctens a child’s health or welfare;

* Failure to care for a child, including neglect of the necessary
phyvsical (food, shelter, clothing, and medical attention), emotional,
mental and social needs;

* Sexual abuse, including molestation or incest;

* Sexual exploitation, including permitting or encouraging prostitu-
tion;

* Mental injury—An injuryv to the emotional well-being, or intellec-
tual or psychological capacity of a child, as evidenced by an
observable and substantial impairment in the child’s ability to
function in a developmentally appropriate manner;
or

* Maltreatment—A child has sutfered substantial harm as a result ot
child abuse or neglect due to an act or omission not necessarily
committed by the child’s parent, custodian or guardian.




Who are the abused children?

Estivates INDICATE that over two million children are abused or ne-
glected cach vear in this country alone. In 1989, at least 1,200 and perhaps
as manv as 3,000 children died as a result of child abuse or neglect, and over
160,000 were seriously harmed. Protessionals estimate that one out of
every tour girls and one out of ten bovs will be sexually abused betore they
reach 18-

Any child can be the victim of abuse or neglect, including:

e Children ot all ages, from infancy through the late teens;
e Childrer from families of all income levels;

o Children of all cultural and social backgrounds.

Who are the abusers?
ANYONE can be a child abuser:
» People in all walks of life;
* People in all income brackets;
» People of all cultural and social backgrounds,

ANYONE...

CoNTrRARY to what people may think, a person who abuses a child is
usually not someone with a severe psychiatric disorder. They may have
emotional problems which increase their potential to abuse, but usually,
thev are indistinguishable from anvone else. In fact, in many instances, a
person who abuses is a normal person whose stress levels have reached a
CTisis point.

arents Anonvmous, Inc, the self-help organization for abusing par-
ents, has identified o number of characteristics of parents who mav be at
“high risk” to abuse. These indicators, especially when coupled with clues
from a child’s comments, behavior and /or appearance. can be very usetul.
Some of these indicators are:?

o Parents who do not seem sensitive to their child’s basic needs for
food, shelter or clothing;

continued..

1 U.S. Advisory Board on Child Abuse and Neglect. “Child Abuse and Neglect: Critical First Steps in
Response 10 a National Emergency.” 1390.

2 Sexual Assualt Center, Harborview Medical Center. “Sexual Abuse of Chiidren—The Offender.”
October 1980.

3 Parents Anonymous. Inc., "Child Abuse s Scary.” 1977.
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e arents who seem indifferent to, denv, are unaware of or seem
annoved by injury, illness or developmental delays in their children;

e Parents who seem preoccupied with the fear that their children will
grow up to be delinquents unless they are severely punished in
childhood;

e PParents who tell vou how “nervous™ their child makes them;
e Parents who scapegoat one child as being ditferent or bad;

e Parents whose anger about their child’s behavior seems to be out of
proportion to the situation;

* Parents who are socially isolated and have little time away from
their children;

e Parents whose expectations of their children or of themselves as
parents are unrealistic;

e Parents who express tear that they may harm their child;

e Parents who are uncomfortable relating to their child in vour
presence;
o Parents whose self-esteem seems to be very low.
There are some other family indicators that, if coupled with chil-

dren’s indicators, could signal sexual abuse or exploitation. Among
those indicators are:*

* Previous occurrence of child sexual abuse in the tamily;
* Other violence in the home;

e Excessive interest in daughter’s activities with bovfriends and other
peer relationships;

e Rigid role structure in familv (paternal dominance/abused, passive
mother);

e Marked role reversal between parent and child;

o Unusual amount of or inappropriate physical contacts between
familv members;

Complaints about a seductive child.

4 Adapted from Jane Ramon. M.S W . “Indicators of Child Sexual Abuse.” 1984.
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Children's indicators of abuse or neglect

THE FOLLOWING are excerpts from a more detailed list of indicators
compiled by the povernment of British Columbia, the Ministry of Educa-
tion, Science & Technology.»

* Children who are trequently late or absent. The child mav be ne-
glected; parents may be having trouble coping; or the child may be
evpected to take on parental duties and may not be allowed to
attend school on some days.

» Children who come to school carly or who are reluctant to go home
in the afternoon. May suggest a lack of caring at home; no one at
home; fear of going home.

* A child who is inadequately dressed for the weather may be ne-
vlected.

o Children with welts, bruises and other phyvsical injuries should be
seen by a doctor or nurse, and the incident reported immediately if
there is cause to suspect nonaccidental injury.

¢ Children who are hyperactive, destructive and aggressive mav be
reflecting the violence at home. Children who act up mav be asking
tor help.

* Children who are withdrawn, passive, overly compliant can be

emotionally damaged. Many abused children feel very little
cmotion, having withdrawn to their own world.

* A child who has obvious medical needs that are unattended mav
well be physically neglected.

