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A Message from
Gouernor Mario M. Cuomo

One of my administration's foremost
goals is finding jobs for the younger mem-
bers of the family of New York.

We must also make sure, however, that the safety and health of our
youths are protected on the job and that their jobs do not interfere with
their education.

"Laws Governing the Employment of Minors" cites the laws that
employers must observe when employing youths. I urge employers to use
this guide as they bring more young people into the labor force.

aiii) A..,
Mario M. Cuomo
Governor

A Message from
Commissioner Thomas F. Hartnett

If you're one of the many employers in
New York State who are offering jobs to
our young people, you should be aware of
the qualifications placed on youth em-
ployment by the state's child labor laws.

"Laws Governing the Employment of Minors" is designed as a guide for
employers, guidance counselors and others who are involved with youth
employment.

If you have questions that are not answered by this booklet, contact the
state Department of Labor's Division of Labor Standards.

3
Thomas F. Hartnett
Commissioner
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Introduction

This booklet is intended to give general information on the provisiong of
t% Labor Law and other laws governing the employment of minors in New
York State. Certain details are omitted and the statements in tMs
booklet are not to be construed as official statements or interpre-
tations of the law. A complete copy of the Labor Law may be obtained as
indicated on the back cover of this booklet.

The legal provisions discussed in summary form in the booklet are
contained in several different laws, federal and state. Provisions governing
school attendance, the issuance of employment certificates, the employ-
ment of children under 16 years of age as actors, the employment of child
models, and newspaper carrier and street trades work are part of the New
York State Education Law and the Cultural Affairs Law.

The Labor Law contains provisions relating to minimum age for
employment, prohibited employment, hazardous occupations, hours of
work, minimum wages, payment of wages, unemployment insurance,
apprenticeship, and occupational safety and health standards in areas not
covered by federal standards. Industrial Code Rules implement specifi-
cally the general occupational safety and health provisions of the Labor
Law. The state Labor Department administers the Labor Law under the
supervision of the Commissioner of Labor.

The Workers' Compensation Law contains the provisions relating to
workers' compensation and disability insurance.

For establishments covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act,
federal laws on minimum wage, overtime pay and child labor may in some
cases set higher standards than state requirements. The requirements of
state law do not affect an employer's obligation to comply with any
provisions of federal law. Information on federal laws may be obtained
from the offices listed on page 36.
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School Attendance

Full-time school is compulsory for children under 16 years old.
Regulations in the particular community may require attendance of
unemployed minors until the age of 17. High school graduates, regardless
of age, are not iequired to continue school.

Minimum Age for Employment

With certain exceptions, and subject to employment certificating
requirements:

v.
Children not yet 14 may not be employed at any time, neither
after school nor during vacation.

Children 14 and 15 years old may work after school hours and
during vacations but not in factory work. They may do delivery and
clerical work in any enclosed office of a factory, and in dry cleaning,
tailor, shoe repair and similar service stores.

Children 16 years of age or older, if not attending school, may
work full time throughout the year. Factory work is permitted for
children 16 years of age or older.
(See "Prohibited Occupations," Page 13.)

Exceptions:

1. Children 12 years of age or older may be employed in the hand
harvest ot berries, fruits, and vegetables.

2. Boys and girls 11 years of age or older may work outside school
hours as newspaper carriers to deliver, or sell and deliver,
newspapers, shopping papers or periodicals to homes or business
places.* (Boys and girls 14 years of age and over may be engaged
in street trades work, i.e. selling newspapers or periodicals on
streets or public places.)

3. Children 12 years of age or older may work outside school hours
for their parents or guardians either on the home farm or at other
outdoor work not connected with a business.

4. There is no minimum age for child performers at theatrical, radio,
or television performances or for child models

*Under federal low o 14-yeor oge minimum is required for delivery of penodicolsond similar

items
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5. Children 15 years old who can no longer profit from further
available instruction may be permitted to work full time in a place
other than a factory.

Employment Certificates and Permits
,

An employment certificate or permit is required for children under 18
before they may begin work. High school graduates, children who work for
their parents, and children who do industrial homework are included in
this group.

Exceptions:

1. An employment certificate or permit is not required for work as a
caddy on a golf course. The caddy must be at least 14 years old,
however.

2. An employment certificate is not required for a baby-sitter. The
baby-sitter, however, must be at least 14 years old.

3. A farm work permit is not required for young people 16 or older to
work on a farm. Children 14 and 15 must have such a permit tor
farm work. A permit also is required for children 12 to 14 emphyed
in the hand harvest of berries, fruits, and vegetables.

4. An employment certificate or permit is not required for children 12
years of age or older working for their parents either on the home
farm or at other outdoor work not connected with a business.

5. An employment certificate ic not required for a college student 16
or 17 years of age employed by a nonprofit college or university or
fraternity, rorority, student association cr faculty association.

6. An employment certificate is not required for a minor 14 or 15
years of age to engage in casual employment consisting of yard
work and household chores in and about a residence or the
premises of a nonprofit, noncommercial organization, not involving
the use of power-driven machinery. Minors 16 or 17 do not need
employment certificates for casual work even it if invokes power-
driven machinery ordinarily used in connection with yIrd mork or
household chores.

For lawn and garden work, therefore, the requirement for an
employment certificate depends on the minor's age, whether power-
driven machinery is used, and whether the employment is casual
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(without regularity, occasional, without foresight, plan or method).
The following table will clarify when a certificate is needed:

MINORS 14 AND 15
YEARS OLD

MINORS 16 AND 17 1
YEARS OLD

No power-driven
machinery used

No certificate if work is
casual

Certihcate required if
work is regular

No certificate if work is
casual

6rtificate required if
work istegular

Power-driven
machinery used

Certificate required
whether or not work
is casual.*

No certificate if work is
casual

Certificate requireci-i
work is regular

*Federal law requires a 16-year age minimum for the operation of power-dnuen machinery,
including power.dnuen lawn mowers.

Types of Employment Certificates
and Permits

Certificates

A Student Non-Factory Employment Certificate is issued to a
minor 14 or 15 years old for permitted work in any trade, business or
se. vice, but not bor work in a factory workroom or for work involving use
of dangerous materials or chemical processes.

A Student General Employment Cerfificate is issued to a minor
16 or 17 years old who is attending school. It is valid for work in a factory or
any other trade, business or service, but not valid for hazardous
employment such as operating certain power-driven machines, construc-
tion work, or for work as a helper on a motor vehicle.

A Fun-Time Employment Certificate is issued to a minor 16 or 17
years old who is not attending school, or is leaving school for full-time
employment. It is valid for work in a factory or any other trade, buslness or
service but not valid for hazardous employment such as operating certain

5
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power-driven machines, construction work, or for work as a helper on a
motor vehicle. (See "Prohibited Occupations," on page 12.)

Permits

Farm Work Permits are issued to young people 14 and 15 years of
age for farm work during vacation, before or after sch)ol hours, and on
days when attendance at school is not required. Such a permit must be
signed by each employer, and is subject only to the condition that it is not
valid ior work in or in connection with a factory or cannery. A minor may
change his farm job without obtaining a new permit.

Permits are also issued to youngsters 12 to 14 years of age employed in
the hand harvest of berries, fruits and vegetables. Sucl. iinors must be
accompanied by a parent or must provide the employer with the parent's
written consent to work.

Newspaper Carrier Permits are issued to boys and girls 11 to 18
years of -age for work in the de!ivery, or sale and delivery, of newspapers,
shopping papers or periodicals to homes or places of business. The minor
must carry the permit with him while working. (See page 10 under Special
Occupations. Also, see footnote on page 3.)

