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THE LEAFLET GIVES LEGISLATED WEIGHTLIFTING LIMITATIONS
FOR WOMEN OF ALASKA,; CALIFORNIA, GEORGIA, MARYLAND,
MASSACHUSETTSs MINNESOTA; NEW YORK, OHIO, OREGON, UTAH, AND
WASHINGTON. THE ACTUAL FOUNDS OF WEIGHT WHICH WOMEN ARE
PERMITTED TO LIFT AND 'THE CONDITIONS OF CARRYING ARE STATED.
ALASKA'S AND GEORGIA'S STANDARDS VARY ACCORDING TO THE SIZE
. AND PHYSICAL CONDITION OF THE WOMEN WORKERS. WASHINGTON'S
STANDARDS RECOMMEND TEACHING WOMEN CORRECT LIFTING TECANIQUES
AND THE CONSEQUENCES OF INCORRECT TECHNIQUES. (FF)
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. Weightlifting Provisions for Women by State

Alaska-~

No woman shall at any time be requlred to lift any weight in excess of
35 percent of her body weight. Where sustained or repetltive lifting is re-
quired the absolute maximum shall be 25 pounds. This maximum shall be applied

to all jobs requiring both lifting and carrying. - Alaska General Safety Code,
Ch.. XXVII; sec.,27 02. |
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Ca11fornia-@;

1. No' female employee shall be requested or permitted to lift any object
weighing 50 pounds or over or to carry any object weighing 10 pounds or over
" up or down a stairway or series of stairways that rise for more than 5 feet
from the base thereof. Objects weighing 50 pounds or over which are to be
moved by female employee must be equipped with pulleys, casters, or other con-
trivances to faC111tate movement of the load, (California Labor Code (1953),
Part 4, Ch 2 Acts 1 and 2, secs, 1250-1252,
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2. .No.female employee shall be required'to lift or carry any cbject’
weighing in excess of 25 pounds, except upon permit from the Division of In-
dustrial Welfare. This is a provision in the following orders: Amusement and
Recreation Industry; Broadcasting Industry; Canning, Freezing, and Preserving
Industry, Indusfries Handling Products After Harvest; Industriies Preparing
Agricyltural Products for Market, on the Farm; Laundry, Linen Supply, Dry
Cleanlng and Dyeing Industry; Manufacturing Industry; Mercantile Industry;
Motion Picture Industry; Personal Service Industry; Professional, Technical,
Clerical, Mechanical and Similar Occupations; Public Housekeeping Industry;
and Transportation Industry. (25 pound limitation takes precedence over law
imposing 50 pound limitation. Op. Atty. Gen., Aug. 21, 1940.)

3. o female employee shall be required to lift or carry any object
weighing in excess of 25 pounds, except by permit from the Division of Indus--
trial Welfare; no female employee or male minor (under 16) shall be requested

or permitted to carry any object weighing 10 pounds or more up any ladder.
Agricultural Occupatlons Order.
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Georgia--

Lifting. For women and minors, not over 30 pounds. Less, depending on
physical condition of women or minor. Minor as used here, means, anyone under
3 18 years of age, male or female. Rule 59 of Commissioner of Labor, Title 54,

A Ch. 101, Labor Laws of Georgia, 1952.




Weightlifting Provisions by State==-Continued

Maryland--

No object exceeding 25 pounds in weight may be lifted by a female employed
in a foundry, unless mechanical means are used by which the physical effort is
limited to 25 pounds. Safety Code for the Protection of Industrial Workers in

Foundries, effective Aug.L1948.

Massachusetts=~

1. Boxes, baskets, and other receptacles weighing with their contents 75
pounds or over, that are to be moved by female employees in any manufacturing
or mechanical establishment, must be provided with pulleys or casters connected
with such boxes or receptacles, so as to be moved easily from place to place
in such establishment.. Méssgnhusetts General Laws, Ch. 149, sec. 53,

2. Females employed in a foundry may not be required to lift a core or
number of cores upon a plate, the total weight of which, including plate and
core-~box or boxes, exceeds 25 pounds, unless assisted by mechanical appliances
that limit the physical effort to 25 pounds. Regulations Relating to Safety
and Sanitary Werking Conditions in Foundries and the Employment of Women in
Core Rooms, 1940, VIII, sec. 30.
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Minnesota--

No female employed in a core~making room shall be permitted to make or
handle cores when the combined weight of core, core-box, and plate exceeds 25
pounds. - Minnesota Statutes Annotated, 1945, sec. 183-25.

New York:~

No female may be employed in a foundry in connection with core-making
where the combined weight of core, core-box, and plate handled exceeds 25
pounds. Department of Labor Industrial Code, Bulgetin 10.

Ohio~-

No female shall be employed in any occupation requiring frequest or
repeated lifting of weights over 25 pounds. .Ohio Revised Code, ser. 4107.43.

Oregon-~

1. Employers shall not require or permit women or mfhbr employees to
lift or carry excessive weights. Sanitation and Physical Welfare Order.
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Weightlifting Provisions by State=--Continued g

Oregon-- Continued

2. No female employee shall be required or permitted to lift or carry
any object weighing in excess of 25 pounds. Laundry, Cleaning, and Dyeing
- Order.

3. Excessive weight means any weight in excess of 25 pounds (except under
Public Housekeeping Order where Wage and Hour Commission has specifically
authorized lifting a heavier weight). Mercantile and Public Hcusekeeping Orders.

4., No female employee shall be required to lift manually any burden in
excess of 25 pounds to a height greater than 5 feet, nor shall any female be
required to lift manually to any height a burden in excess of 30 pounds, ex-
cept by permissiontfrom the Wage and Hour Commission. Organized Youth Camps

. and Preparing Pouﬂ@ryj etc., Orders. '

5. An employer shall not consistently require a female employee to lift
or carry any object weighing in excess of 30 poonds. .Manufacturing Order.

6. An employer shall not require a female employee to lift manually any
burden in excess of 25 pounds to a height above her shoulders, nor shall an
employer require any female employee to lift manually to any height a burden
in excess of 30 pounds, provided that upon application or complaint and fol-
lowing investigation, the Commission may grant such exceptions or require such
restrictions as in the Commission's judgment are justified by the facts.
Canning, Freezing, and Processing Order.
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Ugah--

>

No female shall be required or permitted to lift any burden in excess of
30 pounds or carry any burden in excess of 15 pounds. Industrial Commission
Welfare Regulations for Any Occupation, Trade, or Industry, effective Sept. 14,
1937, as amended April 20, 1948.

- Washipgton-- )

1. No woman or minor shall be required or permitted to lift or carry an
excessive weight. Laundry, Dry Cleaning, Dve Wotks;, Manufacturing and General
.Working Conditions; and Office Workers Orders.

2. Excessive demand shall not be made in respect to the amount to be
lifted by any ¢ne female employee. (Orders recommend: "...women should be
taught both the technique of correct lifting and the consequences of bad
lifting.") Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Packing and Food Processing Orders.

3. No woman or minor as a cundition of normal employment, shall be re-

quired to lift or carry more than 35 pounds. Telephone and Telegraph Industry
- Orxder.
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