* Children who are undernourished and who go without breaktast
and/or lunch can be suffering from neglect unrelated to poverty,

* Children who are tired, lethargic, listless mav be suffering from
neglect. Parents may not regulate their child’s schedule, including
sleep patterns.

There are some additional children's indicators that have often been
identified with child sexual abuse. Those include:®

* Regression—withdrawing into fantasv worlds, wanting to be
someone else;
contnued...
s

5 Province of British Columbra. “Child Abuse’Neglect Policy Handbook,” 1973,
§ Adapted from Jane Ramon. M.S.W.. "indicators of Child Sexua! Abuse.” 1984.
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e Dulinquency and aggression—especiallv sexually acting out and
abuse to others;

* Sexual promiscuity, prostitution and unusually seductive behavior;

* Poor selt-image;

* Pour peer relationships;

* Sudden school problems;

® Depression;

» Sudden eating and/ or sleeping problems;

e Excessive clinging and/or fear of going home or tear of a particular
person:

e Unusual fears or phobias, especially of being lett alone and of meny/
bovs;

e Self-destructive behavior (drugs, alcohol, suiaidal gestures);
e Excessive or unusual rubbing of genitals (their own or others’);

» Familiaritv with sexual terms and activity bevond the child's age
and level of development;

e Excessive and/or inappropriate phvsical contact with other children
or adults;

» Confiding in someone, but not telling the whole story (“We have a
secret, but 1 can’t tell” or “What if | want to tell vou something, but |
can’t?”);

¢ Running awav—Every child who runs awav should be asked if they
are being sexually abused.

What should | do if | know or suspect?

It YOU ARE AWARE of or have a reasonable suspicion of the existence of
abuse or neglect, even if vou are not a mandated reporter, vou are urged to
report that information to the nearest office of the Department of Health &
Social Services, Division of Family & Youth Services. At the very least, talk
to someone vou trust about the situation—a teacher, an elder, public health
nurse, health aide or staff of a domestic violence shelter, for oxample. 1t is
essential that vou take some action to protect the child from further harm.
A chiid’s physical and emotional well-being, even that child's life, can be at
stake.
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It is not vour responsibility to determine whether vour suspicions
are correct, or to investigate those suspicions.*

If vou cannot contact the nearest office of the Division of Familv &
Y outh Services tor anv reason, and immediate action s necessary tor the
well-bemng of the Child, make vour report to a police agenev. Anotticer will
then tahe immediate action to protect the child and. at the catliest opportu-
mitv, will notity the nearest ottice of the Division ot Fanidv & Youth
Services.

There mav be times when vou wonder whether something constitutes
abuse or neglect. or it vour suspicions are adequate to warrant reporting,
Please teel tree to contact the Division of Family & Youth Services otfice
nearest vou taddresses and phone numbers are in this brochure) to discuss
those questions—anonvmouslv if vou prefer. Often such a discussion can
make vour nest move—to report or not—much clearer.

How does the system work and what is my role?

Wit vor gEPoRt, vou can discuss with a division social worker the
advisability of telling the parents that vou have reported. In some cases,
telling them why vou've reported mav be helptul. As Parents Anonvimous.
Inc. points out, “as the reporting person, vou are the tirst link i the chain
ot rehabilitation tor the tamilv. How vou relate to the tamilv can be the
conditioning tactor for how thev perceive those who will tollow m the
helping process. Your attitude can make the difference between a tamily
that expevts and accepts help and one that s detensive and hostile . 1t helps
to realize that abuse mav be a plea on the part of the parent tor help.” -

There mav be times, however, when vou do not want the parents to
hnow that vou've reported. In such a case, let the agency to whom vou
report Anow that vour name is not to be given to the parent in question. Or
report anonvmounsiv. The important thing is to report. The division mav
be unable to take appropriate action without vour help, and vou mav be
ashed later it vou are willing to relinquish anonvinuty,

The Division of Family & Youth Services must, by Law, mvestigate all
reports of suspected child abuse or neglect. 1t the ageney tinds that the
report is unfounded and the family is not in need of services, that will end
the mvestigation. It, however, the social worker behieves that the child s in
need of protective services tand that the tanalyv s i need ot services,
program of in-home support services can be determmed to help Stop the

" 1Lis not the intent of the legisiature that persons required 10 repon suspected chid abune or
~egiect unaer s chapler investigale the suspected child abuse or negiect betore they maxe the
required report 10 the gepariment ' — Alaska Statutes 47 17 010

" Parents Anpnymous. Inc . Child Abuse s Scary. 1977

10



8

abuse or neglect, including protective day care, individual and family
counseling, and homemaker support. It the social worker determines that
the child is i need of emergency protection, the worker can immediately
tahe custody of the cluld and remove the child to a place of safety. That is
a temporary placement. Foster placement or permanent out-of-home
placement and termmation ot parental rights can be done only through
court action.