Street Trade Permits are issued to self-employed boys and girls 14
to 18 years old who sell newspapers or periodicals on streets or public
places or who work as bootblacks. (See page 10 under Special Occupa-
tions.)

Child Model Permits are issued for the employment of child models
under 18 (See page 12 under Special Occupations.)

Other Types of Certificates

Special Employment Certificates may be obtained by minors 15 years
old who are found to be unable to profit by further available school
instruction. Such certificates permit the holder to work full time but are
not valid for factory work. Issuance of such certificates must be
recommended by a clinic of the state Department of Mental Health or
similar recognized clinic, and be approved by the Bureau of Pupil Services
of the State Education Department.

Certificates of Age. For his/her protection, an employer may request
a certificate of age from a minor over 18 years of age. Age certificates are
issued by the school authorities upon application of the minor. The
employer should keep the age certificate on file. It is conclusive evidence of
the age certified.

6



Obtaining Employment Certificates and Permits

Information as to the location of the local education office where
employment certificates, permits, or badges are issued may be obtained at
the school the minor is attending or from the superintendent of schools in
the locality.

To obtain a Student Non-Factory Employment Certificate or a Student
General Employment Certificate the minor must submit:

1. Parent's permission, in writing, for the child to work;

2. Documentary proof of age, which may be a birth certificate or
other recorded evidence in existence two years o= more and satisfac-
tory to the certificating officer;

3. A certificate of physical fitness to assure that the minor is in
sound health and that the work will not impair his or her physical
condition.

Physit al examinations an, given by school medical doctors or by
physicians designated by the department of health. A certificate (A
physical fitness may be issued by the minor's own doctor. (For children
from neighboring states who seek work in this state a physical fitness
certificate issued in the neighboring state is acceptable). If the examining
physician finds that a youth 14 to 18 is not physically fit for some
occupations but may engage safely in other types of work, an employment
certificate may be issued on a certificate of limited physical fitness. Such an
employment certificate is valid only for a period not exceeding six months
and only for the occupation specified.

For a Full-Time Employment Certificate, the parent or guardian
must personally appear before the school authorities to indicate consent.
(For high school graduates, written consent is accepted.) In addition,
proof of age, certificate of physical fitness, and a schocing record are
.equired. A pledge of employment signed by the prospecie employer,
showing the number of working hours a day, days per week, and the
nature of the work to be done by the minor is required only in New York
City and Buffalo for 16-year-old minors who are leaving school.

For a Farm Work Permit, the minor must submit parent's permission,
proof of age, and a certificate of physical fitness. A pledge of employment is
not required.

For a Newspaper Carrier Permit, or Street Trades Permit, the
minor must present parent's permission, proof of age, and a statement
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from a cchool, department of health or private doctor that the minor is
physically fit. For the newspaper carTier permit, the medical statement is
not required if the applicant is qualified to participate in the school's
physical education programs.

For a Child Model Permit, the consent of the parent or guardian and a
health certificate are required.

For a Special Employment Certificate, the minor must submit the
records required for a fulltime employment certificate, except that a
schooling record is not required. Also required are a clinical report that the
child is no longer able to profit by further available school instruction and
he approval of the Bureau of Pupil Services in the State Education
Department.

Change of Jobs

Emplv,ment Certificates expire two years after issuance.

The Student Non-Factory Employment Certificate, the Student General
Employment Certificate and the Full-Time Employment Certificate may
be used for an unlimited number of employers. When the minor leaves
employment, he or she should obtain the certificate from the employer.

The farm work permit and the child model permit may be used for any
employer but each employer must sign the permit.

A newspaper carrier permit may be used for any publisher or distributor
who supplies the papers or periodicals to the minor.

Duties of Employer

The employer is required to .eep Student Non-Factory, Student
General and Full-Time Employment Certificate on file in his/her
office as long as the minor remains in his/her employ.

Farm Work Permits, Child Model Permits, Newspaper Carrier
Permits, and Street Trades Permits are retained by the minor at all
times.

Where a temporary placement agency is engaged in th e. business of
assigning employees for temporary service at other establishments, such
agency must keep on file the original copy of the Student Non-Factory,
Student General or Full-Time Employment Certificate in its office
and provide copies at the establishment where the minor works.

8 14



Duties of Employment Agencies

Employment agencies have certain obligations under the law with
regard to placement oi minors on jobs. They may not refer youngsters to
any job if the employment violates the provisions of the Labor Law or
Education Law pertaining to employment of minors. They may not refer
minors, or any person, to jobs paying less than thE prescribed federal or
state minimum wage. They may not recruR out-of-slate youngsters, below
18 years of age, for placement in domestic employment.

State law fixes the maximum fee an emplcyment agency may charge a
job applicant. Another protection in the law prohibits agencies from
misrepresenting jobs. These agencies also must be licensed.

The Employment Agency Law (Article 11, General Business Law),
which regulates the activities of employment agencies, is administered by
the Department of Labor throughout the state except in New York City,
where enforcement is the responsibility of the New York City Department
of Consumer Affairs.

The Labor Departmen; ts authorized to enforce the law prohibiting an
employment agency from illegally referring a minor to a job or referring
any person to a job paying less than the applicable state minimum wage.

Special Occupations

Delivery and Clerical Employment in
Factory Offices and Service Stores

Although no child under 16 may work in a factory workroom, 14-or
15yearolds may work in delivery and clerical jobs in a factory office that is
enclosed and separate from the place where manufacturing is canied on.
The office must have a partition at least seven feet high, and must have an
entrance that will permit the child to enter or leave the office without
passing through the factory workroom.

A child 14 or 15 also may work in a delivery or clerical job in a dry
cleaning store, tailor shop, shoe repair shop, laundry store, hat cleaning
store, and similar service stores, but he or she is not permitted to work in
proximity to dangerous machinery, equipment or process.*

*Federal law requires that any dehuery work for retail stores whtch is performed by 14 and
15-year-olds be made on foot, by bicycle or public transportation. It also forbids them from
working in a workplace where processing (such as laundenng or dry leaning) takes place.

1 ro
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Newspaper Sales and Delivery

There are two principal occupations relating to newspaper sales and
delivery:

1. Newspaper Carrier

The Education Law defines a newspaper carrier as one who delivers, or
sells and delivers, newspapers, shopping papers or periodicals to custom-
ers at their homes or places of business.

The minimum age for a newspaper carrier is 11. (See footnote on page
3.) A permit is required for all newspaper carriers between 11 and 18. To
obtain a newspaper carrier permit, a minor must present proof of age and
his or her parent's consent to the certificating educational authorities in
the school district where he or she lives. A statement from a private doctor
or a school or department of health doctor that the minor is physically able
to do the work also is required. Outside New York City, Buffalo and
Rochester, the school doctor's statement may be based on the annual
physical examination required by the Education Law. The medical
statement is not required if the applicant is qualified to participate in the
school's physical education program.

A newspaper carrier may not work before 5 a.m., after 7 p.m. or 30
minutes prior to sunset, whicnever is later, nor during the time when
required to attend school. The minor may not work more than four hours
on a day when school is in session or more than five hours on a day when
school is not in session.

A newspaper carrier permit is not valid for work as a helper on a
newspaper delivery truck delivering papers to stores or distributors.

The newspaper publisher or distributor who supplies the papers or
periodicals to the carrier must provide workers' compensation insurance
for that employee. A newspaper publisher or distributor who knowingly
permits a newspaper carrier to work in violation of the provisions of the
Education Law is liable for a double indemnity compensation award if the
minor is injured. The newspaper supplier cannot insure himself for the
additional award but must pay it himself.

lt is unlawful for a person knowingly to deliver newspapers or periodicals
to a newspaper carrier who is not in compliance with the regulations.
The Commissioner of Labor and the police have concurrent power to
enforce the regulations, except with respect to the issuance and revor:a-
tion of certifi(-ates or badges, which is under the jurisdiction of the local
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educational authorities. (Note: The above newspaper carrier regulations
do not apply to a minor employed to sell newspapers at a stand owned
either by a candy store proprietot or by a newspaper publisher or
distributor. Such a minor is covered by the provisions of the Labor Law
applying to minors employed in other industries or occupations.)

2. Street Trades - Selling Newspapers

The street trades provisions of the Education Law apply to a self-
employed boy or girl who sells newspapers or other periodicals on streets
or in other public 1.4aces. The minimum aGe is 14 and a street trades
certificate or badge is required for all minors between 14 and 18 engaged in
a street trade. To obtain a street trades certificate or badge, the minor
must present to the school authorities his or her parent's permission and
proof of age. A statement from a private doctor or a school or department
of health doctor that the child is physically able to do the work also is
required. Outside New York City, Buffalo and Rochester the school
doctor's statement may be based on the annual physical examination
required by the Education Law.

A minor engaged in a street trade may not work before 6 a.m., after 7
p.m., nor during the time he is required to be in school. He may not work
more than four hours on a day when school is in session nor more than five
hours on a day when school is not in session.

The Commissioner of Labor and the police have concurrent powe: to
enforce the street trades regulations, except with respect to the issuance
and revocation of certificates or badges, which is under the jurisdiction of
the educational authorities.

Bootblacks

The street trades regulations applying to the selling of newspapers, as
described above, apply also to work as a self.employed bootblack on
streets or in other public places.

Child Actors

Young people under 16 may not be employed to perform in a theatrical
performance, in the making of a motion picture, or in a radio or television
broadcast without special permission. A child performer permit shall be
issued by the mayor or chief executive officer of the city, town or village
where the exhibition, rehearsal or performance will take place.

The mayor or chief executive officer may solicit the assistance of a child
protective organization if there is one in the community or of other state or

11
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local agencies as he or she may determine. In New York City, application
for such permission must be made to the New York City Department of
Social Services, Special Services for Children, 80 Lafayette Street, New
York, New York 10013. Performers 16 and 17 years of age are required to
obtain employment certificates.

Child Models

Young people not yet 18 may not be employed or exhibited as models
without a permit from the educational authorities. The permit authorizes
employment by several employers, but each employer must sign the
permit.

Prohibited Occupations

Young people may not be employed at certain occupations and in
specified industries involving the use of dangerous machines and proce-
dures. The occupations prohibited depend on the age and sex of the minor
involved. Farr-1 work is exempted from any of the applicable state
regulations listed below.

Females of any age may not be employed:

In factory or mercantile establishments within four weeks after child-
birth unless she presents to her employer a written statement express-
ing her desire for earlier employment and a written opinion by a qualified
physician that she is physically and mentally capable of discharging the
duties of her employment.

In addition to the above-
Males and females under 21 may not work:

In tunnels as hoisting engineers or locomotive drivers.

In a dry cleaning establishment as supervisors of dry dyeing and
deterging rooms.

As hoisting engineers in mines in charge of hoists on which persons are
permitted to ride.

In construction work as operators of certain types of cranes. (An
18-year-old minor may work as an apprentice under direct supervision
of a trained crane operator.)

12

In the operation of explosive powered tools.

1 8



In addition-
Boys and girls younger than 18 may not be employed in or assist in:

Any occupation at construction work, including wrecking, demolition,
roofing or excavating operations and the painting or exterior cleaning of
a building structure from an elevated surface.

Any occupation involved in the operation of power-driven woodworking,
metal-forming, metal-punching, metal-shearing, bakery and paper
products machines.

Any occupation involved in the operation of circular saws, bandsaws
and guillotine shears.

Any occupation involved in the operation of power-driven hoisting
apparatus.

Any occupation involved in the manufacture of brick, tile and kindred
products.

Any occupation involving exposure to radioactive substances or
ionizing radiation, or exposure to silica or other harmful dust.

Logging occupations and occupations in the operation of any saw mill,
lath mill, shingle mill or cooperage-stock mill.

Any occupation in or in connection with a mine or quarry.

As a helper on a motor vehicle.

The care or operation of a freight or passenger elevator, except that
minors over 1 6 may operate automatic, push button control elevators.

Work in manufacturing, packing, or storing of explosives, or in the use
or delivery of explosives.

Operating or using any emery, tripoli, rouge, corundum, stone, silicon
carbide, or any abrasive, or emery polishing or buffing wheel, where
articles of the baser metals or iridium are manufactured.

Adjusting belts to machinery or cleaning, oiling or wiping machinery.

Packing paints, dry colors, or red or white leads.

Preparing any composition in which dangerous or poisonous acids are
used.

Operating steam boilers subject to Section 204 of the Labor Law.

13
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In penal or correctional institutions, if such employment relates to the
custody or care of prisoners or inmates.

(The foregoing prohibitions do not apply to minors younger than 18 who
are apprentices individually registered in apprenticeship programs duly
registered with the Commissioner of Labor; or to student learners
enrolled in recognized cooperative vocational training programs, or to
trainees in approved on-the-job training programs.

The foregoing also do not apply to a minor 16 to 18 years old employed
in the occupation in which he or she has completed training as a student
learner or as a trainee in an on-the-job training program, or has com-
pleted a training program given by a public school or in a nonprofit
institution which includes safety instruction approved by the Commis-
sioner of Labor. Regulations governing such approval have been
issued.)

Tree-trimming near power lines.

Operating amusement devices at carnivals, fairs and amusement parks,
except that minors at least 16 years old may operate devices designed
for the exclusive use of small children.

14

Operating any machine which requires guards, unless it is equipped at
the point of operation with the guard specified.

Work in underground tunneling operations.

Work as window cleaners.

Selling, dispensing or handling alcoholic beverages, including beer, on
premises used for retail sale of such beverages. (Minors under 18 may
be employed in grocery stores holding beer licenses to handle and
deliver beer and to act as cashier for off-premises beer sales when in the
presence of and under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age
and over.)

Appearing as entertainers on premises used for retail sale of alcoholic
beverages except where the appearance is approved and under the
sponsorship of a primary or secondary school, is supervised by a
teacher from that school, and the minor's parent or guardian gives his
or her written consent; or where the state Liquor Authority has issued a
special permit authorizing a minor under 18 years of age to appear as an
entertainer at the premises licensed for retail sales of alcoholic
beverages.
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In addition to the state regulations concerning prohibited occupations
there are 17 Federal Hazardous Orders in Non-agricultural Occupa-
tions prohibiting the employment of minors under 18 engaged in interstate
commerce. These orders apply to:

1. Occupations in or about plants manufacturing or storing explosives
or articles containing explosive components.

2. Occupations of motor vehicle driver and outside helper.

3. Coal-miner occupations.

4. Logging occupations and occupations in the operation of any
sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill, or cooperage-stock mill.

5. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven wood-
working machines.

6. Occupations involving exposure to radioactive substances and to
ionizing radiation.

7. Occupations involved in the operation of elevators and other power-
driven hoisting apparatus. (However, minors 16 and 17 years old are
permitted to operate and ride on automatic enclosed elevators).

8. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven metal-
forming, punching, and shearing machines.

9. Occupations in connection with mining, other than coal.

10. Occupations involving slaughtering, meat packing or processing, or
rendering.

11. Occupations involved in the operation of certain power-driven
bakery machines.

12. Occupations involved in the operation of certain power-driven
paper products machines.

13. Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred
products.

14. Occupations involving the operation of power-driven circular saws,
band saws, and guillotine shears.

15. Occupations involving wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking
operations.

16. Occupations involving roofing operations.

15



17. Occupations involving excavation operations.

(NOTE: Orders 5, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 17 contain exemptions for
apprentices and student learners, and high school graduates
who have completed training as student learners, when
employed under prescribed conditions.)

In addition to the above, under state regulations:

Boys and girls under 16 may not be employed in or assist in:

Any occupation in or in connection with a factory, except in delivery
and clerical employments in an enclosed office of a factory or in dry
cleaning stores, shoe repair shops and similar service stores. (See
footnote on Page 9.)

Painting or exterior cleaning in connection with the maintenance of a
building or structure.

The operation of washing, grinding, cutting, slicing, pressing or mixing
machinery.

Operating or assisting in operating any machinery unless all moving
parts other than keys, levers or handles are so guarded as to prevent
any part of the person or clothing of the operator from coming into
contact therewith.

An-) employment in institutions in the Department of Mental Health
provided, however, that participation in recreation and leisure activities,
social skills development, companionship and/or entertainment as part
of an organized volunteer program approved by the Commissioner of
Mental Health, shall not constinr,e employment or assistance in em-
ployment and may be performed by youthful volunteers at least 14
years of age

Industrial homework

Places of entertainment as a rope or wire walker or gymnast unless the
child is protected by the use of safety devices or protective equipment
which comply with the provisions of the federal Occupational Safety
and Health Act.

Peddling; drug traffic; or any practice, exhibition or place dangerous or
injurious to life, limb or morals.
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AGE OF MINOR INDUSTRY OR OCCUPATION M
(Girls and Boys)

MINORS
ATTENDING

SCHOOL
When School in Session

14 and 15

16 years

17 years

MI occupations except farm
work, newspaper carrier and 8

street trades.
4
8

Factory, mercantile, beauty 8
service, restaurant, hotel,

telegraph or messenger service.
Telephone mswering service.

When School Not
in Session (Vacation)

14 and 15

16 and 17

MINORS NOT
ATTENDING

SCHOOL
16 and 17

All occupations except farm
work, newspaper carrier and

street trades.
triry, mercantile, beauty

service, restaurant, hotel
telegraph or messenger service
Telephone answering service.

Factory, mercantile, beauty
service, restaurant, hotel

telegraph or messenger service.
Telephone answenng service.

FARM WORK
12 and 13

14 to IR

Hand harvest of bevies, fruits
and vegetables
Any farm work

NEWSPAPER
CARRIER

11 to 18 Dehvers, or !Jells and dei,vers
newspapers, shopping papers

or penochcals to homes or
business places (Akz, see

footnote page 3.)

4 hour
5 hew

STREET TRADES
14 to 18 Self employed work in public

places selling newspapers or
work as a bootblack.

4 how
5 how

, Students 14 and IS enrolled in approved work study programs may work four hi:
in such programs to work three hours on a school day, four hours a day when scho
hours a week when school is not in sessan
1 Federal regulattons appbcable to employment in interstate commerce /unit woe
' This prohibition applies only to factory, mercantile, beauty service, restaurant,
' This provision does not apply to minors employed in resort hotels or restouron
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Hours Regulations
MAX MAX

UM DAILY WEFKLY DAYS PROHIBITED
URS HOURS P/WEEK HOURS

on school days'
on other days

on school days
on other days

hours

hours

hours

21,1 6 7 P M to 7 A.M

28 6 Midnight to 6 A M 3

48 6 Midnight to 6 A M

48 6

40 6 7PM to7A.M

484 64 Midnight to 6 A M 4

48 6

48 6 Midnight to 6 A M

484 64

4PM to9AM

school days
on other days

school days
other days

7 P M or 30
minutes prior iu

sunset, whichever
is later, to 5 A M.

7PM to6AM

a day. 28 hours a week Feder& law, howeuer permits stude ms enrolled
not in session. 23 how 3 III any one week when schoolis in session, and 28

hours 01 wo. k Ism- minors 14 and 15 to a maximum of 18 hours
et telegraph or messenger service
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In addition, federal regulations issued under the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act prohibit employment of boys and girls under 16 in the
following occupations in interstate firms:

Operating or tending hoisting apparatus or power-driven machinery
other than office machines.

Public messenger service.

Occupations in connection with transportation or persons or property,
warehousing and storage, communications and public utilities, and
construction, except office and sales work not involving duties on a
means of transportation or at a construction site.

Any mining occupation.

Processing occupations such as filleting fish, dressing poultry or
cracking nuts.

Occupations requiring performance of any duties in work areas or work
places where goods are manufactured, mined or otherwise processed.

In the following occupations in a retail, food St. vice, or gasoline service
establishment covered by the federal wage and hour laws:

1. Work in boiler or engine rooms.

2. Outside window washing involving work from window sills, ladders
or scaffolds.

3 Cooking, except at soda fountains and lunch bars.

4. Baking.

5. Work with power-driven food slicers and grinders, food choppers
and cutters, and bakery-type mixers.

6. Work in freezers, meat coolers and in preparation of meats for sale,
except wrapping, pricing, sealing, labeling, weighing and stocking
when performed in other areas.

7. Loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, railroad cars and
conveyors.

8. Maintenance or repair of establishment or machines, except cleanup
work and maintename of grounds if not involving the use of power-
driven mowers and cutters.
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9. Work in connection with cars or trucks involving use of pits, racks or
lifting apparatus, or involving the inflation of any tire mounted on a
rim equipped with a movable retaining ring.

In addition there is a Federal Hazardous Occupations Order
covering minors under 16 years of age engaged in farm work. The fedend
order sets certain occupational restrictions for agricultural workers under
16 years of age employed in the production of goods for interstate
commerce. The order is applicable regardless of whether or not the
minors are covered by federal minimum wage provisions. The order lists
16 prohibited occupations for minors under 16 years of age, including
working with certain power-driven farm machinery, operating a tractor
with over 20 PTO horsepower; and working with explosives or certain
chemicals.

The prohibitions on child labor on farms do not apply, however, to
children employed on a farm owned or operated by their parents, or to
students enrolled in a recognized vocational education training program.
In addition, exemptions are provided for 4-H members who have
completed designated training programs and participants iti other ap-
proved farm training and education programs. Details of these exemptions
may be obtained from the nearest office of the United States Department
of Labor, Wage and Hour Division.

In addition to the above-
Boys and girls under 16 may not be employed in:

The manufacture or furnishing of any article included in the U.S.
Government contract in excess of $10,000. (Federal Public Contracts
Act.)

Hours of Work
The limitations on the working hours of young people depend upon age,

the particular type of work, and whether the youngster is attending school.
No youngstec may work during the hours when he or 5h2 is
required to attend school.

When school is in session, from September to June generally, chil.
dren 14 and 15 years old may not be employed in any occupation (except
farm work and selling or distributing -.ewspapers):

a. More than three hours on any school day;
b. More than eight hours on Saturday or a non.school day;
c. More than 23 hours in any wet.k;
d. More than six days in any week.
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However, the 14 or 15 year old minor employed as part of any type of
supervised work study or work experience program approved by the
Commissioner of Education may work four hours or: a school day and 28
hours a week, instead of three hours a day and 23 hours a week. (Also, see
footnote 1 in the centerfold.)