It s important to keep in mind that in most cases, such extreme actions
are not requared.

It vou have reported abuse or neglect and want to know if action has
been taken on the case, vou can contact the division office tor verification.
Depending upon vour role with the tamily, the division may only be able
to give vou very imited information. 1t is important to remember that in-
tormation vou have learned about a family or individual in the course ot
vour duties relating to the reporting of known or suspected abuse s
contidential and vou mav not disclose it to other parties.

What is my legal liability?

ACCORDING 1O STATE FAW, a person who, in good taith, makes a report,
permits an nterview under 47.17.027, or who participates in judicial
proceedings related to reports submitted is immune trom any civil or
criminal liabilitv which might otherwise be incurred or imposed.

A person required by law to file a report of abuse or neglect who
willtully or Knowingly tails or reruses to do so is guilty of a class B
misdemeanor.

The division is committed to keeping children safe andto
keeping families together when that is possible...

Irois OFIEN PossiBLE to work with the family to help them solve their
problems. It isn't easy, but people can change.

If vou know about or have a reasonable suspicion of child abuse or
neglect, report it within 24 hours to the office of the Division of Family &
Youth Services nearest vou. Following are addresses and phone numbers
tor ottices ot the Division ot Family & Youth Services.

11
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I¥ FOR ANY REASON vou cannot reach the appropriate office to make a
report, call 1-800-478-4444. Remember, if a child is in imminent danger
and vou are unable to reach the division immediately, contact a local law

enforcement agencyv.

NORTHERN REGION
Fairbanks (Regional Office): Kotzebue:
1001 Noble Street Box 370
Suite 400 Kotzebue. AK 99752
Fairbanks. AK 99701 442-3226
452-1844
SOUTHCENTRAL REGION
Barrow: Regional Office:
Box A 550 W. 8th Avenue
Barrow. AK 99723 Sutte 300
852-3397 Anchorage. AK 99501
265-5080
Delta:
Box 686 Anchorage Service Unit:

Delta Junction. AK 99737

550 W. 8th Ave.

895-4452 Suite 201

Anchorage. AK 99501
Fort Yukon: 276-1450
Box 149
Fort Yukon. AK 88740 Copper Center:
662-2331 Box 315

Copper Center. AK 99573

Galena: 822-3089
Box 329
Galena. AK 99741 Cordova:
£56-1667 Box 1668
Cordova. AK 99574
Nenana: 424-7133
Box 444
Nenana. AK, 99760 Dillingham:
832-5204 Box 1089
Dilingham. AK 99574
NORTHWESTERN REGION B42-5237
Nome (Regronal Office):
Box 221 Eagle River:

Nome. AK 9762

11723 Oid Glenn Highway

443-5247 Suite 113
Eagle River. AK 99577
694-9546
conpnuea,
e BEST COPY AVAILABLE
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Homer:

195 Bunnell

Box 1420

Homar, AK 99603
235-7114

Kenai:

110 Trading Bay Road
Suite 160

Kenai. AK 99611
283-3369

Kodgiak:

316 Mission Road
Kodiak. AK 99615
486-6174

McGrath:

Box 81

McGrath, AK 99627
524-3848

Naknek:

Box 52

Naknek, AK 99633
246-6642

Sand Point:

Box 448

Sand Point. AK 99661
383-4357

Seward:

Box 148

State Building
Seward. AK 99664
224-5236

Unalaska:

Box 228

Unalaska. AK 99685
581-1236

13

Valdez:

Box 750

Valdez. AK 99686
835-4789

Mat-Su:

203 W. Dogwood. Suite 2
Palmer. AK 99645
745-1701

SOUTHEASTERN REGION
Regional Office:

230 S. Franklin St.

Suite 212

Juneau. AK 99801
465-3125

Ketchikan:

415 Main Street

Room 201. State Building
Ketchikan. AK 99901
225-6611

Juneau:

230 S. Frankiin St.
Suite 206

Juneau. AK 99801
465-3013

Craig:

Box 254

Craig, AK 99921
826-3266

Haines:

Box 189

Haines, AK 99827
766-2608

Petersburg:

Box 1088

Petersburg, AK 99833
772-3565



Sitka:

210 A" Moller
Sitka, AK 99835
747-8608

Wrangell:

Box 970

Wrangell. AK 99929
874-3789

WESTERN REGION

Bethel (Regional Office):

Box 328
Bethei, AK 99559
543-3141

Aniak:

Box 63

Anmiak, AK 99557
675-4377

Mountain Village:
Box 155

Mountain Village, AK 99632

531-2613

Kwigillingok:

Box 69

Kwigillingok, AK 99622
588-8627

14



Alaska Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Family & Youth Services

P.O.Box H

Juneau. Alaska 99811-0630
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