When school I. in session, children 16 years old enrolled in a day
school, other than a part-time or continuation school, may not be
empioyed in any occupation (except farm work and selling or distributing
newspapers):

a. More than four hours on any school day;
b. More than eight hours on Saturday or a non-school day;
c. More than 28 hours in any week;
d. More than six days in any week.

When school is not in session, and during vacations, children under 18
generally may not work more than eight hours a day, six days a week;
children 14 and 15 may not work more than 40 hours a week and children
16 and 17 may not work more than 48 hours a week. Details appear in the
chart in the centerfold.

Federal legislation limits the work of children 14 and 15 years old in
firms engaged in interstate commerce to a maximum three-hour day and
18-hour week when school is in session, and to an eight-hour day and
40-hour week when school is not in session.

In school cafeterias, a child who has an employment certificate may
work during the lunch period at the school that he or she attends.

On farms, children 12 to 14 having farm work permits to pick berries,
fruits, or vegetables may not work more than fulr hours per day, before 9
a.m. or after 4 p.m. or when school is in session. There are no hours
regulations for farm work for children over 14 years old. (Also, see
footnote 2 in the centerfold.)

Two Jobs - When a minor is employed in two or more establishments in
the same day or week, the total time of employment may not exceed that
allowed per day or per week in a single establishment.

Nightwork Restrictions

In addition to the above limitations on the number of hours children may
work a day or a week, the law prohibits the employment of minors before
and after certain hours, depending on the age and occupation of the
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minor. The following nightwork restrictions apply throughout the year,
whether or not school is in session.

Boys and girls under 16 may not work:

Between 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. in most jobs (Exceptions: newspaper caniers
may not work between 7 p.m.-or 30minutes prior to sunset, whichever is
later--and 5 a.m.; minors engaged in street trades may not work between 7
p.m. and 6 a.m.; no hours restrictions for farm work for children over 14.)

Boys and girls 16 and 17 may not work:

Between 12 midnight and 6 a.m. in factories, mercantile establishments,
beauty parlors, hotels and restaurants or in the distribution or transmission
of merchandise, messages or articles. (Newspaper carriers may not work
between 7 p.m.--or 30 minutes prior to sunset, whichever is later--and 5
a.m.; minors engaged in street trades may not work between 7 p.m. and 6
a.m.)

Additiohal details on nightwork regulations will be found in the chart in
the centerfold.

Definitions of Factory and Mercantile Establishments

Under the Labor Law, a factory includes any mill, workshop or other
manufacturing establishment and all buildings, sheds, structures or other
places used for or in connection therewith, wits- ? one or more persons are
employed at manufacturing, including making, altering, repairing, finishing,
bottling, canning, cleaning or laundering any article or thing, in whole or in
part, except (a) dry dock plants engaged in making repairs to ships; (b)
power houses, generating plants, and other structures owned or operated
by a public service corporation, other than construction or repair shops,
subject to the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission; and (c)
refrigerated warehouses subject to the jurisdiction of or licensed by the
Department of Agriculture and Markets, and buildings used in cleaning
and packing celery.

Mercantile establishment means any place where one or more
persons are employed in which goods, wares, or merchandise are offered
for sale including any building, shed, or structure or any part thereof,
occupied in connection with such establishment.

Posting Provisions

An employer governed by provisions of the Labor Law or the Industrial
Code Rules must keep posted in a conspicuous place in the establishment
a summary (... *uch laws as the Commissioner of Labor deems necessary.
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A schedule of the daily hours of labor and of the days on which minors
under 18 (covered by the hours provision) are required to work by the
employer and the time when work begins and ends must be kept
conspicuously posted on a form furnished or approved by the Commis-
sioner of Labor in each establishment where such persons are employed.
Minors are permitted to work only during posted hours and on posted
days. The schedule of hours must not be changed after work is begun on
the first day of the week without the consent of the CommLssioner of
Labor.

Safety and Health
Labor Law provisions for the protection of the lives, safety and health of

employees apply to places not covered by a federal occupational safety .

and health standard (OSHA). Regulations implementing provisions in the
Labor Law are to be found in the New York State Industrial Code Rules.

Minimum Wages
New York State Minimum Wage Laws

There are two state minimum wage laws:

(1) Minimum Wage Act - applicable to ali occupations except farm
work.

(2) Minimum Wage Standards for Farm Workers applicable to farm
workers only.

Minimum Wage Act (applicable to employment generally)

The General Industry Minimum Wage Act provides that all employees
in the state, including domestic workers with certain specified exceptions,
must be paid at least $3.35 per hour. This rate became effective on January
1, 1981. (See below for rates for farm workers.) Provisions calling for the
payment of the hourly rate plus overtime and other fringe rates are
contained in four General Industry Wage Orders effective January 1, 1987:

Restaurant Industry

Hotel Industry

Building Service Industry

Miscellaneous Industries and Occupations

3 0
21



The wage orders permit specified allowances from the minimum wage
for meals and lodging supplied by an employer. In certain industries,
allowances for tips are permitted.

Employers must post a Minimum Wage Information poster in their
establishment.

Minimum Wage Standards for Farm Workers

(Applicable only to farm workers employed on farms where the total
cash remuneration paid all persons employed on the farm aggregated
$3,000 or more in the previous calendar year.)

The Minimum Wage Order for Farm Workers provides that all workers,
with certain exceptions, must be paid at least $3.35 per hour. Not included
under the wage order coverage are members of the employer's immediate
family and minors under 17 years of age employed as hand harvest
workers on the same farm as their parents or guardians and who are paid
on a piece-rate basis at the same piece-rate as employees 17 years of age
and over.

The wage order permits specifA allowances from the minimum wage
for meals and lodging supplied by an employer except that an allowance
for lodging is not permitted in the case of seasonal migrant workers. An
allowance may be permhted for payments in kind at not more than the
farm market value.

Employers must post a summary of the wage order in their establish-
ment.

Enforcement of Minimum Wage Laws

The Department of Labor helps collect underpayments for workers
who have not received the minimum wage. Generally, recovery is made
without the necessity for court action. A violator of the Minimum Wage
Law is subject to criminal prosecution and penalties. Action may also be
taken in civil court. The Commissioner of Labor may require an employer
to pay interest and civil penalties in addition to minimum wage under-
payments. Where an employee, or the Commissioner of Labor on behalf
of the employee, brings civil court action and the failure to pay wages is
found to be willful, he or she may recover the amount of the underpayment
plus 25 percent in liquidated damages.
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Minimum Wage for Employees Covered by Federal Law

Employees covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act are also
under the full protection of all provisions of the applicable New York State
minimum wage orders including their supplemental wage provisions. The
requirements of the state law do not affect an employer's obligation to
comply with any provision of the federal law which may result in a higher
minimum wage. In any event, the higher minimum wage applies.

The federal minimum wage, eff2ctive January 1, 1981, is $3.35 an hour.

Minimum Wages for Work Done Under
United States Government Contracts

Minimum wages paid to employees engaged in work done under United
States government contracts in excess of $10,000 are governed by the
Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act. The Secretary of Labor fixes the
minimum wage to be paid to such employees for particular industries.
Each employee engaged in such work must be paid the minimum wage
prescribed by the Secretary of Labor for such industry. In addition, such
employees must be paid at the rate of at least oneandone half times the
basic rate of pay for all hours worked over eight hours a day or 40 hours a
week whichever is greater.

The Davis-Bacon Act requires the payment of prevailing wages and
fringe benefits, as determined by the Secretary of Labor, to laborers and
mechanics employed on federal public works contracts exceeding $2,000.

The McNamara-O'Hara Service Contract Act applies to federal con-
tracts for such services as laundry and dry cleaning, custodial and
janitorial services, guard service, packing and crating, food service and
miscellaneous housekeeping services. If the contract amount exceeds
$2,500, the service employees must be paid prevailing wages and fringe
benefits, as determined by the Secretary of Labor. In most instances,
employees subject to the McNamara-O'Hara Service Contract Act are
also covered by the federal Contract Work Hours and Safety Standard
Act, which requires payment of at least time and one-half the regular rate
of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in the week or eight in the day,
whichever is greater.

State Prevailing Wage Laws
New York State has two prevailing wage laws. One requires prevailing

wages and fringe benefits for workmen, laborers and mechanics employed
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on such public works projects as building of schools or roads for a
governmental agency. The second law requires the payment of prevailing
wages and supplements to building service employees such as watchmen,
porters, elevator operators and window cleaners, and to sanitation and
furniture moving employees, who work for a contractor under a contract
with a public agency which is more than $1,500. Also covered are
employees who deliver fuel oil under such contract with public agencies.
Prevailing wages are established by the Commissioner of Labor except in
cities, where they are established by the city controller.

Equal Pay
An employer may not differentiate in rates of pay solely because of sex

where men and women are employed in the same establishment to do
equal work on jobs requiring equal effort, skill and responsibility, and
which is performed under similar working conditions. Differentials in pay
between employees based on factors other than sex, such as length of
service, and quality and quantity of work, are permitted.

The Commissioner of Labor may enforce claims of workers based on
violations of the Equal Pay Law in the same manner and with the same
penalties as apply to any violation of the wage payment laws.

Federal legislation also prohibits wage differentials based on sex in any
establishment subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Payment of Wages
Factory or other manual workers must be paid their wages weekly.

The employer has seven days after the end of the week in which the wages
are earned to pay the employee. However, a manual worker employed by
a nonprofitmaking organization may be paid in accordance with the
agreed terms of employment but not less frequently than semi-monthly.

Railroad or sleeping car employees must be paid on or before every
Thursday the wages earned up to Tuesday of the preceding week.

Commission salesmen must receive wages, salary, drawing account,
or commissions at such times as provided in the employment agreement,
but they must be paid at least once a month and not later than the last day
of the month following the month in which the money is earned. If a
salesman receives monthly payments of wages, salary, drawing account,
or commissions that are substantial, additional compensation such as
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bonuses or "incentive" earnings may be paid at such times as agreed by
the employer and salesman.

Clerical and other workers must be paid in accordance with ihe
agreed terms of employment but not less frequently than semimonthly.
(Note, however, that regardless of the terms of the empbyment agree-
ment, office and white collar workers in railroad or sleeping car firms must
be paid on or before Thuralay of each week the wages earned during the
seven day period ending on Tuesday of the preceding week.)

No deductions may be made from wages, except deductions which
are required by law such as social security and income tax, and deductions
which are authorized in writing by the employee and are for the benefit of
the employee. Such authorized deductions may include payments for
insurance premiums, pension, contributions to charitable organizations,
payment for U.S. bonds, payments for union dues, and similar payments
for the benefit of the employee.

An employer, for example, may not deduct from a youngster's wages
the cost of breakage, spoilage of materials or cash shortages, nor exact a
penalty for lateness, other than nonpayment for time lost. A repayment by
separate transaction for these items also is prohibited.

Appropriation of an employee's tips is prohibited by law. The law
prohibits an employer or any other pereon from accepting any part of the
gratuities received by an employee or from retaining any part of a charge
purported to be a gratuity for an employee. This prohibition does not apply
to hat checking. The law also does not affect practices in connection with
banquets where a fixed percentage of a patron's bill is added for gratuities,
which are distributed to employees, or to the sharing of tips by a waitress
with a busboy or similar employee.

All workers, inclucfing office workers, must be paid in cash, unless
the employer receives permission from the Commissioner of Labor to pay
by check. In order to obtain such permission, the employer must show
satisfactory proof of financial responsibility, and facilities must exist for
employees to cash their checks for the full amount and without difficulty.
This cash payment requirement does not apply to any person employed in
a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity, whose
earnings are in excess of $300 a week, nor to a farmer with respect to his
farm ,:.,mployees if the farm is not connected with a factory. Employers may
also deposit net wages in a bank or financial institution, but only with the
employee's advance written consent.
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Fringe Benefits
An employer is guilty of a misdemeanor if he fails to provide his

employees the benefits and wage supplements that he has agreed to
provide. Wage supplements include vacation or holiday pay, paid sick
leave, reimbursement of expenses and other similar items. Every employer
is required to notify his employees in writing or by publicly posting the
employer's policy on sick leave, vacation, personal leave, holidays and
hours.

The Department of Labor has the authority to administer the law
requiring payment of agreed fringe benefits.

Collection of Wages
The Department of Labor assists young people and others in the

collection of their unpaid wages. A claim for unpaid wages is investigated
by the department's Labor Standards Division and an attempt is made to
adjust equitably the differences between the employer and the employee.

The Commissioner of Labor is authorized to institute criminal pro-
ceedings for failure to pay wages. The Commissioner of Labor may also
require an employer to pay interest and civil penalties on unpaid wages.
The commissioner also may take an assignment of the employee's wage
claim and may institute a civil suit to recover the wages due. Where civil
action is brought to recover unpaid wages and the failure to pay wages is
found to be willful, the employer may be required to pay an additional
amount of 25 percent of the claim in liquidated damages.

Cost of Medical Examinations
If in seeking a job an employee is required to obtain a medical

examination, the cost of the medical examination must be met by the
employer. However, a collective bargaining agreement may require the job
applicant to pay for the medical examination, provided he or she is
reimbursed by the employer after a reasonable period of employment.

Workers' Compensation
Workers' compensation is payable when the minor is injured in an

on-the-job accident. If he or she is injured in any way in the course of his
or her employment, injuries are covered by workers' compensation.
Compensation also is provided for occupational diseases.
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Minors 14 years of age and older engaged as baby-sitters or in casual
employment consisting of yard work and household chores in and about a
one-family owner-occupied residence or the premises of a nonprofit,
noncommercial organization, not involving the use of power-driven
machinery, are not covered by the Workers' Compensation law. The term
"casual" in this reference means occasional, without regularity, without
foresight, plan or method.

An injured youngster should report the accident immediately and in
writing to his or her employer or foreman. The minor has the right to be
treated by his or her own doctor, if the doctor is authorized by the
Workers' Compensation Board to treat such injuries. The employer must
report the accident to the Workers' Compensation Board.

Benefits include weekly cash benefits for time lost from the job and
necessary medical care. The injured youth is entitled to compensation if
the injury keeps him or her from working more than one week, compels
him or her to work at lower wages, or leaves him or hcr with any
permanent injury. Compensation generally is limited to two-thirds of the
minor's weekly wage, but not exceeding a stipulated maximum. Medical
benefits are payable regardless of whether the employee has lost time from
the job.

If a minor less than 18 years of age is injured while working in violation of
the provisions of the Labor Law or of an Industrial Code Rule prohibiting
or regulating the employment of minors under 18, his or her compensation
is double the regular award. The employer cannot insure himself for the
additional payment but must pay it himself. This double indemnity
provision also applies to a newspaper publisher or distributor who
knowingly permits a newspaper carrier to work in violation of the
provisions of the Education Law.

The cost of providing workers' compensation insurance must be met
entirely by the employer. Deductionc may not be made from the
employee's wages for such costs.

Farm laborers are covered by the Workers' Compensation Law if their
employer paid his farm workers cash wages of $1,200 or more in the
preceding calendar year. An employer, not covered, may also provide
insurance voluntarily Domestic worlwrs, other than those employed on
farms, employed by the same employer for a minimum of 40 hours per
week, are also covered by workers' r.ompensation.
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Disability Benefits
Disability benefits are paid for off-the-job Injuries or illness. Weekly

cash benefits partially to replace lost wages are provided by the Disability
Benefits Law. Medical care is not provided.

The Disability Benefits Law covers employees of firms having one or
more employees on each of at least 30 days in any calendar year.
Elementary, junior high and high school students in regular attendance at a
daytime school who work part-time after school or during their regular
vacation periods are not covered. Among other exclueJns are agricultural
workers and golf caddies.

Benefits of SO percent of wages, but not more than a stipulatred
maximum, are paid during disability periods up to 26 weeks in any 52-week
period. There is a waiting period of seven days. Both employers and
employees may contribute to the cost of providing off-the-job disabilty
insurance. The employee may be requited to pay one-half of one percent
of wages, but not more than 60 cents a week; the additional cost is met by
the employer. The disability program is adminirtered by the Workers'
Compensation Board.

Unemployment Insurance
The Unemployment Insurance Law provides for payment of benefits to

qualified workers during periods of unemployment. In general, all em-
ployees in firms in which the employer had a payroll of $300 or more during
any calendar quarter are covered by unemployment insurance. Domestic
workers are covered if their employer paid his domestic employees cash
wages of WO or more in a calendar quarter.

Employees of non-profit religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or
educational organizations are covered if their employers paid cash wages
of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter, or employed four or more persons
on one day in at least 20 different weeks during a calendar year or the
nreceding calendar year. Farm workers are covered if their employer h3d
a payroll of $20,000 or more in any calendar year, employed 10 nr more
persons on one day in at least 20 different weeks during a calendar year or
the preceding calendar year, or is liable under the Federal Unemployment
Tax Act (FUTA) with respect to agricultural labor. Local governments are
covered without any qualifying conditions.

Certain workers are generally excluded from protection: These
include daytime students in elementary and high schools who work after
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school or during vacation periods, baby sitters under the age of 18, all
children under 14 years of age and golf caddies unless employed by a
non-profit orgr iization or governmental subdivision.

Unemploynnnt bitnefits depend upon the employee's average weekly
wage, with a stipulated maximum. Benefits are payable for a maximum
period of 26 weeks. A claimant must have worked in insured employment
in each of at least 20 of the 52 weeks immediately preceding the filing of his
or her claim and must have earned an average of $80 a week for 20 of those
weeks. A claimant also may be eligible for benefits if he or she worked 15
weeks in the preceding 52 and a total of 40 weeks overall in the past 104,
with average weekly earnings of $80.

An unemployed worker may rontinue to receive unemployment
payments while participating in an approved course of vocational training
or basic education.

The cost of providing unemployment insurance benefits is met entirely
by the employer.

Claimants for unemployment benefits should file a claim at the nearest
unemployment insurance office of the Unemployment Insurance Division
of the New York State Department of Labor.

State Job Service
The New York State Job Service provides a no fee placement service

for applicants seeking employment and for employers who need workers.
Special assistance is provided to youth.

Employment counselors help young people in the transition from school
to a job. Youths are assisted in developing job plans which can be
realistically implemented in the local labor market. Occupational and
educational information is provided and young people are helped to
identify vocational potentials. Information may be obtained at the nearest
office of the New York State Job Service.

Other Youth Services
The Joint High School Program - In New York City, in approximately

46 cooperating high schools, New York State Job Service staff register
seniors who plan to work after graduation. The seniors are helped through
a discussion of their interests, school performance, performanie on
aptitude tests and other work-i elated activities to select appropriate kinds
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of work. Drop-outs are also assisted to find jobs as quickly as possible after
leaving school.

During the year, students are registered and referred to part-time
employment. Toward the end of the school year, students planning full
time work after graduation, are referred to suitable job openings. In other
areas of the state, cooperative activities are undertaken based on the
needs of the schools, and the capacities of the school guidance staff and
local state Job Service office personnel.

Youth Employment - Under the guidance of specially trained inter-
viewers and vocational counselors, many out-of-school youths are coun-
seled andior referred to suitable jobs. Special efforts are made to place
disadvantaged andior inexperienced youths aged 16 to 22. Unemployed
youths in need of training are frequently referred to training sponsored
under the federal Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA), local school
programs and community based agency trahning programs. For example,
youths are referred under programs developed through recent JTPA
youth legislation to Youth Employment and Training Programs conducted
by JTPA Service Delivery Areas.

Targeted Jobs Tax Credit Program - Special incentives for em-
ployers to hire youth are provided under the TJTC Program.

For each youth aged 18 through 24, certified by the Job Service as being
a member of an economically disadvantaged family, an employer may
claim a federal tax credit equal to 40 percent of the first $6,000 of wages
($2,400 maximum) paid to each eligible individual during the first year of
employment.

Young people aged 16 through 19 from economically disadvantaged
families and participating in approved cooperative education programs
also qualify the employer for the tax credit described above.

For each youth aged 16 or 17, first hired between May 1 and September
15 and certified by the Job Service as being a member of an economically
disadvantaged family, the employer may claim a federal tax credit equal to
85 percent of the first $3,000 wages ($2,550 maximum) paid for any 90-day
period between May 1 and September 15.

The total tax credits earned by an employer during a given year may be
used to offset 90 percent of the firm's federal income tax liability. Any
unused credit may be carried back three years or carried forward 15 years.
For further information and assistance in participating in this program
c 'ict the nearest office of the sfate Job Service.
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Job Corps - The Job Service Division works closely with the Regional
Office of the U.S. Department of Labor to recruit young men and women .
for entrance into the Job Corps. Job Corps offers basic education and
vocational skills training in residential centers throughout New York State
and in out-of-state centers.

Summer Jobs for Youth - Each year the Job Service Division
promotes the hiring of youths on summer jobs and refers youth to summer

job oPeoings-

School to Employment Program (STEP) - STEP is designed to
provide economically disadvantaged youth with work experience, on-the-
job training, and job placement while encouraging them to continue their
education. The program emphasizes service to youth who are homeless or
receiving aid for dependent children.

The program provides eligible youth 16-18 with incentives for remaining
in school or continuing their education while working or while engaged in
on-the-job training. Program activities also ineude GED preparation,
tutoring, and counseling.

Adolescent Vocational Exploration (AVE) - The Adolescent Voca-
tional Exploratiol, Program, a career education program for youth,
attempts to inter' ne in the life experience of "at-risk" youth at a point
before the youth are forced to face the consequences of inadequate
preparation for the job market. Intervention may begin at 14, while there is
still time for youth to identify and shape their own skills and vocational
direction.

AVE provides an opportunity for youth to learn what skills and attitudes
will be needed to become employable, the importance of the formal
preparaiion school provides, and to obtain "first-hand" experience in jobs
and through interaction with role models in their local ^ommunities.

The program is designed for economically disadvantaged youth, ages 14
through 17, who are in need of extraordinary support due to environ-
mental, economic, or personal circumstances; these may include under-
achievers, truants, or potential dropouts. Program activities include field
and classroom career exploration, group and individual counseling, and
educational activities leading to academic credit.

Program implementation involves the active collaboration of the Depart-
rnent of Labor and community-based organizations (CB0s) along with the
involvement of a variety of agents including local employers, schools, the
State Education Department and Service Delivery Areas (SDAs).
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Cooperative Educational Programs
Local education agencies throughout the state are engaged in Coopera-

tive Occupational Education Programs where students at least 14 years of
age and older are being trained cooperatively by emplows and these
agencies. These programs employ various systems of alternating school
classroom instruction with appropriately related on-the-job work experi-
ence to help students realize their occupational goals.

Secondary education programs of this type must be approved by the
State Education Department, Office of Occupational and Continuing
Education. It is important that each local program include specific health
and safety instruction as part of a cooperatively developed training plan
and written training agreement for each job placement. A trained, certified
cooperative coordinator is responsible for the development of this plan, as
well as for periodic visitations on the job and, in some programs, for school
related instruction.

For participants 16 years of age, combined school and work time may
not exceed eight hours a day. Participants 14 and 15 years old may not
work more than four hours a day on school days. (Federal law restricts
employment for this age group to three hours a day.) As in other work-
experience programs, cooperative occupational education students under
the age of 18 must obtain working permits and be paid according to the
appropnate minimum wage orders. Participants 14 and 15 years old may
not work during school hours without special approval to do so.

School to Employment Program
Supervised work experience for youths 15 years of age or older who are

potential dropouts is provided undr- this program. The students go to
school part-time and work part-tir a governmental agency or private
employer. While working, they may be paid by their local school district.

Apprenticenhip Program
The Labor Department's Job Service Division has an Apprentice

Training Section which helps to set up training programs in a large number
of skilled trades. These programs are operated by management and labor,
not by the Labor Department, but they must meet established standards
including a requirement that apprentices be selected on a non-discrim-
ination basis before tl.s.y may be registered with the department. There are
over 300 apprenticeable occupations, mostly in the automotive, air-
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craft, construction, electronic, food processing, garment, jewelry, metal,
painting, photographic, pipe fitting, plumbing, printing, railroad service,
tool and die making, upholstery and woodworking industries.

Transportation by Truck
oi Seasonal Farm Workers

A truck used in transporting children or adult workers more than five
miles must have securely attached seats for two-thirds of the persons
transported, securely attached side racks at least three feet in height, and
a securely closed tailboard or tailgate. Furthermore, where more than five
youngsters under the age of 18 are being transported, at least one adult
must ride in the body of the truck.

Licensing of Hairdressers
and Barbers

No person may engage in the practice of hairdressing and cosmetology
v.,t hout a license issued by the Secretary of State. An applicant for such a
license must submit a doctor's certificate showing freedom from any
communicable disease and must have completed a course in hairdressing
and cosmetology. Licenses are not issued to minors under 17. Manicurists
are not covered by these provisions.

Any person over the age of 17 may make an application to the Secretary
of State to engage in the practice of barbering. A barber's license is issued
after completion of two years of apprenticeship or 18 months of appren-
ticeship in addition to graduation from an approved barbering school in
New York State, or three years of barbering experience outside the State
of New York

Anti-Discrimination
The New York State Human Rights Law prohibits discrimination in

employment based on the applicant's race, creed, color, national origin,
sex, disability, age (protects those who are 18 years of age or over), or
marital status. The law also 1.Tohibits discrimination in employment
because of prior convictions, or because a person was involved in a
criminal proceeding which was terminated in his or her favor. The law also
prohibits employers, employment agencies, labor unior ,.. and joint labor-
management committees from discriminatory practices in the conduct of



apprenticeship programs. The state Division of Human Rights enforces
the law.

Sale of Goods Produced wit/
Employment of Minors

The General Business Law prohibits the sale in this state of any goods
manufactured or mined in this state or in any other state through the use of
children less than 16 years of age, if the seller had notice of such
employment.

Violations
Violations of any provision of the Labor Law, the Industrial Code, or any

rule, regulation, or lawful order of the Department of Labor is a
misdemeanor and is punishable by fine or imprisonment, or both. The
Labor Law also provides for the Imposition of civil penalties of up to $500
for each violation of lat. Jr laws governing the employment of minors under
18 years of age by an employer.

An employer may not penalize or discharge an employee because
he or she has complained to the Labor Department that the
employer has violated any provision of the Labor Law.

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act authorizes the Secretary of Labor
to assess a civil money penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation of the child
labor provisions or any of its regulations. This penalty is in aciciition to
those provisions for fines, imprisonment or restraint by injunction.
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Administrative Agencies

The provisions governing the employment of minors in New York State
are enforced by the various government agencies authorized to administer
the particular laws involved. The addresses of the main offices of these
agencies in New York State tollow:

New York State Department of Labor, Division of Labor Standards:

Albany 457-2730 (518) State Campus, 12240
Binghamton 772-6678 (607) 221 WashinMon Street, 13905
Brooklyn 797-7499 (718) One Main Street, 11201
Buffalo 847-7141 (716) 65 Court Street, 14202
Hempstead 481-6064 (516) 175 Fulton Avenue, 11550
Rochester . . ... 258-4550 (716) 155 Main Street, West, 14614
Syracuse . . 428-4057 (315) 333 East Washington Street, 13202
Utica 793-2321 (315) 207 Genesee Street, 13501
White Plains . 997-9521 (914) 30 Glenn Street, 10603

New York State Department of Education:

Albany State Education Building, 12224

City Boards of Education:

Albany . . 1015 Watervliet-Shaker Road, 12205
Binghamton . 98 Oak Street, 13905
Buffalo ... . . . 712, City Hall, 14202
New York City .. 110 Livingston Street, Brooklyn, 11201
Rochester 131 W. Broad Street, 14608
Syracuse ........... . 725 Harrison Street, 13210
Utica 13 Elizabeth Street, 13501
Yonkers . .. .... . . .............. 145 Palmer Road, 10701

New York State Department of Labor, Job Service Division,
Apprentice Training Section:

Albany State Campus, 12240
New York City 55 West 125 Street, 10027
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Administrative AgenciesContinued

State Division of Human Rights:

Albany
Binghamton
Buffalo
New York City
Long Island

New York City

Rochester
Syracuse
White Plains .

Alfred E. Smith Office Building, 12225
164 Hawley Street, 13901

69 Delaware Avenue, 14202
55 West 125th Street, 10027

.. 100 Main Street, Hempstead (Nassau) 11550
NYS Office Building, Veterans Memorial Highway,

Hauppauge (Suffolk), 11787
. .... ....... 270 Broadway, 10007

163 West 125 Street, 10027
1360 Fulton Street, (Brooklyn), 11216

259 Monroe Avenue, 14607
351 South Warren Street, 13202

. .... 30 Glenn Street, 10603

United States Department of Labor,
Employment Standards Administration, Wage Hour Division:

Albany .. . .. .. .. Leo W. O'Brien Building 12207
Buffalo 617 Federal Building, 111 West Huron Street, 14202
Long Island . . . ... 825 East Gate Blvd., Garden City, 11530
New York City .. 26 Federal Plaza, Room 3838, 10278

1967 Turnbull Avenue, (Bronx), 10473

STATE LABOR LAW
Copies of the New York State Labor Law are available at $5 each.
They may be obtained by writing to the New York State Department
ai Labor, Office of Communications, Building 12, State Campus,
Albany, N.Y. 12240. Remittances should be made payable to the
New York State Department of Labor.

NOTE: There is no charge for Laws Governing the Employment of
Minors.
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